Fuel protest about prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Doing nothing in a protest that will get very little public support would appear to be a faster way to bankruptcy. They dont even seem to be organised around a single organisation to negotiate with the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,555 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

Maybe don't block people from going to work or block ambulances/fire engines if you want sympathy. 'We're all in this' rings hollow if that's what you enforce on others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,752 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

No it hasnt. I was in dublin today working and if anything its just pissing more people off.

Every 2nd person you walk past talking about it and how all their doing is impacting poeple now.

Bit of abuse hurled at some of the truckers at one blockage.

It'll get nasty now if nothing else.

Public mood isnt the same as social media. Their losing support of normal people and quickly. Having rent a mob beside them also isnt helping, same faces pushing every protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭purifol0

Oh are the gards hiring Irish men now, or are they still DEI'ing more ineffective tiny women and lying about recruiting out of IPAS centres & Mosques?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭rayman10

Behind them and with them to achieve what exactly?

We could be looking at fuel rationing, crazy fertilizer prices (higher food costs) shortage of key materials and medicine. Aviation chaos. House building collapse over limited fuel, higher costs and lack of building materials.

What exactly do these monkeys think the government can do in the face of such an onslaught?

All they are doing is putting us on the backdoor before things start to get really bad.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,964 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Last week!!!!!

How many weeks has the Iran war being running for??

This stuff isn't difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭purifol0

No its becuase its govt. policy to be soft on crime. Massively increased population with no new prisons (despite site already bought). Scrotes with hundreds of convictions let out early or on bail by soft judges. Ridiculously overfilled mens prisons (the friggin UN wrote to the govt. about this) and of course state funding for the IPRT, who write reports saying we should stop sending crims to jail full stop!

Further on my post above, blocking the fuel depots now is one way to really put people against you even more.

Forecourts in the south and West will run dry because of these blockages.

The war has caused a fuel supply issue. Blocking supply within the country is completely the wrong way to go about things. Wouldn't be surprised to see Gardai intervene at fuel depots tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,281 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

🤣 Have you got a link to their new recruits gender and ethnic breakdown?

Why don’t you apply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Another patriot in our midst, what a delight. Touch of incel to this one as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,693 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Very basic question, do you really think that the taxes etc the state takes in goes into the pockets of whoever happens to be in government at the time?

What do you think pays for all the public services, social welfare etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Don't forget the illegal parking. Very soft on illegal parking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Don't encourage them 😀. Its derailing the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,281 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

If it wasn't such a serious subject that posters remarks would be funny though.

They are only making a serious and precarious situation worse.

Putting us on the back foot before things start to really deteriorate.

A nasty and vile minority involved here. Driven on by anonymous Facebook pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

Facebook and Twitter are in their death throes too. FB is full of mad, barely literate grannies, and Twitter has been taken over by weird racist bots.

If the protests had been hijacked by the far-left, and not the far-right, Gardai would've had the batons out long ago.

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 432Hz

The government only care about the balance sheets and getting the pat on the head from the EU head mistress. They literally haven't the foggyest idea what to do with all the money they have. The Children's hospital is a godsend as it's siphoning off those bags they are holding. Another good hefty chunk going towards their next-generation of voters who they fly in by the plane-load on a daily basis. And this is just what can be seen in plain sight.

But keep defending them to the bitter end. Only so long can the cracks be painted over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

basic question why is the government making more money on the back of a crisis ? carbon tax in may more tax !!! seriously in a crisis which it is you react, they are **** useless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

My family business has diggers, Tractors and Vans. Our fuel bills have gone up like everyone elses. We are stuck in the same rut as any protestor, but we don't blame the govt for what is going on. Get your Tractors and lorries home and quit annoying the people who are in the same boat as any protestor trying to commute to and from work. This protest isn't the way forward. If they have the time and money to put their machinery on hold and drive hundreds of kms they're a lot better of than most of the poor fcukers they're obstructing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Be very concerned. The poster seems to be informed by the Simpsons. Maybe Homer Simpson himself has incarnated and joined Boards..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,693 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Are those voters being flown in, first class naturally, under your bed right now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Mr Creosote

Hello

Just wondering if anyone has any Idea roughly how long it might take to get to Dublin Airport from Heuston station. Or city centre? I was planning to use Dublin Express usually runs buses every 15; minutes from Heuston but imagine that schedule is "up in the air". I asked Dublin Express if they had any feedback from drivers about how long the journey may take but they said they didn't know, only that some buses were arriving up to an hour late at some bus stops.

I am travelling up from Laois so could use JJ Kavanagh or Dublin Coach or possibly Air Coach from Drumcondra.

I could also get a train to Limerick & take a bus to Shannon. Anyone know what bus journey time might roughly be like from Limerick Colbert to Shannon airport?

I was supposed to travel today Weds 8th April but decided against it due to the fuel protests. I received a message from Dublin Express buses around 1.30 pm today advising me they could no longer serve Heuston station due to the protests and suggesting That I should walk to Eden Quay or Ormonde Quay - about 25 minutes walk!

I might try again early next week. Would be grateful if anyone has an idea about this or suggestions on the best way to travel, wether you know someone who attempted the journey or if you went yourself during these protests.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

I dont agree with blocking ambulances or emergency services. But...I think many people have had enough. The waste of public money is a national scandal, the poor services provided by state bodies is a joke, people shouldn't be have to wait 3 years for appointments (as I read today) You can only push people so far. However I do agree that things are starting to get ugly and tomorrow things could get a whole lot worse.

100% , we're all feeling the pinch of increased fuel costs.

Supply is the issue with 20% of world supply cut off, the rest now goes up in price, its supply & demand, its annoying paying more for fuel but whats the alternative, cut taxes way down, make fuel cheap, all well and good but that causes increased demand which further pushes supply and now they're compounding the supply problem in the country by blocking fuel depots.

Complete stupidity, its a step too far, driven on by rent a mob online who are devoid of reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭combat14

the government are squandering tax payers money left right and centre and then some more

people have enough workers have enough and now business people like hauliers, farmers and contractors have enough

no indexation of tax credits/bands for workers in the last budget

a miserly 20c off deisel in the worst fuel crisis in 50 years the government are clearly incompetent and have lost the plot

no sign of anything to end this dispute and the state at risk of putting badly needed hauliers and farm contractors out of business before too long

plenty of money available for the generational work shy and any tom dick and harry who illegally enter the state looks like it is time for workers and hard pressed businesses to be looked after

The carbon tax is being used to help pay for mine and many other people's solar panels.

That will reduce our dependency on fossil fuels.

That's the way out of this. Reduce dependency on fossil fuels. The monkeys blocking roads will never get this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,321 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

"The government only care about the balance sheets"

Good. The government has to look after the public finances. They certainly could do more to ensure that some expenditure is better managed, but they cannot just stop collecting taxes willy-nilly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭I see sheep

I absolutely support the protest.

FFG are absolutely clueless about what's happening in this country and all the fools who support them are the worst of all.

Bailout the banks? Here's an unlimited pot of money, no problem.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Acosta

Farmers have previously occupied buildings and blocked ministerial vehicles while protesting. Things that others would have have been arrested for, physically hammered by Guards and condemed by all corners of the media. But when the farmers did it, sweet F all happens. It's no surprise that they would feel emboldened to carry on as they have this week.

So protest on one lane of the motorway then. And let the rest of us use the other lane.