Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

1356357358359360362»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭bobster453

I know people allow themselves to be easily offended in modern Woke culture but calling one of our great sporting heroes names is childish in the extreme, not that he will be bothered by keyboard warriors.

People who do this must be either as successful as him in their chosen career or small minded begrudgers.I know which I believe.

Our little island doesnt have too many sporting heroes on the world stage that we can afford to take pleasure in their misfortune when it happens.

So either cop on or piss off..either will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,762 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

There certainly are as one idiots who say bad things but those people take that opportunity about anybody having a bad run.

There are also fair people who want to see Shane win and can't bare the fact that he can't get it done.

I'm one of those. I truly believe it's an attitude thing. If you go all the way back to the Open, he never stopped looking for birdies all the way through the final round.

That's how he's made. Pulling out an iron to be safe is not in his nature. He needs to continue as he started. It mightn't work out once but it won't fail you a number of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,968 ✭✭✭Trampas

I’m convinced it would appear more than likely if Shane is going to win on pga tour it will be posting a score and watch the final groups drop off. He has had a few top 10 in recent years that were he had good chances to win but a few bogies stopped that but this year is the worse. 

People need to stop pointing out he has won x amount to show he’s doing great. Yes he’s plenty in the bank but top 50 players want titles and not a bigger bank balance. We talk about woods, Phil, Rory, Scottie etc over titles and not about money. Same should be for Shane, Aberg, rose, Spieth etc

On the timesheet for Houston this week. Surprised with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭joficeduns1

Back to back missed cuts though, doesn't want to carry that into Augusta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭joficeduns1

Hole in one on 2 in the final round today. Good vibes, good lad Shane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭benny79

He has some amount of holes in ones now and all on the iconic holes! Pebble and Sawgrass..

If I could have one of his I'd take the 16th at Augusta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,902 ✭✭✭Comhrá

I had one hole in one, back in 1999. It was in a singles competition in my own club but it was on Good Friday, the bar was shut and we had to make do with tea and sandwiches. Probably saved me a tidy sum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭coillcam

Obv there's an element of luck but you can't deny his ball striking. Hopefully a positive sign with the Master's round the corner.

Never had one, been lying on the edge of the hole three times.

I had an eagle on a par four though, a long par four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

He is paired up with Brooks for the Zurich. Could be an interesting pairing.

Presume that Rory is skipping the event.

It’s an event I never expected Rory to play. Only played it because he was on the lash with Shane and then felt he needed to defend. Shane probably only playing because he’s sponsored by them

I wonder what event he’ll drop after the masters as with him playing Zurich it’ll be 5 weeks in a row if he plays signature events