Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 49 terracedgarden

Such a shame for Tom. As other posters pointed out, it was strange commentary but looked like only one camera used as well. Didn't get to see other angles to see a replay of what could of happened. Same with Corcoran who was flat on his back when they scored a point.

Post edited by terracedgarden on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

What was the injury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Andy Comerford will get a slot with the 2 Johnnies the way he's going 😅

• Registered Users Posts: 49 terracedgarden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,694 ✭✭✭Marrooned

I think Dublin in Parnell park will be our toughest match, I think we could actually get a result in Galway. Dublin will have a good preparation playing Clare in the division. 2 league final, they have an excellent manager and good players all round and a few goal getters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭nippy corner foward

https://open.spotify.com/episode/2PTMzvRxd5Jgy16HxPij6Z?si=98NkFLPVSxaNCz8wqzK83Q&t=0&pi=77eutO9-QIeAE

Andy is Andy. To be fair not many disagreed with him. He spoke a lot of sense.Tom phelan got a sore belt to the privates and went to hospital Saturday night but hes ok thankfully. Early indications were ivan bolger isnt as bad as initially feared he got a scan monday. He has had a good few injuries especially ankle but theres a bit of cutting in him. Garret has probably done enough to start the championship.kk are conceding big scores and opposition are running down the throat of the defense creating goals. Tallis has being kk best player this league. Niall corcoran has a lot of work to do with the backs the next few weeks. I know its a new spine but the amount of chances opposition are able to get is concerning. Obviously alot could happen in a few weeks but for the laugh they picked what team they think will start the first round.Mickey walsh and Edward scally.tallis,butler,deegan,carey,corcoran reid,molloy,kenny. Fowards are little more difficult because dont know if mullen or tom will be back. Donnelly will be dissapointed with the league but always covers alot of ground. Mickey reckons tom phelan is a cert he brings something different to the kk attack. It would be hard to drop Liam moore and maybe macdermot can offer something off the bench. Its an awful pity marty murphy was injured. He struggled in a few early games before getting injured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Firstsub

I heard Tom Phelan will be sorted, but it was a nasty injury alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Skeheenlad

Well that was the team that started anyway! 5 subs came on at halftime too, Billy O Sullivan, Eoin Brennan, Jake Mullen, Louis Raggett and Colum Treacy! Why wouldn't the senior lads be playing, sure they are out in leinster championship next week! Or maybe you heard something different on that too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭babyjesus14

The results of last nights Munster under 20 matches, Tipp beating (14 man) Cork by 2 points and Clare edging out Waterford at home by 1 point would suggest that's going to be a very competitive competition.

We'll probably have a better handle on it after round two but it does bring to mind the old racing saying if you think you have five Derby horses chances are you have none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Village87

We should be as competitive as anyone. Backboned by 3 really good minor teams. Just on that when did we last beat a Munster team at minor level in championship ? Did we beat a Munster team the year Tipp beat us in the park ?

no I was just given wrong info. On the senior players there was never much cooperation between the two grades and I’d be happy enough with that set despite the four bad goals they were supposed to have given a reasonable account of themselves after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Sir Chaz

On the 20's We will have backs that will match any team and exceed most with the possible exception of Tipp. Our midfield will be good also, but where we might fall short is the lack of star quality and real pace in the forwards. There's good hurlers there in attack but real standout forwards coming through has been an issue at senior in recent years, and it appears that's still the case on current underage teams. We always had 'names' coming but that appears to have dried up, for whatever reason.
    I wonder if speed training in development squads is nearly as important now as hurling skills. That's where the modern game has gone, and where it's still going.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

2 weeks ago they were the worst kilkenny team to ever come out of the county. Now they should be targeting an all Ireland after a decent performance in a dead rubber!

Gas man Andy

well Chaz, I only saw the U20’s against Clare a couple of weeks ago and I thought the same as you did that the backs were good but they leaked nine goals in two challenge matches? I thought about four out of the six forwards were weak enough, maybe Henry should have a look at some of the U19’s who I said on an earlier post that there commitment was very good. I hope they do well in Abbotstown tonight against the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Sir Chaz

By all accounts marooned, Henry had a good look at all eligible players so I've no doubt the best players are in there already, perhaps with less than a handful of exceptions for various reasons, who wouldn't be playing with the 19's either.
    The overall standard of 20's versus the U19 Dev league would be worlds apart so it would be a huge step up for some of those lads that played in Mooncoin last Friday. Having said that, David Barcoe played 19's last year, and ended up on senior panel this year. I'd say he's an outlier though. Perhaps Mark Dowling knew it was his last year so didn't carry many U18's.

Henry's focus is no doubt on this years group, but he has another eye on building for 2027 and 2028 as well, hence the larger than normal panel.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ashtalk94

While I have to agree deegan is probably a nice guy and shows full commitment to training and the likes, i am afraid I have to disagree on several parts of what has been said, he may make himself available to puckouts but when it comes to winning dirty ball and making crucial tackles, he goes missing. Case in point the last match against tipp, he lacks the bravery and selflessness you need in that position. That's why you saw Corcoran drifting back to cover that position. While I agree that the young lads have to put their hands up, but a lot of players have been sacrificed to accommodate a player who is not a natural defender. I think thomastown exposed how limited he was in the county final two years ago, and better forward lines (limerick, cork.) will do the same come summer.

ah ye I can see where you’re coming from. I just got word that the U19’s bet Dublin by two points, a hard fought game by all accounts. I think Dublin won this competition last year. No further information at the moment but good to win. They must be playing Laois or Offaly in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Village87

I would not question Deegans bravery. IMO he has no problem getting stuck in. The last 2 club county finals he has stood off the centre forward and the 2 lads absolutely dominated the game, no need for that with the best full back in the country behind you at club level. I don't think he trusts his legs. If he gets bet his legs are gone imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭hogans heroes

Paddy Deegan is as brave as they come,whatever deficiencies he has as a player bravery isn't one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Any chance we can move on from the Deegan topic? Everyones views have been well made at this point. No individual warrants this amount of chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭therealdonster

As a final point on the subject- if it wasn't him they would just be blaming somebody else. It betrays their lack if genuine knowledge of the game. Donkeys. End of.

No, we have won the only two versions of this competition beating Wexford in the final last year (David Barcoe, captain) and Dublin in 2024 (Rory Garrett, captain). Have one group match left then the top two play in the final, so after last nights win i'd imagine we are as good as qualified.

U19’s KK 0-22 DUB 4-08.

Agree with most of this, think Henry will be looking at it as a three year project. From what i have seen there's no one involved with the 19's that stands out to me as contender for the 20's. Two years ago Ed Lauhoff and Sean Hunt were added to the 20's panel after the 19's competition finished as were Barcoe and Mikey Rohan last year but only as extended panel members.

Diarmuid Behan is a loss for the 20's, i would have had him down as being very close to starting but he declined the invitation.

KK off to Portugal today for five days training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Firstsub

Anyone know how this works? Do employers give lads special leave or is it taken out of a players annual leave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Butterbeans

I guess it depends on your employer. Teachers will be off, otherwise I'd imagine it's annual leave. And if your self employed, thats another story. All part of the huge commitment these lads make