The Weekend On One With Brendan O'Connor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭bobbyss

I don't find O'Connor funny or humorous in the least. (I put it down to his unfortunate accent and the little teenage girly uplift at the end of his sentences.) There was one time when I thought he was funny however. It was when he was interviewing Nigella Lawson. Lawson is suave and to hear a thick fawning Cork accent was hilarious. 'It's been great talking to ya Nigella and I hope ye come down to Cark one day by'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

I’m not his biggest fan, but I do think he’s got something. There’s a self-assured charisma there, and he’s clearly not stupid. It would be a shame to replace that with a Montrose humanoid like David McCullough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,271 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Yes she was, to be honest, I thought we were done with that lady who’s voting successes depended on SF surpluses.

She would have the country living in caves if she got her way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,152 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Interesting at the start about Brenda powers article about that mansion being demolished ,Brid was in favour of this putting forward the case that she could not do any renovations herself without pp fair enough ...though contained in the article was the different position taken by powers that be on the whole housing estate built without pp ,built for refugees or ipa applicants (power seemed to suggest that this was some mitigating factor which all would agree with)built for profit I believe and not im sure as some selfless act of philanthrophy either ..so the obvious question from a fearless host should have been "laws being there to be obeyed and given what is happening to the Murray house which you agree wholeheartedly with ,do you Brid believe that this estate too should be demolished ?"....alas the question never came

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,071 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I think that was just after one of the guests said something to Brid along the lines of "well other than being perpetually annoyed, have you actually got any solutions".

Thought it was a quality line. The likes of her haven't a clue how the world works and talk in sound bites which wouldn't actually work in the real world. But the small number of people who actually vote for these types think they are geniuses. Think of Coppinger too, she was/is exactly the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

True. I mean I don't think any of them were really wrong.

I don't think she should be crucified either for not having a solution to the clear problems brought about by capitalism. And even though in western politics it's an absurd thing to say, I'm glad she said it. (Not saying she was being crucified).

For me, it's a lot worse when guests come on and just say what they think people want them to say.

Thanks for sharing how suave and sophisticated you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,825 ✭✭✭plodder

I thought she actually did okay up to that point. I'd say she was happy with how it went. It was a spirited performance if nothing else and a different perspective to the other panelists. But, "have you got any solutions?" is the point where the left's platitudes get exposed and they are left looking like sneaking regarders for every totalitarian despot that hates the West.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,575 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I think it's unfair to include PBP's views as representative of the broader left. PBP are far left and are way out there on a lot of their beliefs. They also seem to prefer a system where they never end up in government, it's easier to shout from the outside than make decisions on the inside.

Labour and the Greens have shown themselves as willing to go into government in the past. Sinn Féin (although debatable if they are actually left wing and not just populist) and Soc Dems haven't had the chance yet but I'd like to think they'd go in too if the numbers worked. But I think PBP would struggle massively to ever go into government. I could see a scenario where SF + SD + Lab + Greens or similar end up a few seats short of what they need and PBP would stay out but in confidence & supply. The second they go into government their voters would desert them.

Good call there Mr D, the PBP crowd don’t want anything to do with Govt.

They are just happy to roar and shout from the sidelines and have a nice sinecure for their front people.

They are far more interested in foreign affairs than local issues.

Because the solutions are worse than the problem, and they know that. It's all built to be like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,330 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Brid Smith has been involved in left wing politics most of her adult life.

If she came on with Brendan O'Connor and did anything other than hold the line that would be news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭Butson

Alisson O'Connor did not make an appearance, but Brendan gave a shout out to her article in the paper that day.

Would it?

Smith is a has been who’s political career depended on SF surplus.

I would respectfully question the wisdom of giving her off the wall views national prominence at this stage in her career.

If an ultra leftie is needed for ‘balance’ at least get some person currently active?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Brendan never allows currently active politicians on to the panel. Active as in an elected member of the present Dáil or Seanad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Arseboxing

Brid Smith was talking about the war on Iran. She was asked "what's your solution?" by Declan Power. But Declan Power didn't have any solutions. Neither did Dan O'Brien.

The way the question was phrased implied what it really meant was "what's your solution if you oppose war?", implying that war is the solution. Then Declan contradicted himself by implying he was not in favour of the war. If that's the case, what was the point of the question?

Smith then proceeded to give a fairly good explanation of the problem of war in the world and why it happens. I'd have quite a few differences with her stance in a general sense, particularly on Russia's war on Ukraine, but her overall explanation was pretty well argued and thought through.

In terms of solutions? What's yours? What's anybody's? What the solution to evil, despotic regimes hell bent on invasion, murder and war?

We see one "solution" which has been offered right now. It's the US and Israel's war on Iran. Is that a solution? Are all people who oppose that war to be branded as "you have no solutions"?

Because I'm fairly sure this crazy war is a solution to absolutely nothing and will only make things worse for all of us, as well as the people directly affected.

