Fuel protest about prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,286 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

I'm sure these same 'salt of the earth, selfless heroes' would equally welcome their prices and profits being capped and their businesses being rigourously audited to ensure they passed all savings on to their customers. 🙄

Oh right the farmers are using multiple accounts but the government wouldn't be able to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭rayman10

So have they dropped the fix the potholes demand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,773 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

So have the army been mobilised or was MM bluffing? Heard on Morning Ireland that there appears to be more tractors in Dublin than yesterday so this appears to be getting bigger. Add to the mix that they 'are invited / are not invited to the talks' and this protest is getting into the realm that no one has control of it, and certainly not the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,606 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Of course it is, that sort of mob know they don't have the support of the ordinary Irish citizens no matter what their online echo chambers tell them so they latch on like the disgusting racist leeches that they are to anything that promotes their cause.

The mask always, always slips with the posters pretending to support these protests for other reasons too. They are so sickeningly transparent and fake in their "support"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

What is it with you and this. You know my opinion on that topic, it doesn't mean absolutely everything is exclusively based off that. You know there's people who disagree with my views there but will support the protestors?

What I've said is true but even if that issue didn't exist I'd still support the government helping out during this crisis.

My thoughts exactly. The government well versed in the dark arts. You can already see them pulling up the far right bogeyman card.

But we all know from previous posts that online is not the real world. The sizeable support for the protest online is not reality apparently. So what's said online also should not be taken seriously?

Fwiw I haven't seen anything at all on here or YouTube comments (rte, virgin media, gript videos incl.) making this about immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

You know blocking all those routes blocks most of the buses that go on west-south routes through the city. Any time any of these stupid protests (Palestine/pro racism/anti racism/Climate change) take place bus commuters face massive delays and cancellations. They have been really frequent the last few years. Doesn't make a lick of difference to any one in the Dail, just makes ordinary commuters lives harder. No one should be allowed a disrupt a whole city.

Obviously blocking fuel depots and holding the whole country to ransom is far worse but the constant protests at the dail really disrupt people just trying to get home from work and college.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,050 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Reports from where, exactly? You brother in law or a friend of a neighbour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

Everyone is able to do that ….. you can be sure that this type of 'protest' has been planned for months ….. even before Trump's carry on in Iran ….. to create chaos ….. the vast majority of people want to go about their daily lives and do not want to be blocked from that …..

People supporting action on prices and high taxes …… and wanting some sort of protest ….. does NOT equate to people supporting this EXTREMISM ….. many may have supported the initial protests of Tuesday ….. but that support fell away when oil refineries and depots were blockaded …..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,952 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I'm shocked he said that. Mask slipped there, shoulda planned ahead better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,294 ✭✭✭Deeec

Rright Im an accountant and I can give you insight into ag contractors. The type of guy that goes into this business is usually a snall farmers son, poorly educated but LOVES machinary. Older machinery will do the job for them perfect but no they want the new biggest mose expensive machines to show off. Alot of this machinery can only be used seasonally so it lies idle most of the year. It makes very little sense to be buying this new - they can never make the machine pay for itself but frankly they don't get that. Repair cost on this machinery is huge and it is often out of action. In addition to this they apparantly need to drive around in the newest high spec jeep. All of this stuff is financed. These guys are not profitable so often it gets to the stage that the banks need security against this which is usually land. So not only are potentially losing their livelihood but also possibly may lose land

Thsee guys are in over their heads but they cant target the banks, insurance companys,and machinary manufacturers and etc. The easy target is the government on fuel costs . Fuel costs isn't their biggest problem though.

My parents are farmers and don't like owing money. They are happy to pay contractors before they drive out the gate. However this never happens because the guy wont have a clue on price so they have to be chased for an invoice. Eventually they appear 6 months later with a scribble on a receipt book looking for payment - most times its the wrong amount of bales charged etc. Its highly probable some farmers never get charged because the contractors forget the admin/accounts bit.

The business model is very flawed but its pointless explaining because they know nothing else. Fuel isn't the problem in this industry.

Well someone close to me had a very important visit to the hospital and they did their homework and got there without issue. You'd swear they've blocked all access roads to hospitals.

My posts are a reply to questions put to me "what about this" "what about that" etc etc. I've answered them and now apparently it's a lack of empathy.

I've empathy for everyone screwed over by this massively overpaid government, who work less weeks in the dail than a child goes to school. I'd have more faith in the children running the country at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭rayman10

Nobody ever had control of it and that's the problem. The demands now range from fixing potholes to opening oil fields.

