Fuel Protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Exactly. Some people are desperate for hysteria.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but;

• the hauliers and farmers all have representative bodies/ unions, and none of them have sanctioned this protest

• there is an unofficial spokesperson for one group of them in Dublin city centre who himself says he "can't speak for all of them but…" - who exactly are the Govt. meant to be talking to, what is their mandate and who appointed them?

• the world and Europe is in a s**t storm not of this Govt's making - go to any country in Europe and you'll find the exact same complaints from the exact same sectors and people - housing, fuel, energy, migration, cost of living, inflation, taxation etc. etc. etc. This is not a set of circumstances that any Govt. has a handle on or answer to, so why should the Govt. start bending the knee to one small set of protestors just because they drive trucks and big expensive tractors? Do we all get a go at shutting down the economy for our demands? Should Mehole be flying out to Tehran/ Washington/ Tel Aviv to demand the lads cop the f**k on because Paddy the Farmer (but not his representative body) is angry that he's having to forgo his pints?

• Nobody is owed a living/ livelihood - there are already plenty of supports out there. If you can afford one of those huge tractors out on the streets but complain that you're still not making enough money for your liking, maybe the problem is you?

• Everyone is affected by cost of living increases, inflation and fuel prices - maybe it manifests itself in different ways (will my employer go bust, will my commute become more expensive, can I afford to heat my home, how do I continue to run my fuel-dependent business - creches, nursing homes etc). Most of us are just sucking it up and trying to make it through this current squeeze before taking stock of the Govt's performance at the next elections.

There's protesting. And then there's holding the citizens of the country to ransom. Not the Govt., but the citizens.

My sympathy for these protesters is at close to zero. Maybe they should head over to the US and Israeli embassies and direct their anger at the people responsible for this mess and leave the rest of us try to keep our heads above water. Who knows, they may even garner public support.

Post edited by Paddigol on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭dmakc

It's about the government fuel interventions, or lack thereof. Rural users are naturally more affected by green diesel hikes than urban dwellers. That's as far as the divide goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Protester this morning:

"We're not asking for the world, we're not asking for handouts, we're not asking for anything, we're just asking for a little bit of help in the short term"

Schrodinger's demand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Right but ordinary people who work in Dublin are not responsible for that. They are deliberately disrupting people commuting to and from work by stopping the Luas and blocking the major arterial routes the buses take, and they are doing it as they think we are unaffected by this.

We've already been affected for years by rising inflation as regards house prices and rents in greater Dublin area which hasn't affected rural people as much. Attacking and disrupting people who've suffered years of inflation and face further inflation due to this conflict is not helpful and not a way to gain solidarity.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭crusd

The protest started as well intentioned but has been infiltrated by the asshole class who always seek to take advantage of these things. Was in traffic for 2 hours extra tuesday morning and while frustrated understood the why and didnt mind too much. Then while stuck on the dual carraige whilr the slow moving convoy was coming the other way, i was about to give them the thumbs up and indicate support, when an asshole sticks his head out the window of his van and starts shouting abuse directly at me and gave me the finger beofre proceeding to do the same to other cars in traffic. Have heard other stories of people being ridiculed and laughed as the move past the partial blocades. These people are no doubt a minority of the protesters but that is why the tide will turn agianst a legitimate protest, becuase of the asshole-ification of all protest in this country.

Post edited by crusd on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Our tax base is so narrow compared to other countries.

Anyone who thinks our tax regime is the worst needs to go and work in France, Spain, Scandanavia etc. before they talk about our tax base being 'outrageous'.

Before anyone comes back with the nonsense 'petrol is cheaper in Spain'. Grand, go live there, and you'll be paying a lot more in income tax.

For example: the median salary in Ireland is measured at €54,928 - according to IrishJobs: https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2026/0123/1554598-salary-rankings-ireland/

Now, if you earn that salary in Ireland - Income tax, USC and PRSI is approx €12,000

Same salary in Spain? You're paying approx €18,000 in tax and social security.

People in this country don't realise how good we actually have it here in terms of income tax because they don't actually bother their arses to check what it's like elsewhere, and the whole narrative of 'we're taxed to shite in this country' is a good soundbyte to highlight their own lack of intelligence on the issue.

People need to get real here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,746 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

They have literally said that today.

Some people are just letting their imaginations run wild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭almostover

Not to mention the median wage in Spain would be a lot lower than in this country. Ireland approx. €40k and Spain approx. €22k.

AI tells me that the median Irish worker would be using 3.1% of their net monthly wage to fill a 50l tank of diesel at €2.18/l and the same person in Spain would use 4.4% of their monthly net income to do the same fill of diesel at €1.86/l.

But critical thinking doesn't seem to be a strong point for the organisers of this 'protest'. They just want chape daysul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,366 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Just calm the **** down people, we've got plenty of donkeys and turf to keep the place going.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭almostover

Would be no harm to send the customs and excise officers to the blockades and do a bit of dipping. I don't think driving tractors to block main roads and oil refineries qualifies as agricultural use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭midlander12

Not least certain members of the opposition.

Fuel protests: Gardaí advise protesters to ‘immediately cease’; latest on traffic disruption in Dublin and countrywide – The Irish Times

Wrong to ‘escalate and aggravate’ protests by sending in the Defence Force, says Sinn Féin

It’s ‘madness’ and ‘Trumpian’ for Government to call in Army - Tóibín

Though not all, in fairness….

A spokesperson for the Social Democrats said: “Everybody in this country has a right to protest but the escalation in the protests – and the blockading of fuel depots, motorways and large parts of central Dublin – is wrong.

