Parking outside my house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

Please. Just stop. This story is a load of bollocks, from start to finish.

Council workers don't just rock up and start painting anything because there's a few lines on the path/road. Civil infrastructure isn't just "yeah, two planters there, make this one a cul-de-sac, no overtaking on this section of the road and someone paint the symbol for double yellows over there".

There is a set of guidelines in place to make sure that stuff is done properly. The planning authorities have an entire set of tools to ensure work is done down to the millimetre. Plans and drawings, for a start. How do you think they know where to paint those markings in the first place? Because it was agreed upon beforehand and a set of drawings were issued and approved.

ABP/ACP has an entire section called LAPS, which stands for Local Authority Planning Section. If Laois Co. Co. want to upgrade the motorway from Portlaoise to Cullahill, they cannot just start digging. They need to submit plans to ACP showing what they want, the route they'll take, where the sewers and manholes will be, how far apart the lights will be, how thick the road marking s are gonna be etc….. https://archive.pleanala.ie/en-ie/case/MS2007

The idea that you can paint "yellow lines here =>" and some dope in a hi viz just goes "yeah, boss" is so astronomically unbelievable that it could only be conjured up by someone who hasn't the first idea what they're talking about. And now it happened in England, coincidentally? and was only covered in local media? Yeeeaaaaah, and I got my hole when I was in 5th class…….what? nah, you wouldn't know here, she goes to a different school…….

Just give it a rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

You're obviously correct, but have to say I'm never inclined to move such cones myself and park in that spot anyway.

If somebody is sufficiently unreasonable or unhinged to put cones on a public road to block off a public parking spot that they somehow think they and only they are "entitled" to use, then I'd be afraid of what I might come back to. Would be afraid the car might be keyed or there'd be air let out of at least one tyre, or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Woodcutting

Plenty of folks in working class areas do this to preserve 'their' spots. You'd want to be some gurrier to move them and an even bigger fool to leave €20k worth of machinery parked there while you're not able to keep an eye on it.

To find an example of this, I googled Sean MacDermott St and clicked on the street view icon. First image shows cones across from the swimming pool. This is about 20 yards up the road. I guarantee you, not a single poster on this thread would move these cones, legalities be damned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭I told ya

Just park outside your house.

And here's another thing - people who put cones outside their home like that think nothing of how when they're returning home, they hold up other traffic behind them while they have to stop their car on the road to get out and moves the cones so that they can park in "their" parking space.

How's that for little or no regard for others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Havenowt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,990 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I would find that less annoying than looking at the side of huge van as the time, or trying to maneuver around it all the time. Or not being able to see around the van when pulling out or driving down the road.

I've seen all those. But I've never been held up by someone shuffling cones ever. That said I've never lived anywhere that had that issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭jbv

Just asking: how do you move them when you are parking your own car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Orban6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,990 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

If I can't park outside, then nobody else can either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭kirving

I don't understand how you can be so certain, that not a single council worker in history has ever done a job that hasn't go though some convoluted approval chain?

I think you've got a fairly rose-tinted view of how councils administer small jobs. Maybe it's the case today, but it absolutely wasn't in the mid to late 00's in Dublin. A friend of mine's dad was well in with Fianna Fail, I don't know exactly what he did other than he was a "businessman", but we all joked he was a "professional friend". Certainly didn't work for the council directly though.

Anyway, when we wanted the grass cut on certain fields (in housing estate) so we could play soccer, he'd give his dad a shout and a council worker would show up later that day on a small mower with a grass bin and cut it. If we wanted the road swept of leaves so we could play heads and volleys between two lamp posts in winter, the road sweeper would be around that day.

I don't see painting a line on a road as any different to that tbh.

In fairness, it's very different. One refers to routine maintenance. The other refers to implementation of traffic control and parking measures that have to go through a prescribed procedure.

Not quite the same thing, but I'm highly involved in the local GAA club myself. If we have an issue with something like bad potholes developing on the road to our grounds, there's a local Council foreman who also has strong ties to the club and who we can call, and either he'll come out himself to fill them in or arrange for somebody else to do it. But we wouldn't ask him to just come out and paint yellow lines on the road, no matter how badly we might want them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭sunshine2018

Thank you all for your comments. It is indeed a public road and I’d have no problem if it was a neighbours van from our road but this guy is a street over and has a driveway he can park his van in but chooses to park it on our road so he can keep his driveway free for the cars in his house. Sure it’s technically legal to do so but it’s a bit of a D*ckhead move. The van rarely moves - he uses it to store work equipment and comes with another van or estate car to empty gear out of it most mornings , early like 6am ,slamming the van door, dragging equipment. Seems nothing I can do so will just have to try ignore it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,730 ✭✭✭✭User1998

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭New Scottman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Just park in front of your house? Or ask him would he stop being a c*nt.

Seems like he's using the van as a shed more than as a van!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭sunshine2018

that’s it - so infuriating ! I’d say the wife doesn’t want the big ugly van in HER driveway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Some are huge though, there is a massive one on my mother's road, verging into small truck territory. I sometimes worry it might tip over, as it's so top heavy and part parked on a high narrow path, part parked on the road so leaning at angle. I logically know it won't but pedestrians have to walk on the road to get around it, as it completely blocks the path. Luckily it's a very quiet estate of older people who drive sensibly so not a safety risk.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,717 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,406 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Go talk to your neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,507 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

I'd say it's spot on.

There is a world of difference between the two. Calling someone up to expedite some routine maintenance that is already on some list versus re-designating or redesigning the road safety/traffic management status of a stretch of a public thoroughfare. The fact that you cannot see the difference says more about your lack of understanding of what's involved than anything else.

You can't just paint two yellow lines on the road and claim that's now a no parking zone. The poster I quoted is not only claiming that's what happened, they're claiming someone hoodwinked the council into painting the lines for them by putting up a couple of bogey signs and spraying "those temporary markings councils use when they 'measure up'" on the ground.

This is quite clearly the stuff of fantasy. First of all, what markings? How would anyone know what the various markings are and where to put them? Secondly, any sort of work like that needs plans/maps/drawings of what works are to take place and which show the lines stretch from A to B and on to C etc. If this was never planned for, there'd be no maps. The entire story is full of holes.

Either the OP's friend is pulling their leg and they're too gullible to notice, or the OP is making stuff up on the internet for clout. I know which one my money is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,334 ✭✭✭✭elperello

An estate with a lot of elderly people having to walk on the road to get around a van parked on the footpath.

Parking on the footpath is illegal.

Contact AGS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Op what you could do is ring/pop down to local garda station and be "innocent" about it.

Say there's a van parked on the road, it seems to be taxed / insured but it never moves, you never see anyone at it....it's there months so not parked up for someone going on holiday....doesn't belong to anyone on the road as "everyone" has been wondering who it belongs too......you're wondering if it was stolen......they'll take the reg and contact the owner…nothing might happen but generally people don't like being contacted by the guards.

I did something similar years ago and car was removed in about 2 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,730 ✭✭✭✭User1998

They're not going to ask the owner if the van has been stolen when they can clearly see it belongs to someone on the street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Same people who.park in disabled parking spaces because they want to drop someone to the shops / school / GAA and don't want to get out of the car .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,717 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Years ago before the NVDF was a thing, I suspect. All they'll do here is ask for the reg, see that not only is it taxed and insured, but also belongs to someone who lives around the corner, and tell the OP to move on.