Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,694 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Is there anything interesting on today,challenge matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Plenty u16 hurling in morning and football matches in afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ashtalk94

Jj's hook on callanan in 2014 was bravery, Colin Fennelly putting his head in to block a lad in 2011 the same thing, this will be my last point, because someone said it shows a lack of genuine knowledge by blaming certain players. I have been watching Kilkenny play for the past 30 years, and the one thing I have learned about the great kk team in the noughties was that All Irelands will always be one by the team that works the hardest, that does the simple things right. I don't believe deegan is up to selected on the team because he simply Will not tackle a player and struggles against even the least frightening of forwards. It has nothing to do with his legs. And I am well aware this will not stop Lyng from picking him, but I feel we are not getting anywhere with having him on defence.

Doing the same thing and expecting a different result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭neverbet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Why do people keep comparing player's on this kk team to the noughties team? Its pointless, like comparing man utd of today to fergies all conquering team of the 90s and 2000s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭babyjesus14

I do my best to try and avoid getting into slagging matches about the relative merits of individual player because it's very disrespectful and in most cases completely idiotic. Paddy Deegan is in his 10th season on the Kilkenny panel under two different managers and he's been pretty much an ever present, so i guess he must have something going for him. If the stick you are using to beat Paddy Deegan is that he's no JJ Delaney, well then it's a pretty sh**** stick you are holding.

It's rather amusing that someone should equate JJ's hook on Seamus Callanan in 2014 as an act of "bravery" when the man himself a few months later after he retired in an interview on "off the ball" specifically mentioned that incident as an indicator that his legs were gone and it was time to get out…. at the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Charlie69

The irony of an anonymous keyboard warrior thinking they’re some kind of an authority on bravery…. you couldn’t make this s**t up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭therealdonster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Firstsub

Just wondering. Players make a huge commitment as it is without using up part of their annual leave for training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

This thread could really do with a 'down vote' button...

It might stop those with the Deegan obssession posting continously the same sh1te again, and again , and again ....

Fcuking echo chamber of oral scutter ....

Give it a rest....

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Village87

Then why bring it up again and refuel the subject. It was brought up again yesterday and very little response. Little more to be said on it

**** boring weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Anyone see the new rules on dissent? I've a few friends who are going to struggle to keep their traps shut around refs now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Village87

Plenty to moan about, no all Ireland in 11 years and plenty of positions sleeping at the wheel to get us in this mess both on and off the pitch

I know one of the four-in-a-row team quite well and i was recently slagging him off accusing him and his colleagues of ruining Kilkenny hurling by winning too much and thus spawning a support base of moaning self entitled muppets!

In fairness, and I've been defending lyng this year because I think a rebuild requires patience not flying off the handle when we lose a league match in March, BUT whether we won that four in a row or not, kilkenny fans do expect to win all Irelands and what's more, they should expect it. Hurling is a crucial part of who we are, I would say moreso than in any other county. High expectations come with the territory, and I do think we are being asked to expect and accept mediocrity, particularly off the pitch. We aren't putting our players in the best position to win right now. Everyone has a different theory about why, but surely we can all see that much.

Jaysus a weekend without hurling does put us back on the roundabout didn't it?

You’re spot on, the poster from earlier today citing some of our current players lack of certain qualities said he’d been watching Kilkenny for 30 years, which is basically from the start of the Cody era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

The Cody era was exceptional especially the 4 in a row. But we are the most successful County in hurling and we had being quite successful in the previous decades. So standards need to be high. If we as supporters accept less soon enough we will be also rans for a long long time. Change needs to happen from the top. If the people at the top accept where we are now then we are finished. The Cody era and hurling before it is well and truly gone. Hurling has changed but especially the prep and analysis and money. We are a small county with limited money but we always have been.

IMO we need to play hurling to suit the players we have. No point playing the short game if they are not comfortable with it. No point hitting balls to the full forward line if they cant win ball. So management need to work on a style to suit the crop of players we have. We have decent hurlers and have only being beaten by the winners for last few years. So its not all gloom.

I have being critical of Lyng and rightly so. What i expect this year looking back on the last 2 years is better in game management and a 20 man squad. He needs to have 5 players that can come off the bench and make a differnce. The modern game is gone that way that if you dont have a bench you wont win IMO no matter what style of hurling you play.

