Is Keeping Up With The Jones Still a Thing?

• 21-03-2026 02:51PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭

I mean if it is it seems so 1960's / 1970's and childish and perhaps I just have an overactive imagination in my locality. I have been driving Landcruisers for years having had several and so have my rich farmer neighbours but I could not help noticing a pattern that when I bought a brand new Landcruiser like clock work the next January they would be riding around in a brand new Landcruiser - obviously then a year newer than mine. Now - they can well afford new Landcruisers any time they want and fair play to them - I can't so my new landcruiser intervals averaged every 7 years to their three. So now their three years is up on their 2023 model but no still new Landcruiser in the yard so its overdue??

I changed for a brand new defender in July 2025 as I did not like the new shape Landcruiser so now I am waiting for the neighbours to be riding around in a new defender too very soon - new July registrations probably. You can't just but a defender off the shelf like you can a Landcruiser so there is a waiting period.

Watch this space!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,722 ✭✭✭✭User1998

My neighbour got a brand new Tesla, it sparked my interest and I got one 6 months later. Could be something similar with your neighbours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,583 ✭✭✭goochy

Isn't everything about keeping up with neighbours / other parents these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

Kind of reminds me of the Honda Civic in the 1990's! It wasn't a case of keeping up with the Jones'. People bought Civic's then because they were universally liked, not because Gerry two doors up bought one. Today, cars are so expensive that they're more of a considered purchase than a trophy. My usage pattern is such that I'd easily run a second hand Tesla and would gladly do so before considering a Merc or BMW. I'm not a badge snob, I and most that I know drive whatever is the best affordable solution available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Alfaguy

Well that's possible too - I was partly influenced in my purchase by a guy who bought one further up the road but not because of a I'll show him who's rich attitude but because I liked the vehicle and as I said hated the new Landcruiser.

Although it did reinforce my suspicions one year when they even bought the same colour as mine having always had black one before and since and I had their friends waving at me think I was them and I assume visa versa.

Anyway I am probably over thinking all this.

Is it? I thought that in new affluent Ireland people hardly notice what others do or have and if they did could not be bothered to think about it too deeply?

(reference post 3)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,801 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I disagree with the "badge snob" thing as BMWs, Mercs and Audis are so universal across all ages and demographics at this stage that even teenagers are driving around in them - older ones to be sure, but given the designs have mostly evolved (especially in the case of Audi) than changed dramatically, at a glance there's not much difference to look at!

Also, having owned or driven plenty of cars in my time, there is a lot to be said about a well-specced Audi or Merc. Again I'm talking older versions as I'm not fan of the "iPad glued to the dash" approach of most newer cars, but the 3 Audis I've owned have had quality, very well-wearing, logical interiors, that even 12+ years on still feel fresh and comfortable if looked after. I've owned Passats in the past as well and found them very similar (obviously!). The Germans just know how to build their interiors - with the exception of the E60 5 series which was a mess!

I took a model 3 for a test drive about a year or so back - sure the acceleration was impressive (but then so is my 3L TDI A7) but the interior was awful! Too much reliance on everything going through the bloody iPad, including essential functions because of the lack of wheel stalks. My son loved it because it was just like his tablet and he had all the interior colours and apps figured out in minutes, but as a car I found it very much lacking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Anois_

My neighbour bought a basic Porsche 911 so three months later I came home with a brand new Porsche 911 GT3 RS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,642 ✭✭✭✭893bet

You are the one over thinking it.

And jealous of your “rich farmer neighbours”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Anois_

I agree. It's not unusual for rich farmers to buy a Landcruiser. Maybe even pure coincidence you happened to buy one three months before them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,781 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I’m certainly not influenced by neighbours given I only recently got rid of a near 20 yo car- but I think people are starting to be influenced by neighbours getting EVs- for a few years there was only one EV owner near me- now there’s about 25% with EVs in a short space of time- I do think neighbours have an influence right now on whether someone close by to them will switch to EV. they’ll see the charger getting installed and obviously given how petrol prices are , I think that immediate reassurance from those living close by to you would have at least a small influence on your decision to go electric

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Dex Dexta

Only in Ireland could an AWD VAN be considered aspirational

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,110 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Reads like it's possibly more in your head than their's if I'm honest

Well time will tell. If they get a defender then I will know for definite my suspicions were right. If they get another Landcruiser I was probably jumping to conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭sruthair

the Landcruiser has had a price increase for the commercial one. in 2025 you could get one with metallic, towbar, for €74,000

there has been a refresh and its now only available in Mild Hybrid and with metallic , towbar, is around €80,000.

I dont pay attention to what others drive, just buy what I like.

yes you can just buy a defender off the shelf, there are 10 2026 ones for sale on donedeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,985 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

never bothered me…. Around here there are people driving everything from Skodas, Kia, Ford, Fiat, Hyundai, Tesla, Audi, Mercedes and everything in between.

