F1 2026 - Round 3 - Japan - Suzuka 🇯🇵

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

It looks like it. As was mentioned, the harvesting is going to cause multiple accidents like this through the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,302 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

"Can you confirm that Kimi is going to go in the place we trained?"

"Not sure George"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,302 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

The elevation difference between entry into Spoon and exit is massive, or so it looked from that camera angle a min ago, awesome!

Hamilton passes Russell on the restart.

There is nothing really happeneing here…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭TheRona

Did Russell deploy power in a different part of the track and end up shooting himself in the foot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,750 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Proper racing from the Ferraris.

Lewis used up a mushroom there cruising back past Norris.

After a horrendous start, Antonelli really has checked out after that rub of the green with the safety car timing.

Incredibly lucky Kimi was but Piastri’s had no answer since the restart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Jaffa3000

Dreadful race ruined even more by the safety car

Well yes the Mercedes will hammer every other car in a time trial but over taking essentially wasn’t possible due to battery overtaking

Well at least we got one genuine overtake in that race - a beauty from Leclerc around the outside of Russell in turn one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

Yeah, I don't know what I'm watching most of the time. The battery world Championship indeed.

Did Piastri just reference a mushroom there in the cool down room? 😂

That’s gas, no champagne for Kimi as he’s underage. 😁😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,125 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Always nice to see 3 different constructors on the podium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭swiwi_

if you don’t like it stop watching lads. Or write a strongly worded letter. 5 weeks or so to next race there’ll be further improvements. Good to see mclaren back into the mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Busman Paddy Lasty

There was some great overtakes and lots if close running. Max addressing a snap chasing Gasly for the line.

Mercedes' super mushroom 🍄 is gone, the other teams have developed rapidly. Mclaren successfully turned it off and back on again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,800 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Some of us aren’t bandwagon fans and have been watching this brilliant sport a long time, through good times and bad. Just because I don’t like the current over reliance on EV shite, because it’s not real racing, doesn’t mean I’ll stop watching or not voice criticism where it’s due. If you don’t want to read it, the ignore button is your friend. 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Im a Max fan, but it was good to see Stone Cold Oscar Piastri back..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,048 ✭✭✭✭PsychoPete

A pretty rubbish race to watch, hopefully this 5 week break will bring some teams closer

I don't know what the fix is.

We had 3 teams on the podium, and then their other cars following in the same order down to 6th.

Nice to see what looked like a Merc domination has been reigned in a little bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,659 ✭✭✭Harika

Entertaining race, camera got barely away from the top 6, so not much insight what was going on behind. Aston Martin finished yay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭swiwi_

I don’t generally put people on ignore except the weirdos in the Trump and Ukraine threads. Some people are just never happy. There was moaning last season and there’s moaning this season. The drivers might complain but there’s no way they are giving up their F1 seats just like you’ll keep watching.

You can't ignore the glaring problems with these new regulations. The Bearman accident was predicted a long way off. Watching cars charge their batteries through 130R so they have enough energy to deploy on the straight is not F1. The overtaking is artificial and the races sterile. That's simply a fact.

Hopefully they figure it out because there are some positives, such as how closely the cars are able to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭sk8board

one thing that these first 3 races has confirmed is that if you’re in a battle you lose significant lap time.

Antonelli would've won the race either way, but with all 5 cars behind him involved in battles, he deployed energy in all the right places and lapped quicker than everyone else. It’s an artificial advantage.

as Bernie said “if you touch a button on the steering wheel in the wrong place, you’re lapping slower”. Presumably that’s what caught out Russell when Hamilton went past him - even the commentary momentarily thought he had a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭TheRona

One thing I wonder is whether two teammates could actively chase down another car by working together to boost past each other on alternating laps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Gasly in the points again. He's having a great start to the season.