I agree with pretty much everything you’re saying there , we should never accept mediocrity and our players deserve have the facilities available to them to give them the same chance as other counties and it definitely doesn’t seem to be the case at the moment.

I’d also say though that the success we experienced under Brian Cody wasn’t normal , eleven all Ireland titles in fifteen years was just ridiculous really and younger supporters who grew up during that period can’t expect us to sustain that level indefinitely. I agree that we should expect a certain degree of success though and as the most successful hurling county we should absolutely always be competitive and pushing for Leinster and All-Ireland titles but all counties go through lean periods and expectations need to be realistic.

More importantly some posters need to understand that there’s no justification for having a go at the current crop of players because they’re not JJ Delaney or Henry Shefflin . I know it’s only a minority but it’s galling to read some of the stuff (and I know I’m sometimes too quick to take the bait )but these lads are putting in the same effort and giving the same commitment as our past legends and not being as talented as players we’ve had in the past doesn’t make them any less deserving of our support and it certainly doesn’t warrant the kind of slating or disrespect you sometimes see here and elsewhere.

I agree that we are proud hurling people but we’re also fickle when it comes to showing our players support at matches and we have been poor in recent years when it comes to following the team. I know we’ve been starved of success recently relative to what we’re used to and thats why people don’t travel,but if anything thats when backing them matters most. That’s what real support is all about.

Edit…. @Realt Dearg Sec …. None of the above was in reference to you btw

Post edited by Charlie69 on

Agree with all of that, yeah. In particular that we are not good supporters, on the whole. And I don't think we can blame the jack of success either, we weren't even good supporters during the four in a row! People talk about population and that is a factor, but that doesn't account for it all imo. And more to the point, the fans that are there are often so, so quiet. I just don't know what the issue is, or how you fix it. I normally say it's not a popularity contest so who cares, but it must annoy players sometimes to see our so badly outnumbered at matches. Would do no harm to address that issue and do so I'm a way that doesn't start by blaming the fans and giving out about (even though that's what I just did...)

Agreed. How many times have we been outnumbered in our own ground?…. that must be soul destroying for our players. I was at the minor final a couple of years ago in Nowlan park and we were so outnumbered it was embarrassing. I’m certain the vocal Tipp support carried those 13 Tipperary chaps to victory on the night. If we don’t turn up for an All Ireland final in our own field against our biggest rivals then we never will.
    Does this affect players thinking who turn down invites onto county panels? … I honestly don’t know.

Have to say this is a major bug bearer of mine too, and i know far a fact that the players are aware of it too because i have have spoken to one of them about it.

I had a funny incident at the match down in Limerick, one of Eoin Cody's points in the first half where Rory Garrett won the ball in the right corner and we worked it down the pitch through about 4 or 5 players and Cody slotted it over from the right wing. I let a roar out of me and this Limerick lady a few rows in front of me looked around as if she was after coming across an endangered species, the lesser spotted Kilkenny supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Anyone know why kk don’t have a masters hurling team ? I see plenty of other counties seen to have one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭hogans heroes

My first all ireland was 1972 when we had Keher Delaney Purcell Henderson Fan etc etc .we have always had good players and we still have now.Agree with the poster above who said we need to play our best players in their best positions and play a style that suits them.playing short with the wind in galway was shocking. Pick.our best and play to their strengths .

just heard the fixtures for the U20’s. Away to Kildare next Saturday, away to Wexford and lastly at home to Galway.

Even our hardcore support of about 5,000 at an away league match is gone down a lot. I think myself there is a few ways to bring it back. We have to start winning again or at least performing we need floodlighting to bring the crowd to Saturday night matches and the socialising after it and weekend trips away should be encouraged with the help of local hotels and clubs playing challenge matches in the different counties on alternate years and build up something, it’s like GAA tourism. A few years past we had some sessions in West Belfast (second capital), Cork (third capital ) Ennis, Galway even Tralee in the bad old days, TV is a handy cop out although in the last few months I was glad of that coverage, but I can tell you honestly there is nothing like been there.

Oh tell me about it, I'm gone from Ireland over ten years now and I miss going to matches more than nearly anything. When I first got here gaago didn't exist yet and to watch the 2015 final I had to drive nearly a hundred miles to be in a pub. Fantastic now to be able to get out of bed and watch the league matches but you'd miss the routine of heading in, then off to the nore bar for a few pre dinner pints.