Boards Golf Society -Rd 2 New Forest, 21st of March, 1st Tee -11:00am

124»

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,873 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Surely Fix's heart with pleasure fills, and dances with the daffodils

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about.

Oscar Wilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭bobster453

Someone elses opinion of you is none of your business

Steve Jobs

😁😁😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭scotty_golf9

I had the pleasure of playing with captain @tigerwood1 again which is always a good time to be had.

I didnt play since portmarnock so i wasnt expecting much. My driving and short approach shots were good but i just couldnt tame the irons and putting. I just struggled with the pace of the greens all day.

It was great playing with the newbie @frankiekk. He is well able to hit a ball as he hit some cracking drives and irons throughout the day. I was more impressed that everytime i looked at him, he had a big smile on his face which is what its all about.

I also played with the hitman @ciano15 as he was out to get the lads ahead of us so it is safe to say he owes out a few drinks.

Hope to see yous at the next one🤙🏼

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,518 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

what did you all think of course conditions? I thought it was in pretty decent shape considering the weather we have had over last few months.

Greens weren’t great. Guess once they firm up a little they need a good roll because there were very bumpy and slow, but can se come summer with a little love they could be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

"tulip" happens to be the worst bad word boards allow me to print uncensored, like I can't type F****r or B**** or even C*** 😏. Anyway, I'm happy as F*** to hear your on the mend buddy 😅

☝️ meanwhile, another ***** I'm not happy with 😅
    thanks for sending a ball .01 of a yard further than me (I'm sure the wind changed for you, or you got a nice kick or something 🤣🤣🤣)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭scotty_golf9

@RoadRunner it was about 4 yards😂 we may have game together to battle it out over the 18 holes…

Cheers pal.

A slow process made slower by my rapidly advancing years.

I reckon i must be due 5 shots extra on hc from the society for all of this.

@Seve OB please take note😃

I’m handicap secretary at my club.

Unfortunately I don’t have the same access levels to boards members handicaps

If I did, the scissors would be overused 😎🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 549 ✭✭✭a post punk

What a great day out in the sunshine on Saturday a well needed reprieve to have glorious sun on your back for 5 plus hours….
    I Was in the winners fourball with @bakerbhoy , @LinoRichie and @boccy23 , well done BOC on a great score and would like to think our little side bet in the group drove you on! You had an impressive back 9 and we could say Lino tried putting you off on 18 asking you your score but he was on your team so not sure that’s an excuse really!! 😂

We had great craic going around to be fair, it was so good the group behind us tried hitting close to us on hole 14 to get in on the fun, thanks lads ! 😉

I had a day where I should have had a lot better score , turning with 18 points after a nice birdie on the Index 2 , unfortunately on the back 9 I hit 4 or 5 poor tee shots and made 3 silly decisions on hole 5,10 & 12 where I hit my tee shots into great spots but should have played for a bogey at worst instead of going all out for the green …. I hit 9 FIR’s on the day but only 29 points which is a poor return. A lot of positives in there though otherwise and definetly seeing the benefit of the work I have put in through the winter months.
    On the course it was in great condition for the time of year , but the greens were hard to judge I found …and the pin on the first and 16th in particular in very tough spots for the time of year.

Also the round was a crazy length of time off the yellows not due to our own society but what was ahead of us. It was a good thing the weather was so good and we were able to enjoy a nice dinner al fresco afterwards.
    looking forward to Concra , @tigerwood1has been on about it for years and years …. Can’t wait.
    Congrats to all the winners on the day.
    Talk soon

PP

By the way

Placing everywhere does not mean you can place it in a penalty area or bunker 🤣

• Administrators Posts: 56,309 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Yea unfortunately I had to double check this rule for myself on the 4th as my ball plugged in the hazard area right in front of the green. Would have been perfectly playable if it hadn't plugged. 😪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I know it makes sense to someone....but placing everywhere is a stupid expression..

Not sure about the bunkers tbh, guess it depends on the course local rule, sometimes it includes bunkers

True for ya, is it not pteferred lies rather than placing everywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,143 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Yes, in my course, placing everywhere includes rake and place in bunkers over the winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭blue note

I was actually unsure of making this one in the week leading up to it. A bug made its way through our house that week, so I wasn't sure who would be vomiting on the day. So when I actually got into the car on Saturday morning and started driving I was extra happy!

