Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,628 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

You will find most that work it out of cashflow/do not borrow, gennerally do not spend that kind of money on a tractor. They tend to have less machinery and buy more basic models.

The question is do you need a GPS spreader, is a 15k mower necessary, can a contractor do the slurry,the lad buying out of cashflow/not borrowing feels he can do without. Because of that, his output may or may not take a hit. His cell count may or may not be slightly higher.

Its the same with anything its a balancing act. There is a beef farmer near us farming over 300 acres. He keeps a few horses as well. Up until last year a Massy 390T floor change was the farm tractor. Contractor spread the slurry, silage, hedge cutting, drawing silage etc. They would have cash to burn. Son did a bit of showjumping. They bought a new 100ishHP tractor a Landini. They held onto the 390. More than likly it will be 25-30 years before they buy another.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,287 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

personally couldn’t give a shite about impressing the neighbours …or anyone .contractors do 95% slurry ,all reseeding ,silage both pit and bales .ive a new tractor,11 year old loader ,diet feeder .mower and Tedder feet spreader financed and changed every 3 years .i know the repayments every year ,very little mantinance or repairs as gear is new over last few years bought second hand auto calf feeder out of cash flow ,roofed collecting yard and reroofed round roof shed from cash flow ,also tarmac’d around house thru farm .great security in having a buffer in current account and as I’m mostly a one man show I need reliable gear to do the basics and all allowable against tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,374 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Bought keenan feeder on finance, last payment this month. Alot has changed since I bought it. Have tm125 year 2000 on it, have it since new. Bought jcb out of cash flow 3 years ago. Just loan on milking parlour here now, other loan for cubicle shed was covered by illness benefit. Bought a fill of green and a years worth of fertiliser. Holiday booked to recharge for a few days. Might look at a new fertiliser spreader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭mengele

I don't have anything on finance. But what is the difference between a farm loan and finance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,628 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It can be for the same purpose. Finance is usually easier to get as the provider hasa lein over the product and can take it back fairly fast. A farm loan is a personal loan usially unless secured on the farm. A farm loan is harder compared to finance

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭visatorro

Dont think there's a right or wrong answer about finance. Whatever suits as long as you don't go too mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Arm Wax

i changed the tractor during the week got it with a loan ,she will do me until i retire money was crazy with my tractor ,but what am i working for i have even more comfort now ,i have very little repayments before hand and i know the repayment capacity of my operation every year,i have no one coming after me so my retirement plan is to sell the ground and go see some of the world , i dont give one fiddlers what any one else thinks or says i just get on with my own life spend my own money the way i want and on who i want, rant over……..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Dunedin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Was at a new entrants meeting with tirlan earlier in the week where they had a lending specialist there doing a talk and answering our questions.One thing he pointed out was how some farmers are inclined to kill there cash flow by spending there own cash as opposed to borrowing for the likes of infrastructure or genetics.

The Fact that banks aren't particularly helpful would be a major flaw in all this. It'd be a very long time before I'd approach a bank for a loan ever again. Nearly killed me the last time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭ginger22

He would wouldn't. Thats how he makes his living, getting comission on every victim he signs up.

Out of interest were there many new entrants interested and are you going to go with tirlan?

He was from an accountancy company not lending company..no skin in the game from what we could see

Was probably 12 of us there,half were in their 1st year milking already the rest were looking at setting up in the next year or 2.Goin with tirlan simply as they are the only ones collecting in my area.There is 1 big Stratroy supplier but when I enquired they weren't too clear how collections would work out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,885 ✭✭✭straight

Why wait. Travelling isn't the easiest thing to do when your old. I spent alot of money travelling and on fast women. I wasted the rest. 😉

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I ve noticed a trend lately when I ring up to pay a bill that they will ask how much will you pay off and are almost shocked when you say you ll clear it all.

Just a few figures its very hard to get money at 4% or less. Lontwrm is 15 years unless a mortgage, most finance us 5 or 7 years. There is certain structured pacages for machinery.

For every 100k @5% borrowed over 15 years repayments are 9.2k a year

For every 50k borrowed @7% over 7 years is 9.3k a year.

For every 50k borrowed @7% over7 years repayments are 11.8k.

If you had 100k long term and 100k ahort term, 50 over 5 years and 50 over 7 years your repayments are about 30k a year. Over 80 cows its 375 per cow. T its 2.5k a month that has to be found every months

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Same here.

There’s a few signs of recession out there but I’ve no idea how that’ll affect farm gate price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,127 ✭✭✭pureza

I’d be thinking the tick down in production in Australia and New Zealand that’s bound to come as their supply dependence on the Middle East bites much worse than with us,will help Agricultural prices in Ireland and the EU,especially dairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

Right or wrong I finance most things here as much as possible, but aim to pay them down a lot quicker than the repayment plan. Between that and farming in a Ltd company it’s allowing us great flexibility in terms of what to do with any surplus cash in the business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭mf240

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

thats fine for you.. you have a son that is a genius at fixing tractors and machinery… im guessing Mahoney_J doesnt..

the tractor we bought at the end of 2022 was 150k but you said it to me yourself that it was a tractor that we needed… it'll be paid for next year or the year after.. have to say the loan is not causing me too many sleepless nights..

each to their own really on the finance v cashflow.. but with the inflation we are having with past few yrs id be leaning towards finance…

€270k @ 4.49% over 15 years costs €2065 per month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I’d have very little here without the help of loans and finance. I don’t regret any of them. Has helped us put in good facilities and buy good machinery to do our work with peace of mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 mike3215

Would have done both from cashflow and lending over the years. And still have borrowings. Find with machinery,a deprecating asset best to buy as you can afford it. May leave you tight for a month or two but free again after it. A lot of freedom when you don't have payments to make to justify a machine. Borrowing for land makes more sense in my opinion as although it may fluctuate its floor value will always be substantial. I find it similar to all the new suvs on finance outside any school. As soon as the payments are cleared most jump on the train again. If your willing to pay interest for the luxury of finance I find it hard to justify how you wouldn't have the funds amassed in the 3 to 5 years previously or else wait that time and buy straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,287 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

just from reading this last few days …we all have our own ways of financing things …would the lads doing lots out of cash flow without insulting anyone be in late 40z 50s plus with mortgage cleared ,kids reared and no parents to support 🤔🤔🤔.like grass to milk and others here I wouldn’t be where I am now without finance …there is great security in a healthy bank balance even with loans which most structure in a way it leaves them financially stable .im mix 40s wife works we have a mortgage ,kids who havnt hit college yet and I’ve a mother to support …that’s even before mentioning the farm …I’ve been in debt since I took over the farm in 2010 and will be ongoing

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

It's like credit and debit cards.if you have money you should use a credit card but if you dont have the money you should stick with the debit card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Problem is to avoid tax you have to borrow heavily cus of drpreciation.This leads to cashflo problems in dowbturn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭ginger22

Ther is a fear of you after that ball of money you made last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,885 ✭✭✭straight

I like the look and sound if this yoke. I am approve for a grant for a robot scraper but when the salesman came out I discovered that it is actually very limited imo. This machine would be way more useful and versatile I think.

Heitrac livestock machinery for sale, used Heitrac livestock machinery | Agroline Ireland https://share.google/giNWTgcYPiiuWlxIW

Connacht agri are selling them.German engineering.