Protest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭standardg60

This is it. Very hard to believe someone can't afford to put any fuel in their vehicle when they've driven all day to tell you so.

All a pile of nonsense really, no one will be going out of business due to fuel increases, they'll just pass it on and everyone will absorb it because everyone can afford it. There are very few, if any, actually on the breadline in this country, but we have any amount of moaners.

Chris Duffy on NT this morning basically saying money going to Ukraine should be his, Michael McNamara referencing money spent on ipas centres, the thanked xenophobic posts above, is a sad and accurate reflection of the small mindedness and mè feinism that I witness a lot in rural Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭harr

I hope this doesn’t turn silly now , protesters have moved to block o’Connell bridge and part of the quays . Various shoutouts on social media for people to make their way to city centre to boost the numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭almostover

Drove back to Cork today from a wedding in Dundalk and it took us almost 6 hours, that in fairness included a 30 mins break for food. A journey which should have taken 3.5 hours at most.

Just want to challenge the echo chamber here about this protest having popular support with some of my observations.

Witnessed a truck driver carrying a load of structural steel verbally arguing with the protestors as we approached the Portlaoise road block. I didn't hear the verbals but judging by his rage I doubt he was supportive.

My journey definitely involved travelling 5-10% more distance, I'm not sure how extending the journeys of thousand of motorists and hauliers today helps conserve fuel supplies. Remember, it's a shortage of fuel supplies that has driven prices up.

The blockade at Urlingford in particular forced traffic down the old Dublin road, a road with many poorly designed junctions and a road that was never designed for that volume of traffic. Creating a road safety issue.

Cashel had a huge tailback of several km's through the town. The town was totally choked up. A medical emergency in the town centre necessitating an ambulance transfer to Clonmel would have been certainly delayed as a result.

Just my observations from today. Not sure this type of action is very popular outside of those protesting and their echo chamber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭farmertipp

for most people it was a fuel protest. People gave figures on the increase in costs of doing business and see this as a one issue protest. Certainly for people I know who took part . right wing or left wing doesn't come into it for most .

sso get stuffed with your conspiracy theories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 TeagascSaysNo

We spend 2 billion on just IPAS /Ukrainian accommodation alone per anum, not including other money wasted on them for medical cards, etc etc. 2 billion divided by about 5million people equates to 400 euro per citizen per year just for this farce.

There is obvious waste of public money all across the system but nothing as egregious as this, McNamara is right to point out the waste. If we didn't piss this money up the wall we could give 1600 euro in fuel rebates to each family of 4 in the country every year. The people you interact with angry at this are not small minded, you are small minded and easily led to support such obvious bs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭lmk123

just pass it on 😂 contractors just pass it on to farmers who are already suffering, builders merchants just pass it in to first time home builders, builders pass it on to their customers, hauliers pass it on to shops, shops pass it on to customers. Maybe a lot of these companies are tied to agreed rates and can’t pass it on, maybe they know if they do pass it on people won’t be able to afford it. Why should it be passed on, why not pass it back and let the fu*king government reduce their take for once, there’s only so much that can be passed on because you can’t get blood from a stone. Just pass it on 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,946 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,835 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

dry evening is probably the worst thing that could have happened. There’ll be gougers with nothing better to be doing who will head into town on the off chance something kicks off.

Thanks, glad you learned something. Try and have humility next time when interacting with your neighbours when you don't know the basic facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,120 ✭✭✭endainoz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,835 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

we don’t need to agree on things but civility goes a long way.

It will be passed on/absorbed and it will be afforded, like every price increase in the history of price increases. Every single time blood from a stone has been claimed blood has indeed been produced from a stone, this will be no different.

Tell me, why have all these protesters been able to fill their vehicles with fuel and take the day off today? I'm self employed, last thing I'd be doing is taking a day off to yell at some clouds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,041 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Maybe they're like me using up fuel bought earlier in the year for a fraction of what it is now

I was being ironic, your post proved my point so there was nothing to argue with.

Very good, will you be going out of business in the near future?

Obviously you were trying, but at least you are armed with the facts now so can see the error of your ways 👍

The simple country bumpkins you were trying to elevate yourself above will be happy now that you're a bit better educated with actual fact based figures and have developed some humility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭lmk123

Firstly, increases haven’t always been absorbed, example: were house prices in the Celtic tiger simply absorbed or did we not have a recession where property (and everything else) went for a fraction of the price for years and years afterwards.

secondly: I thought this would be self explanatory but obviously not for some, they sacrificed a days work and diesel in the hopes that it would force the government to do something. Example: If they forced the government to reduce their grab on diesel by 20C/L surely you understand that the reduction would cover todays costs in a relatively short length of time.

Seriously what’s the alternative, just hand them the jar of Vaseline and tell them to drive on.

I won’t be replying to you anymore there is literally no point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,225 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I'm hearing reports that the 'protest' will be happening again tomorrow 😞

o how disappointing that must be for you and yours. those uneducated pesky country bumpkins and their diesel guzzling machines

The Government has already reduced the duty on fuel without any protest, they are already fully aware of the situation, do you think today will make a blind bit of difference?

Fuel price increases affect absolutely everyone in the country, but it's only some who seek to include 'foreigners' as to the reason.

I have utterly no idea why this is, can you explain it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Waste of time by lads who have time to waste.

No protest organizer's on the radio today, just attendees.

If ye want to protest go to the us embassy, ask them to stop the war. That's where the problem is.

Ah now that's a bit harsh. Somewhat true, but harsh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭jimjangles

Anyone know is there going to be a protest again tomorrow? Were buses delayed much does anyone know? Anyone on here get a bus? If I go to the office by bus could I be waiting hours longer to get back home? Not sure what to do tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,233 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

A truck drove very slow out the N69 this evening, at 7.15 it was on the Askeaton bypasswith a 3-4 mile tail back behind it. Another incident late this evening two trucks holding up the motorway.

People will get ded up with this sh!te very fast.

Slava Ukrainii

From what I'm reading online, yes, tomorrow will be another day of protest. Word has it they'll be doing it until the govt reopen the Stair of Hormuz. Don't try reasoning with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,749 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

100%. Only a bunch of reactive w@nkers.

Tied up a load of Guards today babysitting criminals blocking the roads. I was delayed an hour in traffic with an 85 year old woman in the car. On her way to hospital appointment but bypass completely blocked by these lightweight c#nts. Same woman just spent €1800 that she hardly had in order to order 1000 litres of kero. Everyone is getting hit hard. Wouldnt that be obvious. Would they ever f*ck off and do some work? Or block Garda stations or the Dail or an embassy. But not everyone's road. Arrogant ignorant f*ckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,233 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Would you put up information on that because my understanding is it not costing that. It a bit like lads say HAP is costing billions when its not.

My understanding is its about half that or a bit with half

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭thenuisance

You could be right. The lads who like getting their pick of runners for free could well decide to do some shopping. The guards will be well aware of that risk and I don't think that the right wing crazies that have encouraged that kind of behaviour in the past will want a protest that they probably think is advancing their cause to turn nasty. Not sure if any of the crazies have been turning up at this - I hope not.