“It targets commuters and businesses, who are struggling with the same cost-of-living pressures as the protesters. Critical infrastructure should not be blocked and the decision to call in the support of the Defence Forces may well be warranted.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Definitely this. There's a remarkable lack of self-awareness from the protestors. There's people dying by the day in the Middle East, there's been some of the most genuine fears of nuclear war in the past 40 years, there's huge geopolitical games being played - and the protestors are ignoring all of this. That's not really acceptable.

I get the feeling people are far more self-centred these days - I wasn't around for the fuel shortages in the 70s (similar cause actually), but I get the feeling there was a lot more understanding of the wider world, even if people weren't exactly happy about it (and in real terms, I think the impact in 73 was a lot more significant).

The significant disruption being caused to people who are also impacted by rising prices is only going to turn the general public view against the protestors, and it's good to see the Government so far calling them out for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭midlander12

Their 'news' comes from their Facebook feeds. They also appear to be under the impression that no one other than themselves pays any tax or makes any contribution towards society, whereas they are in fact the ones benefitting from lower cost diesel. Unlike you, I was around for both the 1979 and (though very young) 1973 crises, when at one stage people would be lucky to get a can of petrol at a filling station. Everyone understood that the situation was caused by events elsewhere, though of course the resultant recessions were ultimately blamed on incumbent govts anyway, as they always are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

Here are the average prices for feb and march (first 2 columns) according to AA https://www.theaa.ie/aa-membership/fuel-prices/

Before and after excise and nora reduction

The last column is the price at the pump for the tax levies charges take to be the same as average for feb

fuel taxes.png

i think i got my sums right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,543 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

The people behind these "protests" are the same crowd who organised the riots on o O'Connell st and burning down IPAs centers etc, they are pig ignorant racist biggotted sh1tstains and unfortunately there are people currently in dire enough straits to think they are looking out for them and joining in with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭Paddigol

And to blame de gubbermint. Meanwhile they don't blame de gubbermint for things de gubbermint should ACTUALLY be blamed for.

The levels of stupidity and ignorance openly broadcast on social media is phenomenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

The army looks like they'll only be used to remove blockades on critical infrastructure. So the extent of what they'll be doing is moving vehicles to try to prevent them from causing fuel shortages. So the rest of your rant is more shoehorning in US issues for the sake of it.

This fella on Liveline now, stuck on the motorway after being discharged from hospital, trying to get to a chemist to get his prescription and talking about being in 8/10 pain levels.

These c*nts blocking the roads have zero shame, and they don't give a **** about 'de ordinary people'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

It to be expected of the SDs,they are largely urban party with a deep hatred of rural people or others who don't adhere to their world view.

Or maybe they realise that blockading critical infrastructure is f*cking batshit and only hurts people.

If only you realised that as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭Genghis

Plenty of fighting talk from the Minister for Justice, Taoiseach, Gardai, i.e. moving to phase of enforcement, calling for aid by Defence Forces, calling out unacceptable actions, etc.

And yet, no actual move. Gardai still in an enabling role, protests still continuing albeit with a concession on water treatment chemicals.

I wonder what the Govt. plan is, wait until evening time? Wait until tomorrow?

If they had hoped the threat alone might break up or deescalate the protest, it looks highly unlikely that will happen, if anything it seems to have emboldened it.

Going to look weak if after all the talk if the Minister / Govt don't do something to re open critical infrastructure by tomorrow morning. Already too late to avoid local fuel shortages in coming days I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,590 ✭✭✭✭rob316

All garages around where I live in cork, out of diesel. Mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

The SDs go wherever they think the most votes are,they will probably hsvd some other mealy mouthed statement out soon condemning army intervention,a crowd not to be trusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,901 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

You can't capitulate to this sort of blackmail.

As Micheál Martin said himself this morning, if the government began caving into ransom demands, every single day you'd have some cause celebre or other blocking up roads with vehicles or burning hay bales.

They have to surround and isolate these protests with Garda cordons, and get Garda and Army vehicles in to drag away and impound any truck, bus or tractor blocking roads and refineries, and arrest the owners under the public order acts.

We all have financial decisions to make in these times of global instability, including the government. The answer is not to hold fellow citizens to ransom, especially folk with small businesses or trying to get to medical appointments.

And the c*nts who are causing petrol forecourts to run out of fuel can go and f*ck themselves. I hope every last one of them blocking the depots is made an example.

You think you're going to get cheaper petrol after this? Forecourts are losing out. They'll want to make up for those lost days and who's going to suffer? The same people these selfish bastards are claiming to represent. Petrol and diesel prices are going to go up because of all of this.

These pricks have an attitude that if they have to suffer, then so do the rest of us. They don't care that people are going to suffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭dmakc

MM is also saying he's not answerable to the people. I could go on about him but I'll digress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭Genghis

With the refineries the thing to do is to swoop in and secure / cordon an area adjacent to the refinery and use the army to create a temporary access point inside the corden, take down a fence, lay a temporary road surface, etc.

Gardai maintain the cordon so the temporary access route cannot be blocked. Protesters at main gate are rendered impotent.

Defence Forces in this way are never involved in any physical confrontation or front line police work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,543 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

If it continues you could honestly see average people taking direct action against these selfish pricks and i wouldn't have a problem with it. A few burnt out lorries and tractors would put manners on them sharpish.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,612 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

These protesters don't represent "the people". They're a rabble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,810 ✭✭✭Allinall