I've played New Forest many times before, but only once in the last few years. I used to be friendly with a girl in that neck of the woods and regularly played there (and Esker and Tullamore) and I love all three courses. So I was delighted to be going back. And the course was indeed how I remembered it. It was even sunny in my memory, just like on Saturday.

I had the pleasure of playing with @Alanm , @Kiith and @Roger Mellie Man on the Telly . I was impressed with all of us. Kiith probably played a bit like me - someone who would like to play more, but life is getting in the way. There were too many scratches, but lots of good stuff in between. He wasn't far off the long drive at all. A little lower and lefter and he'd have been right on it. Roger Mellie was very consistent for the most part. Excellent straight drives (with the exception of 7. And very solid on the 3 footers. If he joins a club and plays he'll really get into a rhythm. And Alanm of course was excellent. Level par on the front 9, 2 scratches and still came in second. It was a shame he didn't hole the putt on 10, he played 3 off the tee and carried through to the thick stuff, but managed to play out and get it onto the middle of the green. It would have been some bogey!

As for my own game, it is the same problem (but a little different) recurring for me. Too many penalty shots. 8 in total. The different thing was that only 3 of them were from the tee. And I take a bit of heart from that. I pulled one on the first and hooked two on the 3rd. But other than those, my misses weren't too bad with my driver. If I can keep that in check this year, I'll surely have a few good scores. On the downside, I had some really rusty swings. The soft ground probably made some of my bad shots worse, but they'd still have been bad shots in perfect conditions.

I must say I was impressed with the course condition, but can absolutely see why it wasn't counting. To me, we're still in need of a warm dry week before courses can really play as they should. I'm sure member demands will bring that date forward a little. And on that 12th hole - I still think it's a stupid hole. Playing from the greens, I decided to try to carry the drain. I probably underestimated how far right I could aim and as a result hit the first OB left. The second was a perfect drive really, I was level with the tree on the right and well over the drain. But if you were to go back to the whites, it's a long carry with OB left and a drain looking to catch anything right. Maybe it's a boring 3 shotter and that's the way it needs to be played. But I'm as convinced as I was before I played it again that it's a bad hole.

Anyway, looking forward to our next day out in Concra. It has literally been on my list for years to get to. Every little golf trip I organise I see if I can wrangle it in, so I'm very excited to get to play it. Thanks Captain for the choices this year!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Ahh it’s great to be back at last! Raging I missed Portmarnock but can’t complain with the fantastic weather we had for Saturday.
    I’ve played New Forest a good few times now and was and was not looking forward to it, they seem to let the rough grow up every now and then making the course near impossible for a high handicap player to play, to cutting it right back and making it much more playable as it was on Saturday.

Had the pleasure of playing with @spacecoyote, @Concerned2 and first time playing a round with @awec - how have we not gotten a game in together before?!

Some great golf play by everyone in our group but alas, one or two mistakes all cost us a score. I was raging as I was hitting driver and long irons well all day and recovered well when a shot went astray. My first blip came on the 5th when I hit my drive out right and lost the ball only to nail my provisional and landed my approach halfway between the drain and the green. A poor chip left me too long a putt for the point. Followed that scratch with another and shook myself down and said to myself, no more of that, try score on the rest of the holes. I managed that but unfortunately too many poor chips and a few 3 putts cost me a great score but I won’t complain, it was only my second round since last year so plenty of positives. I could have walked home after the 10th I was so chuffed on how I played it. Lovely drive to right hand side of the fairway and I hit an absolute peace of a 5 iron from 180m out to the middle of the green. 2 putts and first time to par that hole. Had a great run for 9 holes and 19 points.

Course was mainly in great shape apart from the unpredictable greens, I was warned about these by 2 lads at work who are members. Some were fine but some weren’t great and the caught all 4 of us out at times.

Looking forward to Concra, have never played there before so looking for someone to guide me around!!

see ye in a few weeks.

