No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,112 ✭✭✭DBK1

It’s what has been applied from the very start Brian, the few loudmouths on here saying the opposite are only looking to start arguments and are not being accurate in what they’re saying.

In Tullamore yesterday a loaded artic that wasn’t part of the protest let the wheel of his lorry down off the road going around some of the protesters and got stuck. The protestors that were there called a man that had a jcb on the protest further down the road. He came straight up and they lifted the lorry back onto the road with the digger and got that man on his way again.

What you’re reading from the hard men on boards where we are all anonymous to one another is not the reality on the ground at all and thankfully is no correlation to real life off the internet.

The local business and shops all around Tullamore are sending out food, refreshments, well wishes and even offering the use of toilet facilities to anyone on the protest that needs them and are in full support of the protestors as all of their businesses are being impacted by the price of diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,249 ✭✭✭Dickie10

I’d have a few pints every Saturday night, enjoy it immensely snd clears the head of the weeks work. Break from the house too, do you lads not find it hard not to be able to shoot the breeze with like minded people outside of your wife/ partner? Jesus I’d imagine I’d go mad if every day of the 7 was the same no outlet to let the hair down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,249 ✭✭✭Dickie10

I finished up in yard at 3pm Easter Monday and headed for local backed a few horses snd everyone watching the national , great evening and great to see people I had t chatted to in a while . Great band after from 6:30 to 9. Home with the nose bag at 9pm watching the news. Have to say was as enjoyable a day I had in a long time. Sad thing was I’m 42 and I counted only 5 people younger than me from about 50 in pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭Jb1989

She looks after the kids 24 7 pretty much while I'm at day jobs , I've not much interest in socialising, so I'd never think of going to the pub, instead I'll try get home early of a Saturday night so she can get away for an hour. She doesn't touch drink but meets a friend or family for an hour or 2. If you haven't young kids it's different, but I wouldn't dream of being away from house all week then saying I want to go to pub every Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,749 ✭✭✭Grueller

I go down the local most Wednesdays to give a hand out at the gaa club lotto draw. Drink about 3 pints and then walk the mile and a half home. Generally in bed before 11.30. I find it a great break up in the week but the funny thing is I have no interest in going at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I find on a Saturday evening I love to relax on the couch with the family, watch a movie or whatever and maybe a takeaway or some popcorn or whatever. If I had to pick, Sunday afternoon/early evening would be my favourite. After that it’d be early evening on a weekday but that never happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,067 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

showers of hail and wet snow blowing through here about every hour. Such a shame as grass had certainly started to take off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,967 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

All the protests have been that way since the start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

Everyday since I was born, I have heard people complaining. Complaining about costs of living, complaining about education, complaining about the health service, complaining about immigration and rip off housing.

Complaining about the budget, not a cent for the children allowance, complaining about the squeezed middle.

And now when there is a serious protest putting the government on the ropes. Im sorry to here you were inconvenienced. Unfortunately you will have to suck it up.

When the protest ends, you can go back complaining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,012 ✭✭✭kk.man

Id say you could tell some stories about Lanzarote !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Great stretch in the evening 👍️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭green daries

Ie ... we would love to hear a few 😀😀✔️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,542 ✭✭✭visatorro

Didn't have a drink this year so far. I did enough of it when I was able. I got a sickening last year with bad drink in a badly run spot and I really put me off. I wouldn't mind a game of cards somewhere, I must look into that actually. Theres a mens shed near enough aswell I might see of there's anything of interest going on there. While im no use to locals pubs anymore I wouldn't like to see them close either. Although was in a pub I wasn't in for 20 years recently and the same lads slobbering around the place. Not much of an existence either! Maybe im just jealous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

I listened to Mikhaela Peterson interview the leader of the Canadian truckers convoy back during covid. It was a great interview and is on Spotify. The truth was a far cry from the narrative pushed by the MSM back then.

Better living everyone

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Ah it was a wild time alright. I went for 3 months and stayed 8 years, from 2000-2008. Met the best and worst of people. And had the best and worst of times.

What I and others got up to isn’t something I’d ever write down for fear our young lads or the neighbours got wind of it. But I’d tell a few stories if we ever met for a pint. And then later deny they were true! If anyone was ever in a place called Freddies, around the corner from the Craic n’ Ceol, you’d have an idea of what went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭Austinbrick

Went to the canaries for the 1st time this Feb. Thought we landed on a different planet. End to end blue skies and 20 to 25 degrees. Anything that came after that was a bonus. Only 5 days but we'll worth it.