Whatever you offer these lads they'll just come back demanding more.

Monday will be an interesting day, when the kids go back to school. By then a lot of people will be running low on fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

yup.. block farmers yards, block trucks collecting their produce. Block truck yards,

Post edited by Deep Thought on

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,952 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

They will destroy the negotiations with Burkey antics. Its almost guaranteed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,257 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

That did cross my mind alright, maybe they're just shít businessmen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Thorny Queen

I am completely in favour of these protests. Finally some brave people standing up to our bullies in government who are holding so many ordinary people to ransom in this country.

I was lucky to grow up in a time when Ireland was different and affordable. I can't imagine what type of life my children will have here, if they stay. Life is a struggle now for the ordinary Joe Soaps.

I hate where this country is going but all I know the people in government simply do not work for me.

A person on close to 1/4 of a million euro salary does not know the struggles the average person has.

Power to the people and thanks for making a stand !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

This is what needs to happen …..

1 …. army and police mobilised to confront 'protestors' at oil refineries and depots ….. and given final warning to begin to move within 30 minutes ….. warnings of prison for these if they defy …..

2 …. If they move then fine ….. if not arrest extremists and send them to jail with no bail conditions …..

3 …. Govt needs to meet and negotiate with moderate representatives of those concerned ….

4 …. Carbon tax needs to be scrapped completely …..

5 …. VAT etc reduced ……

6 …. Legislation to outlaw any extremely disruptive protests written and enforced …..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,826 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

That doesn't seem to be confirmed - per the Indo this morning

The Irish Independent understands there has been no consideration by the Government on demands from the protesters, such as capping fuel prices or scrapping the carbon tax.

However, one of the fuel protest organisers, James Geoghegan, told RTÉ’s Prime Time last night that protest negotiators will join a large meeting at Government Buildings tomorrow at 2pm and called it a “breakthrough

My own level of disgust for these idiots has remained steady since I got caught up for 4 hours in their crawling convoy on the M7 on Tuesday morning while the Gardai cruised alongside and did nothing, but it's shifted to an equal level of anger towards the Government who have astonishingly allowed this to continue for 4 days now.

Micheal Martin once again failing at the job of Taoiseach as he did during Covid when he handed over the running of the country to NPHET and Tony Holohan. I'm not sure who he's waiting for this time though. Harris of course is no surprise - Frances Fitzgerald's office staffer is equally unqualified to hold high office, but there we are!

Even Jim O'Callaghan, the supposed successor to Martin and as Minister for Justice most responsible for any response , came across very poorly on the Six One last night with vague repetitive comments about meetings and operational plans but no actual plan put to the country.

There are absolutely two sides at fault here - the protesters themselves who feel entitled to hold the country to ransom, and the current Government who have enabled and enboldened them.

You'd be a brave man to do that. I don't think your Toyota Corolla or whatever you drive will stand in the way of the farmers tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,606 ✭✭✭✭Necro

If you want to protest how the government handles immigration I say this politely to both your good self and the racist knuckle draggers hijacking this for their own gains

Go and organise your own one, see how that pans out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,588 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I don’t know why people engage him, he’s clearly on the windup. “Oh I know several very sick people with appointments, they all support the protest”. “I’ve a full tank of fuel and an EV so I’m sorted”. “I stocked up my bomb shelter months(!!) ago when the war broke out”. He’s making stuff up to get a reaction and people are taking the bait hook, like and sinker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,756 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Brave people standing up to our bullies..... the bullies are the ones blocking fuel and causing petrol stations to run dry & holding the public to ransom. You cant hold the countries fuel supply to ransom, that is not legitimate protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,007 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

O'Connell Street Web Cam turned off / restricted access?

Was working 30 minutes ago.

https://carrollsirishgifts.com/pages/dublinwebcam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Field east

In a small town, pop circa 6000, which was on the Dublin Cork road and is now by-passed, I noticed three big artic trucks yesterday morning within a 10 minute span and loaded as follows:-

One loaded with pigs

One loaded with bales of insulation material

One loaded with iron rods

Within the above and along with other ‘protesters’ and local traffic everything was moving along fine

So some hauliers are working as normal but take the ‘TOURIST ROUTE ‘ with their deliveries!

They have a leg in both camps so they can still operate with current fuel prices

I'm not actually taking part in this protest so you don't have a leg to stand on here. Like most people I'm inconvenienced by it.

You can't seem to accept that there isn't infinite resources and have resorted to the usual everybody is racist lark.

80% of this country share my views on immigration and about 60% going by the independent survey support protests. There will be a big overlap there.