Fuel protest about prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Obviously the content of the phone call or talks is going to determine if the protest ends. Anyone who assumed they could just make a phone call and ask 'hows it going' and they'd disperse must be some fool altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Grassy Knoll

best of luck. Issue you may have is crossing the M50 at some point. Disruption there can then have spillover elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Grassy Knoll

Is fuel not a deductible business expense for this shower?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭eastie17

I doubt very much that you are actually a cattle man if that’s actullay what you think. And if you are u mustn’t give a shite about ur animals because u soon won’t be able to get any feed for them, or a vet or have ur milk collected if u are dairy.

But I suspect “troll man” would be a better handle for you with ur 20 posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

Where are the army ?? ….

It is unacceptable and weakness from the state that this shower of yahoos can hold the country to ransom and impose lockdown ….. for starters Whitegate fuel depots et al should be protected by the army at all times ….. the minute they blocked these places the army should immediately have cleared the way ….. the time for action is now ….. people are entitled to protest …. but not this …… this is extremism and those behind it incl that guy on PrimeTime last evening need to be jailed …..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 selfbuilder22

What is the issue with contractors/hauliers investing in their machinery/trucks?..they are self employed and not in the same space to earn more income like you or I through typical job promotions at work. They provide essential services that are needed to keep the Irish economy going,are people going to begrudge them of trying to make a better income for themselves and their families?? Isn’t that the reason anyone of us works. The more machinery/trucks you have working for you the more work you can go after in the hope to make more income.

The Irish government have put their head in the sand for long enough thinking people will just put up and shut up but people have had enough. How many people here have already and will complain about the cost of everything going up and up along with the poor provision of services in Ireland,these people protesting are trying to make a stand for the ordinary person living in Ireland.

No one begrudges anyone …. and people have sympathy for the aim of lowering fuel costs ….. but the methods are what is wrong ….. imposing a Covid like situation on the country where fuel is not available and people cannot get to and from work ….. and where other struggling businesses are denied their livelihoods …… is what is wrong ….. blockades of fuel and making roads unpassable is just not on ….. people have a right to protest but protest must have parameters ……

No one has the right to selfishly put a whole economy into lockdown ….. be it this shower or anyone else ….. people lose sympathy and I bet many of same protestors were not happy at all when similar was happening in 2020 and 2021 due to Covid !!!!! …..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Dampsquid

I think the Gardai and Army are letting this continue until it has clear disruption to peoples lives and fuel shortages country wide - so when they go in heavy handed(and they will need to), they will have full support of the general public.

They have almost that as it is ….. about 1% of the population support these protestors …… that is different to the % of the people who support the cause of lower fuel costs ….. but no one bar the very few support lockdown type methods …… Covid is still fresh in our memories …. that destroy the livelihoods of the many for the sake of a few selfish protestors …..

The army and the police/Gardai have to intervene today and remove blockades of key infrastructure …. and hold hardliners to account ….. protestors should receive the full force of the law …. jail for those who commit the most extreme acts, fines and traffic violation penalties for those who commit more minor offences ….. the government have to negotiate with moderate representatives of the businesses concerned …. and shelve the likes of carbon tax and reduce likes of VAT/VRT/etc …..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I know people who are seriously ill and they've been planning their trips to the hospital accordingly while also supporting the protestors. They do this all the time in France. We've gone soft if the motorway is your only acceptable route to a destination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,759 ✭✭✭Cody montana

What about essential workers being delayed or unable to get to work because of their antics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 selfbuilder22

It seems though the softly softly approach to being heard doesn’t work with this government,they just think people will shut up and put up,and that’s probably been the case all along in Ireland over the last number of years. There is only so long that you can put up with that before something more impactful has to be done to create the noise/disruption in order to be heard. The Gov were happy to stay on their Easter holidays when the protest talks came to light on Monday! No one wants to go out and cause disruption on purpose but sometimes it’s the only thing that grasps attention.
    I never feared the future in Ireland up until last year but now it’s hard not to worry about what my family’s future and children’s future will look like in the coming years.

Would be like a recreation of 1916 😄 I don't think people realise how much support these lads have down the country. Plenty more ready to come up if it escalates.

It is …. this shower are not representative of the majority of hauliers, farmers, agri contractors, etc ….. it is a far right protest organised by hardliners incl the 'say no' brigade ….. and even so-called Tommy Robinson from the UK has to have his say …. this is NOT on and the government has been too softly softly with them …. the minute they blocked the oil refineries and depots was the time the army should have immediately opened them …. the ringleaders deserve prison and others fines/traffic offences ….. those Independent Ireland far right TDs should be removed from the Dail ….. they are a total disgrace ….. and were rather ironically the very ones most vocal during Covid lockdown !!!! …..

