General Race Thread 2026 **spoilers**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,796 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

When is the last time we had all 4 race a monument. I don't think it'll be so easy for Podge this time, or well I hope to see some competition against him. Redbull have a strong team backing Remco and wout and Mathieu are looking in good form.

On the other hand I do wish Podge luck in getting a clean sweep in the monuments this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,838 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Remco wasnt great in Catalunya, dont see him being in the mix at the pointy end of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,122 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

I don't think he'll be able go with Pogi when he goes for the final time, but I think he can be enough of a factor to make it interesting in parts, that the others will have to think about him.

Or, as I saw someone mention on Reddit, we'll get an all time meltdown from him and best footage of him throwing his bike in a hedge.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Jamie Meehan in action for Cofidis at Gran Premio Miguel Indurain today.

Post edited by mewso on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭cunavalos

its safe to say Remco is the fan favourite in Antwerp this morning. This rubbish photo is the closest I could get and here before 9 this morning. Beer and Europop on the go since well before 8 I would imagine.

1000020422.jpg 1000020424.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,859 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Thats exactly how I remember my trip to the Ronde. Hordes of very drunk middle aged men in puffer jackets shuffling around Oudenaarde to the soundtrack of blaring Europop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Rain, a break at five minutes, peloton split at a level crossing, race neutralization - it's all happening and it's only been going for 90 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,838 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Only tuned in again, how did this group of ~20 incuding the favourites get away?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

UAE pushed hard up the molenberg and it just happened. Perfect scenario for the main men although Wout spent some energy to get to the front and stay with them.

Pog running at 70% here and splits nearly everyone

MVDP working really hard here. Never mind today, next week the hype and spectacle could be incredible.

Fair play to Remco anyway.

MVDP not completely gone like last year though. Not over yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

MVDP riding for second all today. Some day he’ll learn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Ceepo

What in your opinion should he have done different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

Sure ya know, the lad only has a hape of monuments already, 8 time cx world champion, and all round cycling legend. Maybe you should apply to be his DS hereafter

Not give Pog a single wheel of help, allow Remco to get back on and then they could attempt to 1-2 Pog. He might have finished 3rd but he was never winning a 1 on 1 with Pog

All of that and listen to how he speaks about Pog. He doesn’t think he can beat him straight up and he’s right too

Let's see how next week goes. MVDP is still the favourite. He might not be come the weekend.

Think Pog was riding well within himself today…always so comfortable, was never in any trouble and would probbly hve been able to respond to anything and everything.

That little bit on the Paterberg where Remco was dropped was telling, Remco led on and then Pog took the front. Remco came back to the front for about 5s in either a show of strength or a last throw of the dice, and Pog just eased back ahead of him and dropped him (and nearly MVDP as well).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Ceepo

I think at best he was only going to be 2nd today. I'd be of the opinion that he's not as strong this year, judging by way he was nearly caught last week after have solo away.. I be surprised if that would have happened over the previous years. Pog was way stronger today, and that could clearly be seen when VdP and Pog were up front. Remco was gaining time back every time VdP was on the front. Honestly I couldn't see them working over Pog today. The only way Pog wasn't going to win was a mechanical or crash.

That might have happened, of course Pog is the strongest but the ONLY chance MDVP had of beating him is with help. As soon as the two went away, it was over. Him taking turns at the front only copperfastened his second place finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭sxt

Another above super human season for pogacar is incoming . A rider that can comfortably beat the best classics rider in history and is aiming to win all big classic events this year and then demolish mountain and GC specialists in grand tours. Can do it all year and win everything all season without any signs of fatigue. What he is doing is truely unbelievable . Chapeaux. What a goat

tbf to pog he has the pedigree and results from juniors, and i honestly think he is just that good, probably best of all time. If he's on the secret sauce, so are (some) of the rest, and the gap is still massive. The only stink that still lingers around him for me is Matxin.

He's now in a position where he has won nearly everything and can do what he wants racewise, he's got ~30 racedays this year - 5 monuments, the tour, wc and a few others. So can effectively tailor his whole year to 9 or 10 big days. Dont think anyone else can do that, maybe vingo but not to the same extent

In other news, no Archie Ryan for the Basque Country. Must still be injured. Shame

Ben Healy and Jamie Meehan there though. Good field overall

Still havent seen the womens race but this is impressive, 100k less be damned

His narrative style annoys me most of the time not I enjoyed Chris Horner's analysis of it last night.

Highly, highly critical of the tactics of, well, pretty much anyone not riding for UAE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,769 ✭✭✭Thud

Just before Pogi attacked up the Kwaremont from the group of 20, he changed the page on his bike computer looked left, looked right then kicked, kind of telegraphed it but not much they could do in any case

Seixas, Ayuso, Del Toro and Roglic. Should be fun hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

You can know what's coming, but, if you can't react to it then it really doesn't matter. He's the strongest in the race, he knows that and everyone else does too, telegraphing it might even be a tactic to show he knows that they can't respond even though they know what's coming!