Fuel protest about prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,411 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Airports are busier than ever. Is it only posh people that go on holidays abroad nowadays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 624 ✭✭✭myfreespirit

Taoiseach saying on RTÉ radio just now that motorways are considered critical infrastructure - presumably this means that the army will assist in clearing the motorway blockades as well as ports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

I wouldn't overthink this. It's farmers and truck drivers. It should be easy to lure them away from the city centre with sandwiches and flasks of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Guramoogah

…and politicians - unless they're hiding under a rock somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭mykrodot

exactly! People in their comfortable bubbles, wouldn't even know what a farm looked like, what a fishing trawler looks like, what hard outdoor work looks like. Yet these people consume their milk, fish, vegetables quite happily, not caring a jot where it comes from as long as their supermarket supplies it. Micheal Martin's answer is to bring in the army rather than engage with them.

These protestors are calm, quiet, dignified, no loudspeakers, just determined. Good on them. People on this thread trying to discredit them in any way possible. Smugness personified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,543 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Wonder why France isn't rioting, or Germany. Their prices are higher than Ireland's.

https://www.cargopedia.net/europe-fuel-prices

Probably farmers being egged-on by the RuZZian-inspired anti-immigration thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

People like you make me laugh, you'd swear we lived in a coven where only the farmers produce what we eat. Anyway they made their point 2 days ago, as they have now entered a 3rd day of disrupting everyone, and blockading fuel terminals, I hope they get what's coming to them.

Direct your ire at the Government and their lack of engagement on this. It could be over today if Michael Martin didn't treat these people with such disdain and contempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Butson

I'd say you got a laugh out of that in your mind, even if nobody else did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,411 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Nearly all our food is imported, something like 85%. These farmers produce beef and dairy mostly for export.

the answer here lies with our Government, but they are happy to see people pitted against each other. Anger should be directed solely at Micheal Martin's feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,592 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Maybe you can explain to me what the fuel protests are 'Making Ireland Safe Again' from then. Seeing as @purifol0 has refused to answer repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭BestWestern

The beal bocht is as strong as ever.

The maximum VRT a farmer pays on a tractor is €200.

The maximum motor tax a farmer pays on a tractor is €120

Farmers pay bugger all duties on Agri diesel

Farmers receive €2bn annually in subsidies.

Agri prices rose 15% last year.

Tractors are NCT exempt

I was wondering how they can afford all these new tractors.

Because the taxpayer pays for them..

Tillage Capital Investment Scheme (TCIS): Grants for tractors and tillage-related machinery at 40% grant rate, with an individual ceiling of €90,000

Low Emission Slurry Spreading Equipment Scheme (LESS): For farms investing in environmentally friendly slurry spreaders and related machinery, 60% grant rate, €90,000 ceiling. While not exclusively for tractors, larger tractors may be included if used with approved spreading equipment

Young Farmer Capital Investment Scheme (YFCIS): Young farmers may receive support for purchasing tractors and equipment with 60% grant rate and €90,000 ceiling

In addition to CAP payments, Ireland operates various national farming schemes that supplement CAP funding. For recent years, payments include:

Basic Income Support for Sustainability (BISS) and Complementary Redistributive Income Support for Sustainability (CRISS): €841.71 million paid to over 118,000 farmers

Eco Scheme Payments: €305.35 million for environmentally focused incentives

Targeted Agricultural Modernisation Schemes (TAMS): €465.935 million for TAMS II and €149.081 million for TAMS III

Suckler Carbon Efficiency Programme (SCEP): €52.45 million

Areas of Natural/Specific Constraint Schemes (ANC/ASC): €246.37 million

Agri-Climate Rural Environment Scheme (ACRES): €745.88 million paid to date under this program

Organic Farming Scheme: €57.10 million in 2025 advance payments for 5,025 farmers

Other specialized schemes such as the Dairy Beef Welfare Scheme, Sheep Improvement Scheme, Straw Incorporation Measure, and Protein Aid Scheme collectively contribute tens of millions in payments annually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,946 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Theres no Union for Martin to negotiate with. Its just the standard confused mess of eejits.

Seamus wants cheaper fuel

Jim wants immigrants removed

Larry wants trans people fixed

Tom doesn't know what a tracker mortgage is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭littlefeet

Except for the bit where they are stopping nurses from getting to the hospital they work in, if nurses aren't there appointments are canceled, procedures are canceled, it not just stoping some IT person from going in that just work from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭AMTE_21

Why aren’t they blocking and protesting outside the U.S., Israeli and Iranian embassies, they started this s…t show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,688 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Like they treat the public with disdain and contempt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,225 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Oh for sure the govt have been asleep at the wheel on this. Radio silence on Tuesday and they could have gone on the airwaves yesterday and agreed to drop fuel levies on the condition that the farmers went home. They'd make the money back in a few weeks with the fines to be issued.

Today their solution is to send the army in, which, of course, nobody agrees with!

Likewise, blocking Foynes, Whitegate and Galway, starving the people of the fuel that they need, is not going to create friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭893bet

The gubberment can end it now if they come to the M7, take a shite in our portaloo, and just talk to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,746 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

It's not the government blocking the fuel depots.

That's the action that's tipped things over the edge for most.

People can probably live with rolling road blocks, annoying as they are. But blocking fuel depots and supplies critical to the country, nope red line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,592 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Who exactly do you want them to engage with.

Jiminy Billy Bob in his Massey Ferguson? Or perhaps Big Baldy Mick the trucker. Maybe Dave the bus driver will do.

They don't have anyone to engage with because there are no demands.

Paid out of the carbon tax they want eliminated, Irish farmers can access several subsidies and grants for installing solar panels on their farms:

TAMS 3 Grant: Farmers can claim up to 60% grant aid on solar PV systems, with a maximum grant of €90,000 per holding.

SEAI Non-Domestic Microgen Grant: This scheme provides financial assistance for solar PV installations, covering systems up to 1000kWp.

Battery Support: Farmers can also include battery storage in their solar systems, with grants covering up to 50% of the system's size.

Government Support: The Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine offers generous grant support for solar PV installations, making it more affordable for farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭I see sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,688 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I don't disagree with someone clearing our infrastructure, be it the Gardai or army.

[Raises hand] I'm somebody.

And since all sorts of social media have been used as an indicator of one thing or another, sure I might as well join in so, I'm not alone if you look elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭dmakc

Load of nonsense.

Agri prices are down 25% this year - the year of the fuel crisis.

Why not report the relevant fact of the matter: how much a contractor's diesel bills amount to versus the average Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,426 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I will bite

I am a retired now and quite comfortable thank you . I missed a physio appointment yesterday due to traffic . I will live to attend another day .
    But I am fully aware of the difficulties people around me are facing with this protest . I am very much in favour of organised protests and would be in support of the right to protest

But when it impacts negatively on the very people who are already pushed to their limit then it becomes a very different issue

Ordinary people are stuggling aleady and now some are missing hospital appointments , MRIs , diagnostic exams , much needed care .. Ambulances being impacted and emergency services slowed

No protest should ever ever impede emergency services or people in emergency situations . And inconveniencing the public so much is never going to gain support . One day was bearable , two started to annoy , three will anger the public as they really don’t need this added hassle to an already stressed life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Crisis as people are forced to make coffee at home instead of getting it from Fable.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,392 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

That's the agri business

Milk prices go up for a few years, everyone tries to get into it, then prices reduce

Beef is the current honey pot and so every farmer is trying to get into that, and guess what will happen? Prices will reduce

Has been on repeat for decades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,946 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Why do you keep doubling down on your performance?

Everyone has seen what you are already?