The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭ihateboards

I enjoyed last night's show a lot. Every guest offered an interesting perspective on their unique experience.I was watching a recording I only forwarded the ads. Credit to Tommy, he didn't say much at times but really allowed people to talk and gave them the right prompts to keep going.

The IRA victim/former member were compelling. They were great examples of openmindedness, and they delivered their message 'things are better if you can tell the truth and be vulnerable'.

Steve Davis was very interesting, nice dry sense of humour. He gets how lucky he was to have a world level skill, which he referred to often as 'putting the ball in the hole'. He gets how arbitrary that is and is enjoying the life and freedom it has given him.

Mike Skinner equally enjoyable, his perspective on being paid to be embarrassed was such an interesting one and he owned the 'there something out there' viewpoint. I almost felt like we met him in the pub and got to know him, in as much as you can in 20 minutes.

Overall 10/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,900 ✭✭✭Comhrá

I very much enjoyed watching the Steve Davis interview. A real gent, a touch of class, entertaining, and no bad language either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Like Steve, i couldn't believe Tommy had never heard of Tangerine Dream! I was at that Whelans gig that Davis mentioned. I have similar musical tastes to him. Always an entertaining interviewee imo.

Didn't think much of Mike Skinner tbh. For a man who relies on words he wasn't getting his points across well.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Francis McM

It sure did. He had the wife of someone, a catholic civilian, who was kidnapped by the IRA and told to drive a bomb in to a British army checkpoint or his abducted wife would be killed. He himself then got blown up along with 5 soldiers. Instead of sympathising with the wife on the show he asked her why her dead husband did not quit his job as civilian cook in the army. Tiernan never thought to condemn the pIRA or say it was awful the pIRA destroyed thousands of families like hers etc.

Then he has on an ex IRA member from Derry but he understood her and justified her noble struggle and sure she only carried guns for the IRA or something like that. Or so she said. Surreal. The vast majority of people killed in Derry and Fermanagh during the troubles were killed by Republicans. He did not ask her if any of the bombs she or others carried killed anyone? It was as if none did.

Dark times. I think Martin McGuinnesses brother was arrested by Gardai for it but was released of course.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Was talking about a different interview...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Well said. Tiernan’s schtick is asking the dunderheaded question that unexpectedly leads to an interesting conversation, but there’s no excuse for asking so crass a question on such a politically charged topic.

Tiernan did a podcast with a woman who is wife to Joe Brolly, that sectarian loudmouth in Northern Ireland.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

On early this week.

That army fella up first, don't think I'd be cut out for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,203 ✭✭✭gifted

Missed The start of the army chap..

.who is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 TuesdayClub

Tommy asking him if he's ever been in therapy. I know his wife is a therapist but not buying the myth that everyone 'needs' to be in therapy. We're all different and it doesn't click for everyone, people have different ways.

This guy has had major experiences, very interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I used to find this guy interesting to listen to at one point, but now I think it's largely a set routine and rehersed script he repeats off as a special guest at corporate retreats and sales kick offs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭seablue

Ray Goggins, ex Army Ranger.

He was a host of an RTE reality tv show, putting people through army style training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,810 ✭✭✭deisemum

Ray Goggins former Irish army ranger, was one of the rangers putting Irish personalities through a tough ordeal on Special Forces - Ultimate Hell Week and also on Uncharted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Hold My Hand

A promising guest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Sandz066

I've heard the name before but not ever seen anything he's been in.

Thought Tommy was overly confrontational with him vs how he is with other guests. Seems there's some preconceived tension there

Talented singer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Danny healy ray

smashing girl id say tommy was a bit smitten with her !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭tradfan1

Interesting, gentle guest - lovely singer of sean nós.

Nice song to finish with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭tradfan1

See that somebody is credited with being Tommy's hairstylist - she must choose which cap he wears every week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,781 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Always thought Gilbert was a strange fish - and probably still do. His schoolboy “outfit” along with the bowl haircut just looked ridiculous- he single handily killed his own career; yes he had a string of 1/2 dozen hits or so but was completely unmarketable and he didn’t heed the advice he was given.

I wonder would he do it all again the same or would he have ditched the stupid look for something more becoming an upcoming youngish male songwriter. His songs were actually pretty good and he could have had a serious international career and maybe with the right producers, developed some decent albums long term

Tickets for His singalong in October aren’t cheap either - he’s not James Taylor that’s for sure.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,707 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Bar one or two questions, Tiernan was too preoccupied with being in therapy mode to make it an interesting chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭Jeff2

I like this guy Dermot.

Be fun gaming with him :)

Be good to hear him singing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭1992ChainGang

Dermot seems cool, not a huge fan of his music.

These two girls….painful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 TuesdayClub

I think they are a tonic. Such a change seeing people on telly that aren't media trained and they are just nervous too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

These two are great craic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭Jeff2

YYeah not on there to promote themselves as is usual. Just good fun from them. Very likeable they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,161 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I love Tim Key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Stooped

I'd say Tommy will be annoyed at whatever producer fed him that opening line.

Only know him from those weird poems he'd do on one of Charlie Brooker's shows.

Typical Dermot Kennedy song, I'd never actively seek it out but I don't hate it either.