2026 F1 General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭sk8board

will that mean quali times might be slower? But on the flip side the drivers will go harder on fast corners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,740 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I began reading that in hope of a drop to 0mj and 4 extra cylinders but alas...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,264 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 62,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Alarm set for practice tonight, going to try watch as much as possible given the cancellations

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Just quali and the race for me this weekend, not looking forward to either tbh. Even with the last minute rule change to reduce the amount of energy that has to be harvested, it’s still going to be painful watching them trundle around one of the best tracks in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,750 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Honestly, if they upped the power from the ICE to about 750hp, these things would be insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,575 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Probably nothing for me, at a stag. Here's hoping for a borefest if I do miss it…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,264 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

What a selfish thing to say.

You will have 4 weeks to watch it. So what if you miss one race live. Its bound to happen at least once now as there is almost a race every other weekend and people who have a life well then its enevitable that your going to miss a race or 2 maybe even 3 or 4.

Watching the highlights of FP1. I don't think this race is going to be boring . Anything but.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,304 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Ferrari being so far off the Merc and McLarens in FP2 painting a poor picture, as against FP1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭rameire

The f1 Japanese thread is open, so ye all know.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Hijpo

I dont even like the intro on Sky F1 anymore.

The music seems girly and pop like the WSL intros and the graphics are all bubbly and cartoony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

How long was George Russells new contract for?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Never explicitly made public but apparently a 1+1 deal with performance clauses to trigger that second year for 2027. You’d imagine he’ll meet those clauses with how strong the Merc is this year, and in a similar way I’d imagine Max’s exit clause will trigger considering how poor his car is - I think he has to be top 3 by the summer for Red Bull to hold onto him. But would he even jump ship to Mercedes considering he hates this new rule set? Assuming Toto still wanted him and was willing to pay Russell to get rid of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭RoryMac

I'd imagine Mercedes could sweeten a deal for Max with some commitment to help out with the GT3 side of it. Maybe back him to get a team of his own up and running once his contract runs out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,094 ✭✭✭✭flazio

It's been a strong start for Antonelli but it was also a strong start for Piastri this time last year and look how that played out. I doubt we'll have "Silver rules" or equivalent but I'm still skeptical Kimi can maintain this for long enough. (Watch this get quoted in November)

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,800 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I don't see Max moving to Merc. Unless theres changes I think hes more likely to do a Montoya and leave F1 mid 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Jaffa3000

Antonelli only won today courtesy of a safety car and would've likely been third otherwise

they already do that - Verstappen has a fully fledged team of his own ‘Verstappen Racing’, and they use a Mercedes amg gt3 car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,750 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

IMG_0808.jpeg

Will the FIA admit they’ve gotten this all wrong?

Stale qualifying and a massive crash in one weekend. And they knew all about this.

I can see Toto digging in for minimal changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

I am fairly new to f1 only in the last 2 years.

I know about the rule changes but why is the bearman crash such a big deal?

also what is 130R?

The speed differential between the 2 cars would not have happened under the previous regulations.

130R is the fast left hander before the final 2 corners in Suzuka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Schorpio

Hard to know, but I don't think so.

Kimi had serious pace in clear air. I think he averaged half a second on Piastri every lap. With that kind of pace advantage, it's hard to see how Oscar could have held him back. (Obviously he lucked out to get there, but them's the breaks.)

Palmer said on F1TV that he would have loved to have seen how the race played out without the safety car, and I fully agree.

George was not representative of Mercedes car performance today. I've seen some discussion online that other teams have caught up. The first two rounds, and his teammate's performance, give me no comfort that that is the case.

whichever Mercedes was leading and in clear air would've won the race - simply because the other merc was in traffic and losing massive amounts of time.

If there was no safety car, Antonelli was in traffic and Russell was clear.

Antonelli was 14sec clear at the line 😳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

No matter how good you are, you need luck to win a championship and Antonelli's putting himself in the position to get the rub of the green at the moment.

Russell had the same pace on Sunday (if not better). After the start Russell did a much better job of getting through the traffic. Antonelli was stuck behind the Leclerc and Norris until around lap 15.

Overtaking was just very hard yesterday because the new regs are awful.

Teams haven’t caught up to Mercedes 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭RoryMac

I've seen a few drivers mention this over the weekend, Norris, Lawson and I think Max.

Is the boost done without their input?

I remember in testing there was some talk of it, along with the active aero, but I kinda forgot about it until this weekend

I know why fans of any sport say luck is somehow involved, but in reality it has absolutely nothing to do with luck. The safety car happened because of a specific reason, and had a varying effect on all 22 drivers.

No one winning a 23 race championship got lucky!

A safety car coming out at an opportune time is luck every day of the week.

such a bizarre statement - the safety car came out because Bearman crashed.

Wherever the 21 cars were on track at that time has nothing to do with luck.

Seriously lads. Next we’ll be giving Russell back some points because of how unlucky he is 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,304 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Yes, Bearman crashed for reasons. Yes, where a car is at a given point is not luck. How those two variables intersect, is luck. Kimi didn't chose to stay out until Bearman crashed.

How that impacted any given driver, as it was a situation that was entirely out of their control, was luck. If the same crash happens lap ealier, the impact is different per driver. And the race scenario completely changing in, or out of, your favour when you had no impact on the reasons for it, it luck.