Clampdown on TV 'Dodgy Boxes'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,825 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

When you think about it for more than a minute, ensuring more than 1 broadcaster has to show games to aid "competition" is a nonsense. All it means is that the existing broadcaster (sky) can keep charging what they were, and now people have to pay a second broadcaster. The only way that you could force competition would be selling the same package to 2 providers so then there is genuine choice - which would never happen in the sports rights market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

Ok having spent the morning trying to nail full coverage from the States of PL via Peacock & Sling I can finally say I’ve done it.

Got Blue package on Sling added to my Peacock.

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

If he's a good member of the local GAA club, he'll walk out with 15 minutes community service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,901 ✭✭✭jmcc

NIS-2 is an EU directive. It is meant to be transposed into national laws of the member states. Most EU countries have already transposed it into their national laws. I think that Ireland, France and Germany missed the 2024 deadline. I didn't mention Ireland in my post above.

As for modem/routers, they often run DNS forwarding/proxy software to forward DNS queries to the designated ISP DNS or another public DNS. Some modem/routers also have lightweight DNS software that acts in conjunction with the DHCP server used to allocate IP addresses on its local network. Then there are also businesses and individuals run their own DNS. There are even websites hosted on broadband IPs. They sometimes use dynamic DNS services to map their domain name or URL to their broadband hosted web server. These locally run DNSes may not be authoritative for domain names. The imprecise nature of the NIS-2 legislation and the requirements that the DNS operator be identifiable and contactable. If nobody outside the business or that indivdual's home network is aware of a DNS running, then how does that work?

There was a sensible amendment proposed by a Dutch MEP It would clarified some of the issues. Unfortunately, it was not passed. NIS-2 was, in part, meant to fix some of the problems of NIS-1 and the damage caused by GDPR to the safety of the Web and the Internet. Most gTLD domain names and many ccTLD domain names have no public ownership or contact details and much of that is down to GDPR. Some domain name registrars took the opportunity provided by GDPR to completely redact all ownership and contact details. Even solar panels on a householder's roof may be considered as critical national infrastructure under NIS-2.

NIS-2 has requirements for the registrants of domain names to be known and contactable. At a ccTLD level that is largely possible because most of the ccTLD registries maintain a database of the registrants. With gTLDs (.COM/etc), there is no such centralised database and each registrar maintains their own list of customers.People in the EU do register domain names with gTLD registrars (the companies licenced by ICANN to register domain names for their customers) outside the EU.

Post edited by jmcc on

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,338 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The Indo with a new piece today. Nearly have a new one each day.

This time, shock horror, some guards have "dodgy boxes".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Comhrá

This time, shock horror, some guards have "dodgy boxes".

Imagine that!

The Indo talked to people using dodgyboxes? That's new.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭jj880

They reckon Dunbar's end users will be getting cease and desist letters or court.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,621 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

They are laying it on thick.

Inside Sky’s war on dodgy boxes: ‘A member of the family who is a garda has one – half the station has them’

https://www.independent.ie/business/technology/inside-skys-war-on-dodgy-boxes-a-member-of-the-family-who-is-a-garda-has-one-half-the-station-has-them/a677957927.html

How long before some entity give us a back door into the indo. Writing on one hand that after an initial 47/ month for a SKY package it rises to 107/ month after 12 months and addind Disney, Netflixs and other subscriptions costs another 73 euro. The writing that consumers using Dodgy boxes costi g 80-160/year have no recourse if anything goes wrong.

🤣🤣🤣

Weckler must be on a retainer or something. He is on some crusade or else he lost his true vocation he should be writing comedy

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

The Indo is a rag. It's a glorified tabloid.

Not just Weckler, it took 2 "journos" to write this piece.

There is a potential problem with trying to portray dodgyboxes as "protection-defeating devices" under legislation. Unless they access Sky directly and remove Sky's protection from the encrypted broadcast or service, they may not strictly be protection-defeating devices. The protection is arguably removed by the dodgybox network operator with a number of "official" subscriptions to Sky. That reduces to a question about the rights being infrigned.

