Fuel protest about prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭purifol0

Have you considered becoming a boards.ie mod and then getting a position in Commision na Mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭apache

Very few buses this morning and late for work. I have a hospital appointment tomorrow. Better leave early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭mykrodot

agreed. Boards is no reflection of true sentiment anymore. Its almost dead. Hope on over to Facebook or X and it's absolutely hopping with various discussions on this, most of them supportive of the protests. I have a large family and we met up over Easter, all of them really struggling with the increased costs and all of them furious with the level of taxes we are paying on top of the fuel. It absolutely has to be addressed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Definitely a different demographic. Maybe an urban rural divide. Can't see many Dubliners happy to be stuck in traffic or that emergency vehicles are being blocked by the protesters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,392 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

The ordinary tax payer (and non tax payer) elected the TDs to the Dail

A government was formed.

They made decisions to run the country

That's democracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭BestWestern

The irony of all the 251 mega tractors driven on coloured diesel with bugger all duty.

Here in Cyprus diesel is 1.86

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭mykrodot

Dubliners have various means of transport with the soaring cost of fuel. Rural people do not. Rural people drive fewer electric cars and less of them have heat pumps. They have scant, infrequent public transport. You cannot get a bus to work and home every day if you live in the country. So yes its a different demographic. Farmers are rural dwellers and they are feeling the pinch most. They are the ones supplying our shops with milk, meat, veg. I 100% support them! Our carers who mind our elderly people in the community are at breaking point also.

Also what is a "rainy day fund" of billions that is frequently bragged about for, if not for rainy days? What is the definition of a rainy day, is that not now? Is it ok for Govt to just waste taxpayers money on vanity projects like the Childrens Hospital (all we needed was a functioning large hospital on a green site along the M50 10 years ago!!), bike sheds, mobile phone pouches etc….. while being held accountable for absolutely nothing. People have every right to be furious with Michael Martin now and his contempt for those who are really struggling.

I guess every demographic wants this rainy day fund even those workers in Dublin today and elsewhere the hauliers are making life difficult for.

The people elected this government despite the wastage. Its a sad state of affairs but doesnt mean I want the rain day fund to go to hauliers or farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭dmakc

What's the irony? Did you ask if it's financed or paid for?

I'm at a loss to your apparent expectation of taking a relatively inflated tax hike lying down, simply because one drives a 251?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,760 ✭✭✭yagan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,322 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Rural houses are ideal for solar energy and heat pumps, as they have more space. A farm in particular has a lot of space for solar panels, which could power everything regardless of Iran.

Someone has to pay the hefty pay rise the teachers want, etc etc etc.

Honestly, all farmers ever do is complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭purifol0

I think you'll find it was people who get paid from taxes voting for a government that would continue giving them more money for jam.

400,000 public sector workers are costing tax payers a fortune. Not a single one of them were in the convoy. All of them vote FFG or at least they wont protest or vote against them.

It seems you think the rest of us should just bend over and take it because teachers, nurses, gardaí and civil servants voted in a government of high taxation & reckless spending because they give them a nice cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Arseboxing

You think the assortment of "Says No" groups and such on Facebook is representative of public opinion? And X? The world's biggest source of disinformation and home to millions of bots? Seriously?

Big tractors, low fuel duty, yet still complaining. €2bn in annual subsidies isn't enough.

And who owns the payments on the big tractors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

Do you know the cost of running those big tractors and what they do in getting carrots at 49c /kg into your shopping basket.

If you can't afford a big tractor, get a smaller one.

€2bn in subsidies are already paid, but the beal bocht is as strong as ever.

Agri prices were up 15% last year too.

Who do you think private sector voters were voting for, sinn fein? The fact is we dont have any accurate numbers on who the private sector or public sector voted for so it's just mindless conjecture.

Both public and private sector workers who inconvenienced by the hauliers and farmers today and more likely it is easier for public sector workers to work from home than private sector ones, depending on their professions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

One of the greatest mistakes in recent years was equating loud online positions with common public opinion. This site rally only has a couple of hundred active users, all within a certain demographic. Reddit is bigger but similar. X, had at its peak just 30k active irish users across its entire domain, not just politics. Facebook has its silos with its loudmouths.

Undoubtedly, people think the cost of fuel is too high as its drifted well above its norms, with psychological price barriers being crossed: €2/litre being the big one. The government though doesn't have endless capacity to change the taxation on fuel, particularly when its facing a high degree of uncertainty in the public finances. In addition to that, not only are they extremely expensive to implement, they are very difficult to unwind. They will get far more flak for taking them away then they ever did for removing them in the first instance.

But this protest really isn't about fuel though is it. Its the usual anti migration protesters hoping to generate an anti establishment wave on the back of an issue most people are experiencing.

Thats not how it works. God forbid someone expands their business. You still haven't explained the irony considering there are payments. Chambers came out today saying how they already got a 3 cent per litre emergency buffer, margins are razor thin in this business. If that's not stoking, I don't know what is. They're getting 30c per litre more than they were in February.

What's truly ironic is the €2bn serves to keep food affordable for your good self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,592 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Of course everyone is furious. The rising costs are ridiculous.

But annoying John or Jane on the way to their 9-5 isn't going to resolve anything. It's just creating more divide. Even in the comments above you have people giving out about civil servants who are all (mostly) working and simply caught up in all of this. Like the tax they pay on their wages doesn't somehow count towards the exchequer.

Blockade the bloody Dail when it's in session, keep the TDs in there so they can't leave and actually have to sit down and work the problem out instead of chucking around sound bites.

There are ways to do this without creating such a hostile atmosphere.

The trouble is, that is exactly what some of the cretins that have attached themselves to this protest want. They want people divided. Fighting each other instead of focused on the actual issues. It's literally their playbook the world over.

Look at Trump bombing Iran to deflect from the Epstein files (amongst other things). It's the exact same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭KaneToad

These protesters are a mish mash of concerned farmers/hauliers, concerned Joe soaps and a not insignificant group of anti-immigrant agitators.

There is no possible way such a disparate group could be engaged with by any govt reps. Who would they talk to? The farming contractor or Anto who wants Ireland for the Irish?

There are rep bodies for farmers, hauliers, bus drivers..etc. If none of these bodies are adequately speaking for the people in their sectors then new rep bodies should be formed.

Ridiculous road blockages by anyone & everyone is not going to do anything progressive for the issue.

Farmers pay a flat VRT rate of €200. Motor tax is about €150. Bugger all duties on Agri fuel. Most tractors don't need an NCT

Last year Agri prices went up 15% and the farming subsidies passed €2bn.

Yet an beal bocht is asking for even more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭h2005

It’s a far right protest with tractors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,590 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I supported it yesterday but sure as night and day, the knuckle dragger dole heads are out in full force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

While undoubtedly there are farmers at this, the number of new large shiny machines would suggest that its primarily agricultural contractors. I have often wondered what the sustainability and resilience of their business model was as they all seem to prefer the biggest most expensive gear going. Maybe its cheaper due to warranty and reliability, but the cost of having so much capital tied up is huge too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Wait until they start throwing things through windows again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Mark my words this will end in violence/damage against them at some point. 1 day was enough, 2 days was taking the piss, 3 days and beyond is pushing the limits of tolerance regardless of what the protest aims to do. Point made lads, now **** off home with yourselves.