Fuel protest about prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,698 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

You weren't brave enough to fully commit and use the handle "Combat 18" or was it already taken on you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 432Hz

And this attitude is why they should have voluntary tax contributions. Nothing stopping you from contributing a bit more on your Form 11 to keep the balance sheets looking extra juicy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

lmao, ah yeah sure **** the country once you have your solar panels

They'll be under both mine and your bed soon enough. At the moment they only occupy all the vacant office blocks around my workplace (illegal migrants) and the brand new shiny housing estates on the city outskirts (legal migrants).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,698 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Are you afraid of them, will they take yer jobs?

Oh, wait, they won't have to will they as they get their shiny new houses for free with car keys left for them in the letterboxes, or something like that that Facebook told you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,322 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Voluntary tax contributions? That's mature. We elect the government and they then have a mandate to collect tax to fund the services required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭I see sheep

"Protest but don't cause any disruption" seems to view of a lot people here.

Aye that makes sense 😂

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

As much as wanting public money by antangonising the general public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭purifol0

Bwahahaha. Thanks I needed a laugh.

This ones almost as funny as "Cant they just protest using one lane of the motorway".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭almostover

Ok you're showing your true colours. You've no interest in fuel prices and the taxes levied on fuel. I won't be engaging any further.

• Subscribers Posts: 17,124 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

pushing people too far works both ways. You don’t agree with risking people’s lives ‘but’?

A lot of people and their livelihood have been badly affected by the protests deliberately designed to affect the day to day lives of people on buses, trams, trying to get to appts and work etc. very little affect on politicians in any way.

People will be pushed too far alright but most likely it will be ordinary people pushing back hard against the protesters, they have small numbers just big vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭brady12

Are they at this nonsense nationwide again tomorrow ?

Not on Facebook. Only go off what I see on a daily basis. But I'm sure "observations" are the primary weapon of racists and the Far Roish!

What does the increase of fuel prices due to Iran blocking the straits of Hormuz as a result of US and Israeli aggression have to do with the wastage of the public finances?

By all means arrange a protest for that cause, I may even join you on that one. But blocking the roads and p*ssing off other workers and commuters isn't going to reduce wastage of the public finances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,815 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Overtaxing fuel is the best way of increasing the cost of living, Every commodity is affected by the cost of fuel. The government is too thick and stupid to realise this and it's time they were educated.

Public Servants are so well looked after that there's no incentive for them to work hard and be efficient, teachers only working half the year and now they're talking about burnout, you couldn't make it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Yes and their anti immigrant hangers on have already organised for tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

**** me, the protest is about the percentage of tax the government are taking on the price increases in fuel etc due to the war which they can reduce instantly like Spain did. that is in the governments control and that is what the protest is about, what happens in Iran no protest will change . also this protest is having more of an effect than anything the opposition will shout about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭john boye

Ok but your post that I replied to mentioned nothing of that, just complaining about squandering the public purse.

I've 2 questions for you.

1. What taxes should be raised / introduced to cover the reduced intake if fuel tax is lowered / What public services should be defunded to balance the reduced tax take?
    2. If fuel taxes are reduced now to buffer the increased oil prices should these taxes be reinstated once the oil prices reduce?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,392 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Amazing all these concerned patriots are available to go protesting at the drop of a hat

Have they no jobs to go to? No vital tasks to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭rayman10

The 22c cut in duty would have cancelled out any increase in VAT surely?

Have you numbers to back up your claim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,517 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I seem to remember nobody had issues with water protestors blocking up streets for months on end?

Or when the green lefty brigade blocked up the port tunnel over climate change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭alentejo

These blockades are not the way to do business. The Trump sponsored war is difficult for all. I do hope farmers and haulage firms get some kind assistance but not under these populous blockades.

Ireland had a 12 Billion Euro surplus last year.

But if you want more taxes then a wealth tax would be great.

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

You're looking at lost tax revenue from lowering fuel tax, but ignoring the revenue lost when businesses close because their operating costs become unsustainable.

How do we replace that lost revenue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,392 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Most sane people know that is coming from corporation taxes from maybe 3/4 companies. Completely unsustainable and all of it should be invested in public transport and building projects eg housing, schools, hospitals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Arseboxing

This James Conway fella thinks he should be dictator of the country. The hubris is effing hilarious. He should at least learn to spell "Government" if he wants to be dictator.

Screenshot (1338).png

Here's a statement from James Conway after he failed miserably as a candidate in the 2020 General Election, getting just 2.2% of the vote in Sligo-Leitrim.

According to Mr. Conway, the electorate are "imbeciles" and "cowards" who deserve to live in "financial turmoil" and "unequalled poverty".

God he's very self-important, isn't he? Fierce bang of Justin Barrett off him.

Sunday 9th Feb 2020

James Conway:

After seeing the exit polls nationally and locally the results it is clear I will not be elected so my duty is clear tell you all the truth. The Irish citizen is before all else a coward so fearful of change it will not even allow the opportunity for change without clinging to remnants of what is familiar. Too lazy to rise from its stuper [sic] to its feet to vote for a change, content to stay in the shackles of familiarity. Too uneducated in the ways of politics and philosophy to deliver itself to a brighter future, revolution ha! Irish people are no longer motivated to pick up a pencil let alone a gun. Over the next ten years you will see your rights of speech of free will and of commerce slowly eroded away and you will like it because the media will have pre programmed you to accept it. The next reccesiion [sic] is around the corner and you will accept that it is your own fault despite it not being. Poverty will be ever present for years to come because the whole system is designed on popularity instead of substance. 60% turnout people have fought and died for the right to vote and a bit of rain has meant 40% have not turned out. The future of Ireland is not bright it is a future of financial turmoil and unequalled poverty and the vast majority deserve no better because truth be told you've voted for it. Thank you for everyone who cast their ballot my way perhaps your eyes are open. Here's looking forward to months and years of giving out about the same people and the same system we have ushered in as usual. The country is insolvent and the pension funds are non existent and for the love of God don't come running to me when the realisation of reality dawns on all your eyes. Ireland has never been a Republic it has been handed from the English to the Catholic Church to the EU and now to the globalists. Well done you absolute shower of imbeciles. You have voted for no better and you certainly don't deserve it.

Regards,

James Conway

Here's Mr. Conway again, up in court for causing criminal damage to property. What a lovely fella he is.

73570937e2bc9bfd4dc0e129eeda2364a5a2b7b8.jpeg

And here he is AGAIN! A six month suspended sentence this time for assault.

Clearly these demonstrators are ONLY THE BEST PEOPLE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭dmakc

There are plenty of fund recipients that need a good looking at in reply to part 1. It's not difficult to see how wreckless the government has been with finances. Maybe we don't fund Banty to the tune of €250m, maybe we think twice about Paschal's €10m sweetener to the World Bank, maybe bike shed etc. But 3c/l is all these protestors get.

Even one iota of a frugal attitude would have gone a long way in the eyes of the public.

Smug FG tosser on Virgin Tonight Show.

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,517 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

People have been discommoded for years with protests. Always been the case.

Why are the government outraged now?

Seems a narrative to tarnish the right to protest.