Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Rega

It's a poor game. Not Cork's fault that the opposition are weak but they'd want to be a bit cleaner and quicker with their hurling. Might as well empty the bench and give lads a run out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Cork: 6-26 (44) Offaly: 0-20 (20)

More like a challenge match but a nice easy workout. Power looked incredibly lively when he came on. Looked to be really putting his hand up. A lot of good contributions

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Learned nothing tonight really, a trip to Limerick to look forward to now in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,419 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Why is the final in Limerick, wasnt the Munster Hurling final there last summer too ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,595 ✭✭✭zetecescort

I think read we have a seperate home and away arragement for the league, they played us in Cork in 81 or 82 or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Offaly hurling has made some serious strides in the last few years, but they are still a long way off competing at the top table unfortunately on that evidence. The all Ireland is what we all want this year, but we may as well have a right good crack at Limerick in the league final all the same.

It could easily have been Galway we were playing with the way they came back into it in the end. Anyway hopefully the footballers get the job done up in Tyrone now. No county has a divine right to anything, but with that said Cork should always be in the top division which we hopefully will next year.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

this is the best they have coming through, they have some serious hurlers but seriously lack physically , that lad from killagh is unreal i have to admit , its a while then since i have seen a 19 year old make such an impact on the league

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Very happy with the first half, up a point and should be more. PLaying with a stiff enough breeze in the second half.

Back in Division 1 !!!

A fine away win in Tyrone 0-19 v 0-22

Great boost for the footballers and fully deserved, delighted for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭webels

Division 1 football. Thats brilliant 😃

I only was able to see second half but good game management when we got ahead. No going down cul de sacs which I saw loads of last year.

Great to see us back up after 10 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭lukin

I must admit I didn't fancy Cork to do it but they proved me wrong. I thought it would be another glorious failure but they pulled it off, full credit to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,768 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

They deserved it too.

I have been negative about Cork Football for 2-3 years but they fully deserve praise today.

Thoght they were full value for the win.

EVENFLOW

Game is here if anyone wants to watch it;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U-Ocv_lzvw8

Walsh is Captain of the U20 team this year. I hope he doesn't get burnt out with too many games but I saw Ben O'Connor saying he will manage the workload

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

There's a few people on that PROC site who are negative even when Cork win in football, but fair play to John Cleary and the team for going up there to Tyrone, winning the game and bringing us back to division one. Let's have a right good crack at beating Kerry in the championship now. There's definitely a last eight appearance in this team. Anything else would be bonus territory really.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Final is fixed for next Sunday in Croke Park at 1.45 v Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,136 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Watched the match,watched the highlights,delighted with the result, great to see Hurley and deane come on and steady the ship when it looked shakey.They were haunted lucky overall though,,all the wides by Tyrone, hitting the crossbar,goal attempts wide, honestly it was like we could have reversed the roles and lost that game when we deserved to win it in the past.The pros are winning and winning mentality and game management with the lesser chances but I am a bit wary about getting carried away when it's the game that could have easily panned out with both teams having the exact same chances of scoring with Tyrone taking some of those chances and cork losing by ten points or more.

Tipp v Cork Munster U-20 hurling is on this Wednesday evening. Is this being streamed anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭almostover

This is very true, but at least now there is a sense of the monkey being off the back with the footballers. Getting back to D1 is huge, staying there will be next year's problem. Now the season is already a success and the team can have right cut off Kerry and try to go deep in the championship.

There will be a great atmosphere in the camp in training now going forward. This is an important milestone for the recovery of Cork football. Fair play to the management and players, hope they enjoy this one. As fans, we need to pay them back now by attending the games as much as possible.

Hurling league final tickets will be through the clubs with a public sale of any remaining at 3pm on Monday

Team for above U20 game

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭mjp

What are their chances against a much fancied Tipp side tomorrow night.

I fancy us to have a right rattle off them.

Does anyone know how much the tickets for the Open Stand will be for the League final in Limerick?
    I have a couple of tickets to sell and I don't want to ask for too much or too little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭FantasyFool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,341 ✭✭✭eigrod

Tipp 0-11 Cork 0-12 HT.

murphy red card just on HT. stupid off the ball slap.

that aside, the fussiest ref i have seen. Giving soft frees to both teams the whole half and never played the advantage for a Cork goal that he pulled back

Yes the ref is awful. giving frees left right and centre to both teams. Ruining the game really.

But Murphy has really cost us this game by getting himself sent off. Btain dead and no excuse for it.

Just when we got back into the game and all. Now its more a case of trying to keep the score respectable

Great star to the 2nd half, 5 up after 38 min