Post edited by charlieIRL on

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Apologies I forgot to say congratulations to all the winners on the day, was closer than I thought it would be. Great score @boccy23 especially with a scratch thrown in.
    Some long drive too lads, I absolutely burst the crap out of mine, hit the middle of the fairway…..about 30m short of Roadrunners marker!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭BohToffee

Finally getting around to my post round musings. I love this part of the society reading all of the PM's. Played a nice slow round with fix, roadrunner, and new member batesy.

As we've all read the two Mainstays in the group had a little match in the round and twas rather interesting to watch. Both are solid golfers roadrunner hits it a mile particularly when it counts thankfully has the odd blip (it was one hole) to let us know he is still human. Fix is deadly accurate and not too short off the tee either.

Bates is new to the group and thankfully we havent scared him off. With a few rounds under his belt that handicap won't last, hit some great shots and some not so great but having not played in a while that can be expected. That last putt would be the one to bring me back out, never left the middle of the hole from easily 20 feet.

As for myself a real mixed bag, hit a great drive on 3, last to play my second shot, then pulled the backside out of it on 4 and first to hit my second shot, and had I found the ball my third would have been hit before the others played their 2nd. Then one of my two highlights of the round, drive, 8iron just shy of the first par5. I had mostly bogey golf with a few blips and a couple of pleasant surprise pars.

The second highlight was on I think 13 after a trek up a hill that felt like it was never ending I proceeded to hit the best drive of the day, out of the middle like a missile the ball took off, delighted with myself only to then be told there's water in front of the green had the fear until I went down the other side of the hill to see that yellow dot ahead on dry land. Followed with a second dart right over the flag. Missed the bird but got the par.

I've been MIA from the society the last couple of years with club golf and other commitments but I'm hoping I'll be around a lot more this year, thus far no obvious clashes and I'm hoping to get all of the new courses to me and hopefully give the jug team a good tilt.

Really looking forward to Concra, played it once before when it was brand new, so new one of the lads I played with got lost was near 45 mins late and there was still plenty of space for us to get out for a round. I loved the place so have been looking forward to a return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Sorbet

Just like @BohToffee I love reading all the reports of the rounds and one of the great things about the society - so apologies this is so delayed - was a busy week with work. Thanks to @tigerwood1 for arranging another great day. My first time at New Forest and hope it won't be the last. Really enjoyed the course and thought, bar a few greens which were a little bumpy and caught a few of us out, the course was in great condition especially when you think of the weather we've been having.

I went round with @Seve OB , @Break80 who I had the pleasure of playing with before and @TrueDub for the first time. Great group to go around with, great company on the way around for the long round - had a lot of laughs even if our golf wasn't top notch all the way - next time you're playing with @Break80 you'll have to ask about his mouse pal riding shotgun, was worth the green fee alone🐭😁! I think we all actually finished within a point of each other without contending for prizes I'm afraid. Notwithstanding that there were some great shots from all at times. @TrueDub took off like a rocket and something like 10 points on his first three holes had me wondering about his handicap! But as another high handicapper our Achilles heel is not the good holes but the scratches and there were sadly too many of them. No doubt he'll get in the winners circle when it comes together. @Seve OB hit some beautiful shots, he mentioned his chip in on 11 which was a beauty - not a bit of luck about it - he called it early as it rolled and dropped in on the last couple of revolutions, but some of his drives were brilliant too. @Break80 has a short game to die for (I'd love a bit of it but more of that later) and hit some amazing approaches but his driving put him in trouble on a few holes which limited scoring opportunities.

For my own round, I had new (second hand) clubs so wasn't expecting a huge amount and that's what transpired - what's funny is that it wasn't generally the new clubs that let me down but actually my wedges were terrible. I was generally playing bogey golf for the first 5 holes (which at my handicap is good for me) but wasn't making anything easy. I recently learned the new chip and run shot with an 8 iron (putting stroke toe down) to avoid all those fat duffed chips and I'm just not used to how far it rolls out. The contact is great and nothing with it duffed but I must have chipped on and over greens at least 5 times. Some easy improvement to come with some practice there. 6th hole was first scratch which resulted from pure stupid golf - hooked into the red staked hazard and tried to play out of it then proceeded to accidentally hit the provisional ball once i got out - scratch. Loved the walled 9th and managed a 2 putt par there. Should have taken a photo but honestly didn't occur to me as I was enjoying the round so much! Turned with 17 points and was happy enough - thought a similar back 9 and I'd get some decent Jug points - wasn't to be,

