Fuel protest about prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,934 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Thats why no credible organisation is anywhere near these "protests". This is a PR disaster for the eejits thinking this is succeeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Arseboxing

And at a stroke you prove all the stereotypes about the people who support this nonsense "protest" correct.

You studied at the University Of Facebook no doubt.

These demonstrators are parasites.

People can see this bullshit for what it is - the latest round of astro-turf far right imported American crap, following on from Covid denial, shrieking about adrenochrome and Ivermectin, burning buses and emergency accomodation and spitting at refugee mothers and their children.

Your hero Trump lost in Iran.

Go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,201 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Taking note of the political heads that are supporting the protest

Sinn Féin’s Matt Carthy, Aontú leader Peadar Tóibín and Independent Ireland leader Michael Collins all in Dublin yesterday

In Galway, Fine Gael councilors Andrew Reddington and Peter Keaveney are out in support which is confusing on a number of levels…

Foynes and Galway ports have been officially blocked by the protesters, the 2 ports combined account for about 7%-8% of the countries petrol/diesel imports. Anybody living in the areas should fill up today as there are local shortages coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Ah, it must have killed you to wait at least 1 post before exposing your true colours, not that I'm surprised tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Diddly Squat

Id favour cutting medical journeys for cancer patients and farmers dole to start, lets do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭JoyceDavenport

First class honours degree in Politics and Philosophy from one of our esteemed universities.

Plato, Aristotle, Hobbes and Locke.

I can debate them all with you.

So don't stereotype me ever again libtard.

PS. Locke would have liked that.

Post edited by JoyceDavenport on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

That's a great degree, it's also why you sit at home all day unemployed on the Internet calling people "libtards" and talking about "fakeugees". Bet you're currently lining up a post for a Facebook page too of an AI fist covered in the tricolour. Cosplay patriot clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭rayman10

Moore protests today and tomorrow. Shower of ****.

Whatever about protesting for 2 hours taking say one lane, but blocking everybody else is counterproductive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

Which department's budget do you suggest they cut? Health? Education? Or do you think just cut social welfare payments? What about people who depend on those like people with disabilities who can't work or families who are struggling so get the support payment there? I mean you cut any of those & there will be answering protests about cutting off the most vulnerable in society which, lets face it, are not those in trucks or tractors protesting.

Ah yes the overpriced EV's that are costing them a lot less in fuel at the moment than those in ICE cars!

Love the comparison between a private sector issue with the cost of something & people being literally bombed out of their homes.

What are you expecting the protest to achieve? I mean really and honestly what is it you want? A reduction in the tax on the fuel. And what happens when eventually the oil prices stabilise? Would you be happy for the tax to go back to what it was or do you want it to stay at the low level? And considering the protest is for a reduction in the tax on white and green diesel, what about the costs for the oridinary motorist using them which are still high? Do you want any change to that? Or just a change to benefit a private industry? And with the reduction in the tax base from this reduction in tax take, where should any subsequent cuts come from? Or will you be out protesting if the government cuts any spending too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

You mean the people who actually had the sense to switch to EVs?

We should be trying to get more people into them to reduce carbon fuel dependency

I know hauliers and buses cannot really run on electricity but surely direct lobbying of ministers might get a better vat rebate scheme or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Arseboxing

Ooooh you're very pompous aren't you.

The "**** the libtards" module at your "university" must have been a hoot.

Clearly you spent most of your time getting "Locked" and to be honest, it sounds like you are right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭csirl

These guys have lost public support. No doubt many people will take a view on whether they give business to those involved going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,755 ✭✭✭yagan

Something to do with the kids while they're off school?

Quick search on DoneDeal shows 323 EV's for sale in Ireland with a price tag under €15k. I know someone who has an eGolf that they got for €14k about 6 years ago & still runs perfectly. So yeah like any other car, they can be expensive if you're buying new but less so if you are buying second hand.

And then factor in the fact that charging, even on paid chargers away from home, can be significantly cheaper these days than fuel. While there might be a more upfront cost at the start, the overall payout in relation to the car might work out less than an ICE one. I mean I managed to charge mine up from 1/5 full to full for €21 recently on a paid, away from home charger. Is there any car's tank you could fill for that from the same level these days?

And the next time they want to have a proper protest this will haunt them. Thats why the Haulage and Farming Unions went nowhere near.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭kaahooters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭user060916

This isn't a protest. This isn't productive in anyway. There is very little (if any) public support.

Now they're blocking the fuel depots.

I wish the Guards would just clear them away and ideally lock them up

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

You haven't priced up new ICE cars recently have you? EVs are are just as affordable as ICEs and much much cheaper to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Nermal

I absolutely would cut the budget to those departments, but first I'd cut the foreign aid budget to zero, which would more than cover a 50% reduction in government charges on fuel.

Guy on internet complaining about other people on the internet.

Ukraine .. Palestine..I support the current thing.

Still driving my dirrrty diesel that the Green party game 8k Grant to buy.

Suck it up.

Going nowhere fast on peasant public travel.

So to all of them? And from what parts would you cut? In Education for example? Would you cut the number of SNA's or were you also giving out when that department was going to audit how many they had and potentially reduce the numbers?

How about Health? Where a number of hospitals had a policy of not replacing a nurse or other staff member if they left because they couldn't afford to even within their current budget?

And cut foreign aid? That wouldn't actually do a huge amount as it's only 0.41% of our GNI for the most recent calculated year which was 2024. In fact under agreements with the UN, the aim is that all countries donate 0.7% of GNI. And here's the thing, we kinda just sit in the middle area of DAC countries for our foreign aid. Yes there are some below us but there are quite a few who donate a lot more than us. Excise on fuel brings in approx €1.5bn to the exchequer. And while our budget for 2026 showed a surplus of €5.6bn, if you exclude the windfall tax we're in a deficit of €13.6bn.

And you never answered my question around if you support the fact the protesters are only looking for a reduction on the green and white diesel which doesn't have any impact on the normal motorist but is only for haulage and farming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,190 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

If one good thing comes out.of this BS its that a nuclear power station is starting to appear on the table

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Some of the wealthiest parts of Ireland are best served by public transport, so that's kind of a thick ignorant opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭bladespin

Well, I knew where and when they were setting off etc, still nearly managed to get stuck behing it all the same - I hadn't paid it that much attention tbh, a 'doh' moment for me that.

That's just another few minutes tbh, hardly the end of the world either way, same boat as me.

Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭bladespin

Local radio news were on about it from Friday anyway; we don't read newspapers anymore really.

Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,573 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

If anyone looking to get G out of town home will need to walk to wood quay.

Seems to be pretty much zero buses going through town at the minute either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,819 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Government finally issue a statement - not the one these lads will be hoping for though..

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/not-acceptable-to-turn-oconnell-street-into-a-car-park-taoiseach-threatens-penalties-over-blockades-amid-fears-pumps-could-run-dry-in-west-of-ireland/a932392093.html

Now we just need the Gardai to start clearing them (and ideally issuing fines and penalty points) before this evenings rush hour.

Throughly deserved. Absolute self-sabotage the last two days.