No one has the right to close down the entire country ….. be it this lot or be it NPHET during Covid or anyone else ….. there are other means of protest like there were other ways to deal with Covid ….. successful protests are ones focused on the cause of the issue and not the entire public ….. everyone supports the reduction of fuel but no one wants another lockdown ….. no one …… Extreme protests need to be illegal ….. the more a country tolerates the more hardliners will try and push things ….. next thing you have out and out terrorism …..

The other issue is that Netanyahu and Trump are the real cause of much of the current issue ….. yet no one is blockading the Trump embassy and the Israel embassy …. it is often too inconvenient for some to consider the cause of much of the problem is poor leadership outside of Ireland …..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,754 ✭✭✭rolling boh

The lads have support at the moment because most people have not been seriously impacted ,so easy enough to support the lads. If depots were blocked for a few more days and there was widespread fuel shortages people's patience would wear thin.Hopefully it doesn't come to that .

The prisons are full. What sort of creatures are you proposing they let out to put protestors behind bars instead?

Screenshot_2026-04-09_at_16.49.13.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,756 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

There is widespread fuel shortages and most people with connom sense are already worn thin.

They do not have the support of a majority anymore. Their social media echo chambers arent real life reality

Very few support this shower ….. less than 1% ….. that is different to the amount of people who support lower fuel costs, the shelving of the carbon tax and lower VAT ….. and who oppose Trump/Netanyahu/war ….. this shower of protestors are too extreme and too disruptive ….. and have lost the support of 99%+ of the people ….. no one be it these or NPHET should ever be allowed to impose lockdowns ….. there are other ways ….. if these protestors chose another method rather than a fuel lockdown I would 100% support them ….. this is the view of most of the country …..

No one apart from the very few support this shower of selfish yobbos …..

That is different to the amount of people who support an end to carbon taxes, high VAT, et al …. and who support some form of a more moderate protest ….. the army and police/Gardai are well within their rights to open refineries and depots and to move obstructions on our roads ….. and should do so ….. the govt should talk with moderate representatives but for all the hardliners ….. no mercy …. they deserve jail, fines and traffic offence penalties like points on the licence ….. depending on the severity of their actions ….. those blocking refineries and depots should be told to clear or risk prison time ….

I highly doubt it's anywhere near 1%. Most people are blaming the government.

Screenshot_2026-04-09_at_16.49.13.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,952 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

By walking? Theres no fùcking fuel thanks to these inbreds.

There has to be consequences for extreme action ….. there are several people in prison for not paying fines at al ….. or who are very near the end of their sentences ….. the most extreme protestors like those blocking depots and oil refineries …. need to go into prison …… these actions cannot be accepted …… there are laws and every citizen has the right to be able to go about their business ….. this shower need to be put back into their box ….. give them one last chance to stand down ….. and if they don't then arrange prison for the most extreme offenders and other measures for anyone else involved in severe disruption …..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Resplendent Moose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭McFly85

Planning accordingly how? The planning is a total omnishambles with very little in the way of forewarning about specific routes and services that will be unavailable. People will have appointments lined up for days, weeks and months that they missed yesterday because they had no idea of the disruption that would be caused.

Contrast this with something like the rail strikes in the UK a couple of years back. Huge disruption but any planned cancellations advertised days in advance to give people plenty of notice to make alternative arrangements. Services kept running but at a reduced rate, ensuring the most adversely impacted was national rail and their balance sheet.

These people have essentially decided to hold the country to ransom - blocking critical services with no timetable or thought for how the public are disrupted.

Do you ever stop and think that the people behind these protests use multiple accounts to hijack these surveys ….. not to mention to amount of people who did not do this survey ….. I didn't for one ….. the Irish Indo survey proves nothing !!

What are your views on NPHET by the way …… Covid lockdown/Level 5 restrictions ???? …..

For me personally leaving with plenty of time and avoiding the major roads. It's like the old days taking the back roads to Croker. Fail to prepare, prepare to fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

I supported them on Tuesday.
    Got badly caught on the M11 SB at J5 on Wednesday & also witnessed tempers being frayed as I saw one person try to jump a queue only for a person jump out of another car & start kicking his car - crazy stuff.

Then yesterday I got caught twice - M50 NB in the morning, took me approximately 2 hours to get from Red Cow to the Ball at Naas.

On top of this it’s reported that petrol stations are running out of fuel on the west side of the Country.
    Why don’t they lift their blockades and wait until next week & block Kildare/Nassau/Stephen’s Green/ Molesworth Street/Merrion Square with all the overpaid TD’s blocked in in DE. Let them feel what it’s like.
    Personally, they’ve lost my support as the week has progressed.

You can't pretend surveys mean nothing when they don't suit your narrative. They have a margin of error and it ain't 60% so your 1% is miles off!