Lad nearby in his early to mid 80’s who for as long as I knew him, from memory all he ever drove was a Ford Focus and then Volkswagen Golf’s, about a year ago he upgraded to an Audi A3 and I thought fair fûcks… lad has a bad back, bad feet, probably more bad given his age but he is enjoying his comfort in his later years, the way to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

As I said, I'm not a badge snob and drive what suits my needs. I could easily have a Merc, BMW or an Audi if I wished, but I don't need one so don't drive one. So for the avoidance of any doubt, I'm not targeting drivers of the marques I mentioned as being badge snobs either. But I do know a few characters in particular who do own these and proudly admit to doing so because of the badge, and are quite happy with being called "badge snobs" (ok, one is my brother 😂)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,558 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

People are like sheep and for some there is a bit of snobbery involved. A car is seen as a status symbol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,330 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The Jones's have access to PCP and so has everyone else so what's to keep up with except the payments ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Are you the same boastful Alfaguy from Backroads?
    Are you the Jones’s or are your wealthy neighbours?

Because reading that, it doesn’t sound like lads quietly getting on with their own thing with vehicles suitable for farming (that you also seem to have, just in a very different context). It sounds like you keeping tabs on who’s driving what, when they bought it, and whether they’re due an upgrade.

Most of your posts follow the same pattern. They’re not really about cars, they’re about ownership of cars. There’s always a mention of what you’re driving, how new it is, where you drove it to, and who else noticed it. That Defender day post was the cringiest of the lot. “Invite only”, long spin down from Tralee in the new 110, admiring everyone else’s “very impressive defenders”, convoy through villages causing a stir… it reads like a brochure you wrote about yourself.

Nothing wrong with liking your jeep, they're amazing looking and stunning cars, this is a car forum after all, but there’s a difference between enjoying it and needing everyone else to know about it. Around you there are people using similar yokes as actual tools, pulling, working, getting on with it, not thinking twice about how they look or who’s watching.

And to be honest, I’d say your neighbours aren’t thinking about you at all. They’re just changing jeeps when it suits them, not watching your driveway waiting to respond and not posting about it on forums.

You’re the only one keeping score here.

Well yes perhaps your right - what do you drive yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Don’t worry, nothing that’ll impress you or make you jealous. I’ve had a fair few niche Alfa Romeos and hot hatches over the years, but I’m in the thick of kids now so the stable is more about practicality. I’ll get back to the petrol head stuff again in time but for my own enjoyment and not to make the Jones's jealous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,502 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Solitary life with an inheritance he can't spend quick enough, and nobody to leave it to is my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭greenbin2

I got an amazefit watch last year then the very next day my sons got one each,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Dr.Tom

There’s a big difference in my opinion between being influenced by a neighbour and actually “Jonesing”.

Influencing your opinion means you were going to buy something regardless albeit a different type or model.

Jonesing means you had no intention of making a purchase but only do so when your neighbour purchased or changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

For an 'Alfa' guy you sure have beta energy.

It feels like your neighbour is in a lose/lose situation.

He gets a defender, as he like you prefers the look, he's copying you

He gets gets a land cruiser he's bought something you don't like

He gets something else you changing from the land cruiser made him turn off them

Maybe be less self conscious about what others are getting and enjoy what you have yourself.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭BrianD3

"Rich farmers" wouldn't care what a retired Garda is doing. They'd regard themselves as superior to him no matter what car he drove.

Keeping up with the Joneses in terms of cars is more something that public servants, multinational employees, "the professions" etc. do and even then it's not as specific as buying a car to keep up with a particular neighbour. Cars are bought to fit in in the neighbourhood and employee car park and to demonstrate status to everyone/noone in particular.

Keeping up with the Joneses is more of a thing with houses IME.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Buffman

If you don't want a pickup then it's not like there's much new jeep choice out there for proper farmers these days, trooper gone, pajero gone, landcruiser pretty much the only horse left in the stable.

I say that as any farmers I know consider anything from JLR these days too soft for proper farming, so I very much doubt the OPs neighbours will get one if they are proper farmers.

my new landcruiser intervals averaged every 7 years to their three.

Maybe I'm missing something OP, but if you only got a new one every 7 years and they got a new one every 3 years, how exactly are they copying you?

Is it like a leap year thing where they only 'copy' you every other 3 or 4 years?

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Public transport user? If you're sick of phantom ghost services on the 'official' RTI sources, check bustimes.org for actual 'real' RTI, if it's on their map it actually exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Etc

Wait till they start to buy 20 year old Fiesta vans, then you’ll really know.

Look AI says keeping up with the jones is still a thing in motoring Ireland - so it must be right.

I think the earlier post about the latest commercial Landcruisers being hybrids (diesel hybrids surely?) and costing €80k might be closer to the explanation as I know they were very anti EV or hybrids last time I spoke to them about Landcruisers. In fact their main concern when they bought their 2023 model was to get one before they became hybrids. Must have been something about it in the farmers journal or whatever.

“AI says” is doing a lot of heavy lifting there. What you’re describing still sounds like you watching them, not them watching you. Knowing what they bought, why they bought it, what they think about hybrids… that’s a fair level of interest in other people’s jeeps.

And on the Land Cruiser point, there’s probably a simpler explanation. For a lot of farmers those things are tools first, not statements. Reliability, resale, tax, towing, what the mechanic can fix quickly… that’s what drives the decision making. If they wanted the last of a certain spec before it changed, that’s just practical, not ideological.

You're obviously buying to impress other people, you basically told us that. They're buying for practicality.

It’s a different mindset entirely to the “what did I drive, where did I go, who noticed it” angle that comes across in your posts.

Nothing wrong with enjoying your own yoke, but you’re reading a lot more into their decisions than is likely there. They’re probably just buying what suits the job and getting on with it.