Boards is better than Reddit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Tacitus Kilgore DCLXVI

Slight exaggeration but an example would be...they are buying a house, and asking about social housing 5km from there house and they are wondering could they be murdered.

I get the impression that a lot of people posting that stuff on Reddit are younger, middle class people who have picked up stereotypes of working class areas/people from their parents. You can see it any time they start going on about working class areas of Dublin (or former working class areas, because they are usually unfamiliar with the areas they are talking about) as if they're active warzones. They tend to rehash stereotypes of these places that might have rung true in the 70s or 80s hence me thinking they're just regurgitating what their parents/family say about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭littlefeet

Yes of course, but it's one reflection of an anxious and competitive society, and maybe a sign they get all their information online and rarely go out and test the reality of the ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,862 ✭✭✭touts

I find it to be awful. The same articles from the Irish times or the indo seem to get posted over and over by bot accounts looking to karma farm. It's all about how shite Ireland is and it's clear many of the regulars, including moderators, have never set foot in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,395 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I just scroll quickly through Reddit Ireland, its main use is a headline aggregator - but a lot of it is very repetitive, predictable stuff.

Sometimes I look at the comments: there's a lot of noise in there, sometimes good stuff rises to the top, but a lot of it is just incoherent rubbish and you do notice the generation gap at times: stuff you just assumed everyone knew of, or was aware had happened, is often relayed - and responded too - like a little known fact.

It's fine, but boards is superior in some ways: but boards is being left to wither away and die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭littlefeet

I was beginning to wonder if maybe the paranoia wasn't as bad as it seemed, so I had another look at Reddit. I came across a gem of paranoia to do with South County Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭sporina

i use to love boards but then the vanilla thing happened and its gone from bad to worse..

a ghost town now..

Reddit is now my go to..

took me while to get use to it, but now I love it..

and have gotten loads of info on a number of topics there over the last few mths..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,544 ✭✭✭✭fits

I despise Reddit. Deleted the app a few weeks ago and don’t miss it at all.

Paid account on boards with no ads is good. Yeah there could be more posters but I think people will come back. I’ve said before I’m happy to pay for a chronological, algorithm and ad free service.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Boards is very dublin based perhaps south dublin based. Whereas reddit is more national. Perhaps there is a little paranoia about south dublin for that reason.

People complain about lack of posters. But I mean boards is really just people from dublin and doesnt try to appeal outside of that. And virtually no one from outside ireland .

I dont think one is so much better they are just diff.

rarely use either???

you have 0000s of posts on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,395 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I've never got the sense that boards is "really just people from Dublin" - yes, there's a lot of people from Dublin here, but I'm not from Dublin and I haven't felt like an outlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Butterbeans

Just wondering why you think Boards is South County Dublin orientated? I've been on and off Boards for over 10 years, mostly a reader. I don't live in Dublin, I'm not from Dublin, and it's never something that jumped out at me. Now my go to forums would be athletics and GAA, which wouldn't be Dublin centric but I read a broad range of threads on here.

I'm just interested in your reasoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,544 ✭✭✭✭fits

it isn’t Dublin centric at all! Maybe it’s the forums you go to.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

you left that bit out - i recognised your name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

Sir Paul McCartney personally posted some pics from one of his latest intimate concerts and got banned in Reddit, scarlet for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TerrieBootson

The clear out looks like it was a good thing. The expelled are in discussions.ie still pandering their shuttered views but now only to each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,149 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Did they go to the effort of setting up a replacement home again? After GUBU died.

GUBU was a few serially banned posters whining about here and no other content. Unfortunately not all the serially banned posters went there.

Much of the threads starting on boards are copied directly from reddit.

**** him. Advertising is chargeable just like here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

15,477 posts since May 2019.

1st May 2019 was 2,526 days ago.

That's an AVERAGE of more than 6 posts per day, every day, for almost 7 years straight.

"Rarely use either" is a flat out lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,684 ✭✭✭✭Necro

I don't know where you get these nonsensical ideas from, honestly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,684 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Oh they did. I'm very popular over there😂 A 'cancer' I believe one poster called me. Haven't looked myself but did see screenshots sent on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭uggybear2

Reddit is a strange place. I posted a simple question to do with an Irish tea brand and just wanted to know what people thought of it on an Irish subreddit - it was called 'McEntee's, if anyone wants to know - and got downvoted. It probably was because it wasn't Barry's or Lyons(!) 😜.
    I read this interesting article a few months back as to why Reddit has, what I'd like to call, a 'marmite effect' (some people like it, some don't). It is paywalled btw:
    How the biggest social media apps use envy and shame to keep you hooked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

Honestly it's full of neckbeards and internet hardmen. It's its own echo chamber and think it represents the pulse of the Irish people. Now boards once thought that too but most on here realised it far from it over the years "boards isn't real life" was a saying I remember.

Now let me preface, I know the entire country wasn't in support of the protests and some people had good points.

But I was lurking and you'd swear the entire Irish people was against the protests they way the comments were going. There was lots of them talking about wanting the Gardai to crack skulls etc. As different opinion polls started coming in from the likes of the journal, then Irish Examiner, etc showing a good chunk of the nations was in support it was all dismissed.

I don't believe either it's a case of the Reddit types are out of touch dubs, I think it's more personality type that's drawn to there tbh.

There was post in the Dublin sub Reddit calling the protestors far right while simultaneously saying a few molotovs being thrown at tractors would sort it out. Absolutely nuts.

Then they said even a general protest on the cost of living wouldn't have support and Reddit poll went 60%+ in support of such a thing, I'm assuming lurkers. But they just kept spamming it's only the far right and ignorant culchies etc.

We all have our own echo chambers but the Irish subs really went hardcore government support for the protests.

Now I know there was lot of genuine anti protest people who made good arguments in a sane way, but also I wonder if there is something to the claims young FF and FG swarm there when necessary to skew in the governments direction.

I mean if other groups the world over do it I can't see why the government wouldn't.

love boards - loads of users

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,422 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It sounds like you're pushing a biased narrative in favour of the protesters here. Your echo chamber claim is based on the fact that people are overwhelmingly critical of the protestors, a claim for which you've no evidence.

The main Ireland subreddit can be a mopey place at times but it's much better than it's UK counterpart which is a properly nasty, miserable place. I quite like the Ireland sub as it has a bit of fun in it and it's a lot less of an echo chamber than some threads here.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,156 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Can't dispute your thesis OP cos I've been perma-nanned from there for no good reason?

Anyone know any mods there you could put me in contact with to help me out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,177 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Neither of them are much good these days.

Does any person under 30 even know what Boards is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Alfaguy

I am enjoying it here so far now that I have been expelled from elsewhere. The motors / motorbikes section is a bit weak alright but I will soon fix that.

Anyway life is not all about cars / motorbikes and this place broadens the mind a bit beyond that.