Grand Canaria.Hired a car.

Read up on it after. They were saying that Morocco has outperformed it for the 1st time this year.

In any case , I was very grateful for the whole experience during the Irish Winter . I felt lucky and privileged to be honest to spend family time together in warmer clims .

Still , the Roman soldiers should have toughened it out here!!!!!! SOFTIES!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Packrat

When have I complained?

When?

This isn't a serious protest. They aren't serious people, - if they were, they'd be working like i was and I'd imagine you were yesterday.

I generally agree with most of what you post here, but on this one, you're dead wrong.

My "inconvenience" as you call it isn't the issue.

The issue is that this rabble of malcontents are just the ones you've heard complaining your entire life, and that you yourself are complaining about now. They'll never be done. They'd find something to complain about in Heaven.

They've done nothing for fuel prices these last few days, except fcuk up other people going about their work and cause sh1t for the sake of it. No brains between the lot of them.

The rest of us just did our work and got on with it as best we could despite them.

I'm surprised of you to take this side of it... I expected more given your previous posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,553 ✭✭✭naughto

What was the alternative just let the government do as there doing with all the bullsh1te on how to save fuel by driving slower ect.

The carbon tax is still being introduced in may even with record high fuel prices,iam surprised that most on here where not at these protest as it effects farmers more than anything with fertiliser meal costs ect all have to come on trucks.

i now see they have a meeting tomorrow i hope they dont dismantle the protest untill after the meeting an go right back to it if the government doesn't answer some of there questions an come up with some plan to try to get it under control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

Of course I have taken the side of the protesters. I would only use 3000l or less green diesel a year, i still can see costs rising every day.

What is all your hard work for, if you pay 50% back in tax, vat on everything, household charges, high electricity, running a car or 2 cars.

Surely it's time to take a stand. Even if you are happy slaving away, would you not support your local silage contractors, bus owners, lorry driver. It's only a few days.

One big push Saturday might put the pressure on FFFG to meet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,940 ✭✭✭enricoh

Talking to a fella yesterday n he said there'd be no diesel to be got come may bank holiday anyways, petrol should be ok. I wouldn't have him down as a drama queen tbh.

What do u think folks. All diesel yokes here between us.

My supplier said supply was never going to be an issue. They still have supply today. If the depots open tomorrow then in 2 days every forecourt would be restocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

But is the fuel going to get to Ireland?

Just because we are distracted by the protests, it doesn't change that supply and cost have been an issue since the iran war.

So.if blockades are over, the straits are still closed and oil is still dear.

The problem.is still there.

Even if the war stopped immediately there’s significant disruption in the system. A bidding war for existing supplies and I’m not sure how we’d be placed in that scenario. We’re already seeing oil shipments being re routed away from Europe to higher bidders in Asia

Plenty of fuel out there. 20% was disrupted. Leaves 80% available. Arab states were still getting roughly half of thst 20% disruption out per day aswell by other means. Also OPEC are raising production per day to fill the gap.

1000021670.jpg

Any shortages will be artificial like what's going on here above.

It's all the Asian countries are are badly affected as they are the main customers. Europe really only uses opec to fill in the gaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Packrat

I work for a bus company for fcuk sake!

We weren't out blocking ambulances, nurses, people going about their business.

Neither was my silage contractor - again he was at his work.

How would blocking people and fcuking them up support them?

Some people are very easily led...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,553 ✭✭✭naughto

Thee was never or will be ambulances stopped from doing there job,people got delayed going to appointments but still got there.

I just wish this happened in July with Mehole hosting the security council it would be all sorted in a day as it would have made him look like a proper pleb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭davidk1394

The local here is a hub of activity. Table quizzes for the local community, birthday parties, even the Waterford ladies football team was there last Saturday night. I enjoy the Sunday evening pints with friends. I was there last Saturday night at a friend's 30th, the hangovers don't seem to hit me too bad once I stick with Guinness

I’m not sure yet if it’s good or a bad thing but this has certainly changed Irish protesting going forward.
    The key areas are the fuel depots. Hold these and you get a seat at the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭RockOrBog

Id drink it out of a wellington

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,373 ✭✭✭✭whelan2