General Premier League Thread 2025/2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,137 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

They've not been quite as free to spend as the other petro clubs - or perhaps, it's more that Saudi never quite bought into the idea the same way Qatar and the Abu Dhabi did… I'm sure they could've sorted more dodgy sponsorships etc, but it seems like pouring money into their own league took priority not long after buying Newcastle. Howe still probably should've done better with the huge money they have spent though. On top of that, himself and Tindall are just incredibly unlikable fellas.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Newcastle have money, they are just salty they haven't been able to spend without ANY restriction.
    They still spend 100m+ most summers

Howe has done well there, but I do wonder what the upper limit is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

The two seasons are completely different as in Klopp's last season, it was a 3 way title race, in which Liverpool ran out of steam, injuries caught up with them and I'm sure Klopp announcing he was leaving had an affect also. Last season, Liverpool had no real challenger, Slot maintained Liverpool's level, but, both Arsenal and City had a huge drop off, Liverpool took full advantage of that, and Slot deserves hugh credit for that, but, we'll never know how they would have reacted if City and or Arsenal were breathing down their necks. There is a huge difference in a title race between knowing any dropped points could be fatal and knowing that any slip-up you make goes unpunished, I think at no point last season did Arsenal punish Liverpool slip-ups, so the only pressure they had was from themselves.

Also Klopp had a new midfield in his last season, some of whom were new to the league (Endo, Szob, Gravenberch) who needed time to settle, so, even being in a title race was remarkable, obviously in the second season these newer players were more used to playing together and playing in the league. I think had Klopp stayed, Liverpool would likely have won the league as well, as both City and Arsenal would still have had their bad seasons. Liverpool were the best team last season, but, benefitted from their 2 main rivals having off seasons, it's OK to acknowledge that, it doesn't in any way devalue the achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,278 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

I bet raya was annoyed being given a rest yesterday, he’s an outstanding keeper and just shows we would be lost without him

The internet isn’t for everyone

I said a few weeks back I thought the league cup final could ignite City.

7 games to go for Arsenal. 8 for City. 9 point gap with a game at home against your main challenger. City will feel they can make that 3 points.

Arsenal have let City back into this race.

I wouldn't have been messing around with backup keepers yesterday. I would have been looking to make the statement win.

Keeping Kepa happy isn't a good enough reason. He's sub par even as a backup at a top level club. So play your best team and get the trophy under the belt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I can't believe we had some drama with Kepa and the League Cup, like what were the chances of anything happening like that??? Should have been a risk free selection 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,925 ✭✭✭Damien360

Surprised to see the Arsenal thread so mad about that game and Arteta. Even some calls for his removal on season lack of energy and performance. Yesterday is a Mickey mouse cup. The league is always most important, champions league is a important addition if possible, fa cup down the list and league cup is a very distant concern. Arsenal still in the hunt for 3 more cups. Doesn't matter if we hate their style or lack thereof, they are doing a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭ronjo

As an Arsenal fan I was equally as surpised as you and agree with everything you say here

Every few weeks Arsenal are accused of "Letting City back in it" but Arsenal are

1. Top of the league
    2. Top of the calender league table
    3. Top of the form league

Yesterday was a bad decision and congrats to City who seem to be getting little credit but it has zero impact on league imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭adaminho

Kepa starting yesterday was the right call. It's not about keeping him happy it's about having him ready to step in incase of an emergency. If Raya started yesterday and then missed the rest of the season with injury you'd have people giving out because Kepa had no game time, it's a balancing act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,696 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

You can't let your rival back into a title race by losing one game to them in another competition. If that's what you think then City were clearly never out of it in the first place.

and especially when thought was written a few weeks ago when the lead was probably 4 points less…

Arsenal are title chasing. This is where you put it to bed.
    It's lucky that City aren't more consistent…. yet.

The point is Arsenal have left the door open, unnecessarily IMO.
    6 wins from 10 - Arsenal are capable of better than that.

I've said Arsenal would win the title this season from the start but they are giving City more chances than they should to catch them for my view.

This is an inconsistent City but they still haven't pulled away from them (and that is why City haven't caught them… yet )
    Look beat City away or even draw and it should be enough.

I would just fear that win yesterday will add to the City momentum now
    And they won't have CL football to fit in also

Momentum is a very powerful thing in football

Is it not a bit disingenuos to talk about momentum and then ignore the fact Arsenal have won the last 4 and extended the lead in the same period by 4 points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,696 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Points on the board are more powerful. You either think the gap is already big enough for City to be out of it or you don't, yesterday didn't change the equation. I don't disagree that Arsenal still have plenty of work to do to secure the title but that was always the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

I dont understand how losing the carabao cup final has let City back in? Likewise if Arsenal had won yesterday, it wouldn't have closed the door on the league title for City.

Last 2 premier league games. City played 2 drew 2. Arsenal played 2 won 2. So have widened the gap by 4 points in the last 2 games. So where's the "Arsenal are letting them back in it" coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,565 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

When Arsenal progressed in the Champions league and City went crashing out, I heard nothing about how that would have swung momentum in Arsenal's favour. It seems this nonsensical logic only applies when it's against Arsenal and not for them.

Alright lads, I'll leave it there.
    We'll see how the game against City goes in a couple of weeks.

Hopefully ye get over the line. I hate seeing this City team pick up trophies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,906 ✭✭✭doc_17

Eddie Howe is in trouble. But I don’t think they’ll do anything now, they’ll wait until the season is over if there is no uptick in results. He’s done well enough there, they have spent, but some of their signings haven’t worked - Ramsey, Voltemade, Wissa. They are in the position where they have to wait to see who the top clubs want, and then they pick what’s left. Losing Isak was huge as well.

Might be time for a new manager especially when it looks also like Bruno and Tonali are looking to get out.

The fee was Isak was great though and he's been injured for most of the season

Have they reinvested it in the right way though is the question I suppose in Wissa and Woltemade.
    Woltemade made a decent start but has faded away in recent weeks.

If they miss europe will Bruno G and Tonali want to hang around, do they want to anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,800 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Wissa never getting fit was a killer, he was supposed to replace Isak. They've basically been strikerless all season relying on Gordon/Woltemade to fill in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭jacool

Before people have a heart attack when Arteta names his side versus Southampton in the FA Cup, Kepa has played in all FA Cup ties, as well as all League Cup ties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,800 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I never thought momentum would be such a controversial statement. I do agree with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,334 ✭✭✭eigrod

Arsenal’s 3 defeats are against top 5 sides, if i am not mistaken. They almost always have enough to beat the lower/middling sides. There may be a hiccup or two, but they will see this title win out.

Yeah its 4 all season out of 50 against sides 2-5 in league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,884 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Arsenal never win the League Cup. Every generation of that club ignores it as a competition. They simply don't give it the same importance as the FA cup and never have

And in the context of what's available to win this season it's even less important

Imagine Raya starts and gets injured, then where are they?

It changes nothing, the title will be theirs and they have a good chance as always in the FA Cup and have been given the best run to a CL final than possibly any English club has had

League Cup is nothing to them, when have they last won it?

1993.. Morrow scored the winner and Adams dropped him from his shoulders in the celebrations breaking his arm really badly.

Jinxed Trophy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,339 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I think Arsenal will win the league, City aren't consistent enough this season.