Fuel protest about prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭jackboy

They don't have support because they are early. If the war goes on and prices rise enough then the majority will be behind them and with them. We are not there yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 432Hz

I don't know if it was from my own car or the car in front of me but there was a wonky smell coming from the exhaust smoke. I wonder are the refineries/stations stretching the fuel in some nefarious ways in some areas? Wouldn't surprise me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭rayman10

It shows the calibre of the protestors. Monkeys the lot of them.

You are one line away from finding yourself in the sin bin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭purifol0

There are people here that think the state wont play dirty. This govt. is so unpopular instead of buying journalists, they bought entire media outlets and set up a brand new state agency to push censorship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,946 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Mighta just been the smell from the protestors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭brick tamland

I'm guessing there will be less of them out tomorrow protesting

They'll all be off collecting their Dole at the post office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭mykrodot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭E36Ross

Every single person has been affected by rapid inflation, Whether that be the weekly shopping, heating oil or the weekly fill of diesel to go to work.

Ye do realise behind every single truck, bus tractor and van theres a man (Or woman) who's lively hoods are now on the line? Because they too have to contend with inflation AND the price of fuel?

There's small businesses and sole traders now paying thousands extra a week on fuel..... They've asked for help, They've been largely ignored. (The 22c cent reduction was surpassed within days)

What do ye expect them to do? Park trucks and tractors in the yard until everything calms down? That means shelfs will go bare, food production will be limited which will then further increase inflation for the average household.

Kids are going to be left at home from school next week as it'd be cheaper leave buses parked.

And yes I agree theres a few muppets that have attached themselves and used it as a platform for their own beliefs, But its a cry for help from the average working man who's not a union member, But just a man who generally keeps his head down and works away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

Im a teacher and I did NOT vote for this government or anyone in it. I also was part of one of the slow moving convoys yesterday. Why? Because I grew up in rural ireland and how important farmers, truck drivers etc are. They work hard and have had some very hard years recently. Its not about us and them. We are all affected by this. Don't be trying to cause a divide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,693 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Are you deluded or just trolling at this point. It's not an accusation, but a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Would be an interesting response to see if government says yeah fine we'll cap prices at the pumps but there won't be any Xmas bonus for the dole this year. See how many of these fuckin seals are clapping along to this nonsense then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

I'm amused how these clowns think the whole country is behind them. Living in an echo chamber on Facebook is not healthy.

Protest, yes go ahead. Slow convoy no worries, the Guards will manage it. I have protested in the past at cuts during the austerity days, I have taken part in strike days on a picket line. All properly notified and organised.

These blowhards are a mob without leadership, and far right agitators taking advantage. I'm no fan of Paul Murphy but when you see how he was treated in Dublin today that is all you need to know about the mob. What is going on is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Disingenuous to mention the basic salary and exclude the allowances that guards get. For starters, every guard that works the shift pattern will get an additional 25%-29% of their gross - depending on how their days fall.

Guards are very well paid, particularly since it's a job with an entry requirement of a pass leaving cert.

This is hilarious. ye have heard of a God Complex, but check out this Mod Complex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,693 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Nope, but the difference is that nobody has used it in the same way Facebook and Twitter is to indicate popularity or lack thereof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Farmers can apply for TAMS which pays for 40% of the install, 60% if its a young farmer.

Theres no other investment making returns like agri-solar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

I think agri contractors is a fragile business model. Its as you say, capital intensive, with a short working year. The hardest season for village as tillage are quite condensed. As the sayonggoes you make hay while the sun shines Some fairy and beef farmers that used to use them are now cutting and bailing themselves because they have more control of the timing.

IRHA wont be sad to see some contactors go due to them competing for haulage work (eg towing plant and machinery), but without.the same overheads/regulation. I also wonder why the contractote dont have a fuel surcharge clause.? After the Ukraine spikes they should all have this as standard. It don't change the high prices but they offer some some protection to the business form a spike in costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

If they want public money then they are going at it in the wrong way to make their case to the general public. Strikes are usually over random days over a number of weeks not multiple days in a row which will only enrage all commuters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Stick with the abstention or contraception please!

Was it just the fuel crisis that started your problems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,322 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

No, they are not making more, as they cut excise duty last week. I think the excise cut on diesel was around 16c, so unless the base price of fuel went up 65c the government is not taking more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭E36Ross

So continue paying €€€€ for the next few weeks in the hope that the government will eventually do something?

That will literally bankrupt companies and put lads out of business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭SOPHIE THE DOG

Lads protesting about diesel costing €2 per litre while drinking take away coffee that costs €11 per litre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,281 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

All the people on here giving out about how well paid the guards and teachers are- why don’t you just take up that job and avail of all the benefits?

Like most private sector workers, excessive government taxation (especially on labour and fuel) means affording a gaff takes longer. Hence now the age of an ETHNIC IRISH parent is now at its highest level ever. Geriatric pregnancy is the norm.

But hey I guess we're all just incel losers nazi's for not wanting to be taxed into extinction while the govt. jet sets round the world giving our money away

The token boards.ie Finegael/failer is slow on the uptake here so I'll handle it. We are close to full employment. The government did a great job. We have a 7000 billion surplus in the last budget. We are precariously reliant on 2% of corporate companies. Keeping working, max out your pension AVCs. We can't have a repeat of the celtic tiger. Go all-in on Simon's investment scheme.

Are you a Newstalk reporter? They were coming out with the same hubris earlier. "They do not represent us, but I'll take the cut in fuel excise if they get it as will my fellow dublin commuter belt housing estate dweller"

The protesters are doing what should have been done years ago. They've been tipped over the edge now. The only regret I have is that commuters are not joining them in their cars. Work from home if you don't want to be part of it. This government have sponged the electorate for long enough now. Turning point is long overdue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,322 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

When the dust dies down, the government might usefully look at this and offering grants. The problem with solar is the dark days at Christmas, but at that time of year a farmer would use farm machinery a lot less than in the next 3 months, when there is plenty of solar power.

yet one of the reasons the government does not confront the current thuggery on the street is that there are not enough people becoming Gardaí. There are also shortages of teachers in some areas too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭batman75

Michael Martin's attitude towards the protests is disgraceful. How out of touch can one leader of a country be. Most TDs, and Ministers appear to live in a different reality to those that vote them in. The financial elastic band can only stretch so far before it snaps. The Govt need to make profound reductions to the duty they collect on fuel until their is a market correction on price to pre war levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,555 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

Can't believe we got the 'don't believe boards, you should go on Facebook or X to get the truth' argument haha

Oh wow great point. BTW what's the governments tax take on the coffee? Is it 65%?