And I'm fairly sure the overwhelming majority of people in Ireland would agree with Brid Smith that the US and Israel's war on Iran is no solution to anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Also every panel is composed of two men and two women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,575 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Couple of points on Bríd Smith's political career:

1. She ran for the Dáil 5 times. In 1997 and 2002 she only got a couple of hundred votes and in 2007 she was over 2,000 votes but still well back.
    2. She ran in 2016. She received 10.2% of the FPV, which was 5th (in a 4-seater). She got ~350 transfers when the first SF candidate (Máire Devine) got eliminated, but this would have included transfers that had initially gone to the SF from other candidates. When Aonghus O'Snodaigh was elected she picked up another 400ish votes, but these would have come from the top of O'Snodaigh's pile - some would have been from the eliminated SF candidate, others from other candidates. She was finally elected on the final count, beating FF's Catherine Ardagh by 35 votes.
    3. She ran again in 2020. Her share of the vote increased to 11% but SF's share jumped from a combined 23.3% to 39.3%, and ~4,800 votes all went from O'Snodaigh's surplus to Smith, so she was elected on 2nd count. Yes, this was on the back of an SF surplus, but it was also a reduction in the FF and FG voteshare (combined 27% in 2016 down to 22.7% in 2020) and a reduction in Joan Collins's vote from 14.5% to 6.5% (she still got elected too).

You can say that she was elected in 2020 on the back of an SF surplus, but (a) the SF vote was distributed all over the place in 2020 due to poor candidate selection and she likely gets in anyway if SF had run 2 candidates and (b) we have a system of PR-STV which means candidates get elected in various counts based on transfers of eliminated candidates and surpluses from elected candidates. Every TD elected has the same mandate as every other, to question this proves you don't understand our politics (it's like when SF supporters were banging on about Leo getting elected in the 5th count as if that proves anything).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,686 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Brid Smith seemed to say that people were more interested in foreign matters than domestic issues.

If this is true, then there's no point in having an opposition here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

It was good to hear Brid Smith called out on her far left lunacy. She wanted Martin to go to Minneapolis instead of meeting Trump. Was funny when one of them pointed out about the Uighars when she tried to claim China hasn't committed genocide. People like her are far more dangerous than the apparent far right in Ireland, these people actually have some power in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,825 ✭✭✭plodder

I listened back to her answer to Power.

"We stop wars by stopping the global competition that drives profit and greed on this planet." Something then about billionaires and trillionaires controlling most of the world's wealth (I think the figure is actually around 6% of world wealth controlled by billionaires) and who invest in the arms industry etc. etc. A fairly pat answer in fairness. In any case, I don't think anyone was disagreeing with her on Iran as Trump's Iran "excursion" is pretty hard to justify based on anything his regime have said.

I think it's more clear cut with Ukraine. Not that a lack of legitimacy bestowed by the UN Security Council is the main problem and I think the whole political system here (not just the Left) puts way too much store on that. The UNSC is by far the most dysfunctional element of the vaunted "rules based international order". They couldn't even rise to condemn the Russian invasion of Ukraine, never mind do something about it. Where I'd disagree with Brid Smith and probably agree with Declan Power is the imperative for Europe (and Ireland) to get serious about defence against Russia. The UN is an irrelevance. Ireland's interests lie with Europe and the EU. Ironically, in basically destroying NATO Trump has done what Putin could only dream of.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Nigella is the one who is suave and sophisticated.

What’s striking about that is how predictable the Uyghurs reply was. You see it so often that it’s almost a cliche. That she walked straight into that trap without any answer prepared shows just how insulated she is from sensible politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭JohnDoe2025

What is really ironic and somewhat tragic is that 20 to 30 years ago, the likes of Brid Smith would have been a big supporter of the Tibetan people, another group who have been subject to genocidal action by China. However, the Chinese government has won over the Irish left and they now see no wrong in what China does. They are driven by rampant anti-Americanism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭Butson

But what was interesting was that it was the other guests calling out her delusions, as opposed to the presenter.

It’s very unusual to have two ‘conservative’ voices on a panel in Ireland. Usually it will be a token conservative surrounded by progressives who drown him/her out.

The previous three newspaper panels in March. Who was the token conservative on those, and who were the progressives?

The Newspaper Panel

Clip • 53 Mins • 15 MAR • Brendan O'Connor

Joining Brendan are political reporter with the Irish Independent, Aisling Moloney; Commentator and CEO of the Iona Institute, David Quinn; Law Lecturer at the University of Galway, Larry Donnelly; CEO of the Children’s Rights Alliance, Tanya Ward and former army ranger, medical doctor and former independent TD, Cathal Berry.

Clip • 53 Mins • 08 MAR • Brendan O'Connor

Joining Brendan to discuss the Sunday papers are Ellen Coyne, Political Correspondent at the Irish Times; Gerard Howlin, former government adviser and Public Affairs Consultant; Susanne Rogers, from Social Justice Ireland; and Dan Mulhall, Former Irish Ambassador to Washington. Security analyst Declan Power joins by phone.

Clip • 54 Mins • 01 MAR • Brendan O'Connor

Joining Brendan to discuss the Sunday papers, are publisher at TheBriefing.ie, Liz Carolan; research professor at the ESRI, Alan Barrett; Sunday Independent and Irish Daily Mail columnist, Brenda Power; Irish Times Political Editor, Pat Leahy; and professor of US and International Politics at UCD’s Clinton Institute, Scott Lucas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,071 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

JJust Tuned in, is that Stephanie Preissner doing vacuum reviews?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

Yes, for real, a segment where Stephanie Preissner shared her passion for hoovering. Not even reviews.