Nearly killed the group ahead of us on the downhill 10th. All day the lads had been in front of us being held up by the other society in front but on 10 there was no sign of them anywhere - in error we thought they must have moved ahead and hit our tee shots - I hit a lovely one but from what I heard from @RoadRunner and @FixdePitchmark nearly hit the lads - apologies. Lovely 5 wood just over the green with my second and had my first decent 8 iron chip of the day to about 2 feet and proceeded to 2 putt for a bogey - so maybe that was justice!

For the infamous 12th - I thought it was different but I didn't hate the hole - made you decide a strategy rather than just hit driver - I lost my strategy trying to hit a 4 iron onto the green first lost ball of the day into the mess on the right followed by second lost ball with the provisional! I'd actually love to have another crack at it another day.

My favourite shot of the day led to taking an unplayable and scratching the hole - as I said I have new clubs and with my old ones it seemed I topped out with my irons at about 160 yards no matter how far down the bag I went. Kind of limits you to a a lot of 3 woods which wasn't a great club for me. On the par 5 17th I had about 180 yards to go with the green on the right. Decided I'd lay up with my new 4 iron and have a short chip on. My pure 4iron must have nearly gone 190 yards as it went into the trees - happiest scratch I ever had😁

Food and drinks in the sunshine (even if it got a bit cold) was great. Lovely to chat to the group and to meet newcomer @Batesy and recentcomer @frankiekk again. A great day out. Well done to @boccy23 and all the winners and thanks again to Captain @tigerwood1 for all the organising - day seemed to go off perfectly. I'm still loving those Boards.ie flags on NTP and LD holes - nice touch! See you all in Concra Wood, expecting great things from all the talk of it and if anything like the day I had in New Forest it won't disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭tigerwood1

What a day, between the sunshine, the course, and the food, you couldn’t ask for much more from a Saturday in March.

It was one of the most enjoyable 5½-hour rounds I’ve ever had. Unfortunately, we’ve no control over who’s out ahead of us, so it’s just one of those things.
    Driving around in the buggy gave me that Ryder Cup captain vibe all I was missing was a vice Captain @Seve OB in his vintage 2010 Celtic Manor gear 😎.
    Between chatting to a few of you on the day and the feedback since, it seems the overall response has been very positive. It’s a tough parkland course with a great mix of holes, but interestingly, I thought the 15th and 16th had a real linksy feel to them. In hindsight, the nearest-the-pin might have been better suited to the walled garden par-3 9th.
    I had the pleasure of playing with one of our new members, @frankiekk, along with a rematch against @scotty_golf9 and @ciano15. Frankie, like myself, started poorly with a scratch on the first, but quickly showed his ability with some solid golf, including a birdie on the 17th. A few wayward drives cost him, but I’ve no doubt he’ll be contending in the outings ahead.
    Ciano was doing his best to fall out with the lads ahead🥹 while pulling off two of his “best 3-woods ever” to within five feet.

Scotty, meanwhile, held his powder dry until the 17th like a sniper with his Pinseeker, he lined up the longest drive with precision, then boom… and rolled it four yards past @RoadRunner.

Congrats to our winner, @boccy23 (Boycie)😊, with a great 39 points.

On another day, I feel I could have hit 40pts myself just needed to cut out the silly stuff.

Next up: Concra Wood, I've talked it up long enough... Now it's time for it to deliver😁.

My marker probably, fell out and blew backwards a little bit in the wind I'd say 🤔

By any chance did any of yiz pick up a Liverpool tee bag the other day? Probably lost it on or around the first tee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Macker1

Hi @Seve OB This was picked up by @ThecHamp26 at the 1st tee when we hit off around 11:40. We did ask the group in front but they didn't know anything about it. He just put it in the bag and then obviously forgot about it when the round finished 12 hours later. I would imagine he'll have it with him at the next outing at Concra Woods. I have sent him a message on WhatsApp but I think he may be away in the US on hols for next 2 weeks.

PS…… I don't blame you trying to lose the bag given how embarrassing the performances have been this season. 🤣