Is it possible to register an old compact tractor (20hp) for road use?

• 25-03-2026 03:00PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,739 ✭✭✭

I can't imagine this would be easy and probably not possible without original documents?

I'm thinking of getting a compact tractor and while I've no need to take it on the road it would be handy if I could register it, tax and insure it for road use. What I'm thinking of getting will be second hand and never been on the road.

Any advice - even don't waste your time might be useful advice :-)

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭148multi

YYou will need an invoice showing year of manufacture, hp, make and colour

IIf that is not sufficient, a writing from a dealer of that make with the above details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,739 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Well the blows up the idea of a cash deal ;-)

So how much work is it if I get that info?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,595 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Would it need to meet the rules of the road? Lights, indicators, cab or rollbar etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,757 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Be simpler to get a MF20 or 35.

I had thought of that but its for a garden I don't need anything bigger than an old Kubota B6000 but maybe a bit more power would be nice for a rough mower of some kind. A lawn tractor and hitch just isn't up to the job.

Garden is however 2 acres and I hope to add a couple more acres to that.

Main use would be pulling a trailer as its far easier to load it up with everything you need and then have the trailer for rubbish.

Can't easily get a lorry into the yard so also handy for off loading one tonne bags onto a trailer out on the road. Because of that I'd get a trailer capable of handling at least one and a half tonnes.

It would also be used for mowing a path a mile or so up through the valley for dog walking, garden/arboretum enlargement plans and access.

Its a bit of a fantasy idea but my wife thinks its a good idea so I'm allowed to get a compact tractor. The road use is because it would be handy to use in some small fields further up and down the road.

A quad is another thought but I'd like something with a pto and three point linkage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,798 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Our quad isn't registered, we just insure it on the chassis number, the cops haven't passed any remarks on it.

Get a tractor and insure it on the chassis number for now if it's not registered and you have your time then to register .You'll need lights and indicators I think to register

I'd agree that a Quad is not what you want, having the lift arms and PTO is necessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭9935452

The council hsve their small tractor mowers registered so should be possible.

To save yourself a lot of bother and time give Gary Brogan in newcastle west a shout. He has a couple small garden tractors for sale. If you wanted them registered, he would do that as part of the deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭9935452

I have a road registered farm quad and have been stopped by the guards with it .

Guard was happy once he realised it was registered, insured and taxed but did say most of the quads they stopped arent registered insured or taxed and they have seized quads for that.

Guards down my way might be stricter than lads up your way

I wouldnt advise to insure a tractor on a chassis number long term. Its meant to a short term measure while you register a vehicle. .

Its all grand until something happens . Then you are done for driving unregistered vehicle with no tax and questionable insurance..

https://www.westernpeople.ie/news/courts/quad-driver-taught-lesson-he-will-never-forget_arid-51.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,798 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

The big offence there is no insurance and careless driving, guards would be right to confiscate it. He could've killed someone, he pulled across the road in front of a car, he'll never forget that. Our quad is ten plus years old, our road used to be the Dublin Galway road and was met and passed many times by the guards

We had a tractor here that I never bothered to register and went through many checkpoints, I drew a lot of grain 12 miles at harvest time, It was well over ten years when i sold it

I've shelved the project for a while. I just can't justify the expense for the amount of use the thing will get. If my neighbors decide to sell me the piece of land above the house then thats when I can totally justify getting a compact tractor. As it is the land won't take a tractor of any type on it for 4 or more months of the year.

Thanks for all the replies.