Fuel Protest (Read MOD NOTE on first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,831 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Look up a singer called Thomas Benjamin Wild Esq on youtube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,203 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

I call BS on your assertion. Living rural I haven't heard one person in favour of the protests. In fact they are angrily against them. Farmers are concerned about fuel shortages as a result, rural people need to travel and attend appointments too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Perfidious Cretin

I'm currently in the UK at the moment visiting family. Heading back on the ferry on Saturday. It's probably best that I have the car filled with diesel before I back to Dublin..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

They had a lot of support the first day. Not anymore.

It's been infiltrated by scum, plus people missing appointments in hospitals with kids etc. It's toxic now.

They are selfishly giving the finger to everyone now. **** them tbh. They aren't the only people affected with the fuel costs.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,328 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Well arriving empty sure wouldn't be smart, unless you living in the terminal building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

How long before it all goes Mad Max outside?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,947 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The living will envy the dead by lunchtime Sunday.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,976 ✭✭✭amacca

Mad max is a state of mind....some can hack it, some can't!

I think we are only a couple of days away from people cracking open each others heads and feasting on the goo inside tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

Any minute now .
    A few auld tractors and trucks parked strategically for two days is all it takes to bring the country to its knees .How can filling stations be out of supplies that quickly ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,566 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Tomorrow if demands are not met

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,686 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Well of course he'd do that. Kicked the shite out of his ex and doesn't pay a tap in maintenance for the child (along with his other criminal convictions).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,901 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,164 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Pretty sure filling stations end up getting topped up a few times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Mobius2021

This situation have caused me to think I don't feel very Irish anymore. All the hate, the bullshit, the nonsense of the past few days, that's not me.

I always thought our country, even though it certainly has problems, wasn't too bad. But I don't feel the situation we are now in will get resolved any time soon - the protesters are very entrenched, the government seem unable to respond. Also this is very different than a trade union protest, it's a social media, peer to peer type movement. Who does the government negotiate with and how can they ballot their members?

Hopefully I'm overthinking things but I do worry that this is a watershed movement and the beginning of serious divisions in this country like what has happened in the US.

The demands can't be met 1.70 cap on White, 0.90 on Grweeeen .

Ireland runs on the back of fuel duty and vat, sad, but true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭almostover

He has quite the rap sheet in fact, assaulting a man in a bar, causing damage to a house and a car, trespass, handling a stolen tractor...tis a fair old list. And he has a podcast! The mind boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,286 ✭✭✭thomil

If anything, our modern world is probably much more fragile than many people think. Below, I've added a link to a YouTube channel I check out on a regular basis. It's mainly centred around the Warhammer 40K franchise, but the first fifteen to twenty minutes of this particular video deal with just how quickly a modern society can begin to unravel. I actually first shared it a while back on the thread discussing the government's recommendation to have supplies for a total of 72 hours in the house to be prepared for an emergency. The video was made pre-COVID and the example used is a 2000 fuel boycott in the UK, and the narrator argues, quite convincingly in my eyes, that within seven days of the start of the boycott, the UK had entered what he describes as the early stages of societal collapse:

Whatever your thoughts on the ongoing blockade may be, I personally do not have a high opinion of the ring leaders or the methods employed, I consider them to be an indication of a much bigger problem, one that seems to be flying under most people's radars. For starters, it's showing that, even when leaving aside fuel cost issues, the current just-in-time concept of logistics simply isn't feasible anymore. Yes, there's an argument to be made that the way just-in-time has been implemented in the west is a poor copy of the system pioneered by Toyota but regardless, our current supply chain setup in Ireland is far too vulnerable to disruptions. The current disruptions are caused by a few genuinely concerned individuals and a whole lot of hanger-on malcontents, so chances are it'll get resolved one way or another. The next set of disruptions may not be as gentle, and I don't feel like there's proper awareness of that particular landmine, really across all levels of society.

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,457 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Honestly, it may well be but it's very easy to overstate and to overthink these things, particularly in the heat of the moment.

It's true to say that the downfalls of various regimes, most notably ancien regime France, began with protests over the cost of living. I probably had similar worries during the Brexit years here in the UK, historically a very stable and pragmatic country. These things tend to pass though it's hard to feel too sanguine. We're told consistently that we live in wealthy nations and yet we see the constant erosion of the social contract, widening inequality, tax avoidance, climate change, mass spreading of misinformation by tech oligarchs, corruption, crumbling infrastructure, collapsing birth rates, etc..

All this has created very fertile ground for an endless array of grifters to exploit for their own agendas.

I'm inclined to be optimistic. Ireland has come through hard times before with regards to inflation, mass emigration and the cost of living. It does disgust me to see so many volunteer quislings pushing foreign agendas though. Thankfully, they're in a minority.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭purifol0

A cap on prices is unrealistic. Lower tax on fuel is perfectly reasonable and realistic.

But the state has grown fat on taxes, and the government and public sector unions have decided to give themselves another pay rise in two months. The second in a year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

That example from the UK is an almost carbon copy of what going on now. Mad to think more than a week without fuel would result in absolute chaos.

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 34,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

People demand products as cheap as possible. Just in time supply chains are the cheapest.way.to provide any good. This means no buffer.

Society as a whole relies on the concept that a small group of raging twats don't disrupt this supply chain. These "protesters" are undermining our entire economy and will just contribute to making life more expensive for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Big Gerry

Most of the cost of fuel is tax.

The government could slash the cost of fuel if they wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

Farmers, particularly dairy farmers, are in a real immediate bind. Milk is not being collected, it'll have to be dumped or cows dried off. Then there's the mills closed at the moment - deliveries of feed will not occur.

These agricultural contractors are forgetting who butters their bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

This is wrong. Today, the ex vat delivered+margin price is 135.81c and taxes, excise is 83.71

Before the war diesel retailed at 172 of which 32c was vat and 66c was excise.

The government has communicated this poorly but even with higher prices it is collecting less tax on fuel than before the war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Panic buying going on,stations are running out. That puts pressure on deliveries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,764 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

These clowns according to newstalk are saying their staying until they meet Simon Harris, the carbon tax is removed and fuel capped.

You can't negotiate with these lads when they say one thing the other day and now this.

Heads in the sand these lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Do what we say or else. Not a hope of this thing ending so.