With soccer and other sporting events, the position for Sky is even more difficult if a foreign broadcast is being used. The legislation on operators and sellers is clearer than that on end-users.

Regards…jmcc

What if you say you don't watch football on Sky, but on Bein Sports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Judging by conversations with users of the illegal streaming devices and posts on online discussion forums, the overwhelming view is that firing up the dodgy box to watch bootlegged versions of Sky’s Premier League football matches or the latest HBO Max drama The Pitt is a victimless crime.

Weckler is reading this thread.

Everybody say Hi Adrian!!!! 😂

Best to get a legal opinion on that. Also, I don't think that Bein Sports has the rights for Ireland. The Internet has essentially shown the limitations of the fragmented rights model.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,621 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nowso

he must be getting free sky sports for the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,825 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I guess sky have an argument if you're watching a game that they (or TNT) are covering. But if it's one of the 3pm games that isn't on premier then it's a different argument - this is a game that is otherwise unavailable in the UK & Ireland so who is losing money from you watching that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭seanin4711

Shill can be a mighty touchy word round these parts. Some have speculated that all the advertising cash the Indo makes from Sky ads could be related to the frequency and sensationalist content of these dodgy box articles from Weckler. Others have said its a straight forward case of what topic gets the most readers for the Indo.

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It is no surprise to me that journalist can find out about Gardai owning dodgy boxes. Lots of people on this thread know about it. Three examples from 2024.

"If they were to start going after end users it would open up a can of worms. The local gardas all have them. Solicitors I know have them. Won't happen. Gardai don't have the resources or appetite to start chasing lads who have access to Sky Sports for a cheaper rate. And why would they. Let Sky paddle their own canoe. Cnuts."

"Just got word from my provider that he is increasing prices by 10euro a connection per year going forward. The cheek of him!!I ordered another two. 4 Firesticks in total now across the house. Also referred some mates to the same provider. Literally 90 percent of the people I know in both a work and personal context are using IPTV. These lads range from the very wealthy to tradesmen and Gardai. IPTV only seems to be growing stronger. It;s here to stay thankfully."

"anyone that thinks that the guards/sky/government will go after end users is clearly a bit simple.. they have only ever targeted the resellers. Mine is out of the jurisdiction as are the servers. It’s a game of whack-a-mole that the providers keep winning. They would be prosecuting themselves as a large proportion of the serving guards I know are all users of IPTV lol"

🤣🤣🤣

Is that hack from the Indo getting his information from this thread? 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭Homelander

Just heard Paul Murphy on the radio saying that Sky should stop all this because they're going after the least well off, most vulnerable people in Irish society who cannot afford TV otherwise 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

So is Conor Pope.

Paul Murphy is a dose. I wouldn't pay much attention to him.

More Garda stories from the thread.

"I looked into getting a dodgy box. I found out that 2 suppliers in my local area were actually Gardai."

"I was away at the weekend. My local pub has a golf society, and we get an away outing out of it every summer. Anyways we’re all sitting down to pints after the round Saturday and the topic of dodgy boxes comes up, as it was prominently in the news over the weekend. Only 3 lads out of about 25 didn’t have at least one, and that’s because (by their own admission) too auld to know how to use it. And out of the 20 odd that did have them, 3 were members of An Garda Síochána! I’m not exactly sure what legal route Sky are hoping to follow with their inquiry, but I’m not sure how much support on the ground it’ll receive from the people that are meant to implement it!"

"We use a vpn for wfh. They are a fully legit. Isp will never block. Why would they? That would be like saying if a burglar uses Dublin bus to travel to areas to rob houses that dublin bus are somehow complicit. Ffs. Any paid iptv provider will more than likely be using routing on their end anyway to hide or mask the traffic. You will never see users of these subs in court. Sure loads of gardai and solicitors are using them."

Weckler laying on the death stare here in a strong opening 30 seconds of threats!

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

I have an amazon firestick not a dodgy box