Boards Golf Society -Rd 2 New Forest, 21st of March, 1st Tee -11:00am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭blue note

Maybe 36 is unrealistic. Let's just play sudden death on the 19th hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,516 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

what’s the story for those who were asking about visitors?

Drop me a pm or what’s app and I’ll sort if yiz want a spot

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 2,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

I was asking, it was for my brother. He's not available, it turns out, thanks anyway.

timesheet has been rejigged

please check your time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

€55 to €60 on Diesel tomorrow. I had better play well.

• Administrators Posts: 56,307 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I assume this won't be counting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Macker1

I would be very surprised if that is the case. Even with the recent good weather most parkland courses I would imagine are still a week away from going to qualifying conditions. First medal in my home club is scheduled for next weekend and it was still a little soft in places with plenty of mudballs on Paddy's Day.

Post edited by Macker1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

As people get card be a good idea if told;

A) if counting

B) local rules ..bunkers ..placing

C) request to record round if counting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭Batesy

I take it the 'qualifying' / 'counting' is referring to the iGolf score / handicap tracking is it??

This will also be my 1st rodeo using this system so would be grateful to any kind soul to steer me right tomorrow :D

I have the app ready and believe I've to create a score card at the club tomorrow and get my score submitted after and signed off by another member? Sounds straightforward enough…

Yes it means the course conditions are such that scores are valid for handicap purposes.

If we’re told we’re allowed to place it everywhere ( fairway and rough) for example then this means tomorrows scores won’t be valid for handicap.

if it’s not counting, which it probably wont be, then you likely won’t be able to submit your score on the app tomorrow. You’ll just submit your physical scorecard in for the society comp.

it’s easy to figure out

Just try and create a scorecard (you can do it from anywhere). If you get the below, then the markers are turned off and qualifying not in play. It is important to note though that not all clubs do what they are supposed to and turn off the markers when it’s non qualifying season (so just because it’s available, doesn’t mean you should use it)

IMG_8478.png

so it won’t be qualifying tomorrow

and please note, small shift there to the time sheet. Weapons will have a guest with him

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

have often played 36 holes in one day, very achievable.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭tigerwood1

It was music to my ears listening to weather forecast on Radio 1 on the way to work this morning " another warm Sunny day tomorrow ☀️".

As @Seve OB says we have realigned the timesheet so please confirm you your tee. We still have two spots if anybody interested in joining last minute you can pm me, with weather forecast it promises to be a great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭bobster453

Have a great day everybody, weather looks great.

Looking forward to being regaled apres match with tales of woe and the "one that got away".😁

And if the sh1t hits the fan on the course, remember us poor sods who would love to be in the sh1t.

Results in

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 weapon of grass destruction

What a great day. Firstly much thanks to @tigerwood1 for pick an absolute gem, and all his hard work for making today a cracker and all the committee lads especially @Seve OB doing all the office work afterwards.

It was my first time playing new forest and it's been one of my favourite courses I've played, fair play to @tigerwood1 for a smashing choice. The day it's self was such an enjoyable round. When we finished we said that was the quickest 5hr round I've had it just flew in. The course just got better and better as you went along some of the greens were unreal. The weather was perfect and dinner outside to finish was one of my favourite boards outing so far.

I had the pleasure of @spuddy4711 and my cousin as a member guest. Martin was the best company you could ask for on a round, it was the most relaxed round I've played in a while bar the couple of assassination attempts from the group behind 😂. Martin was solid all day the greens caught him out a little early which hurt him for the win but he played great golf, automatically down the middle of every fairway and quite a few great approach shots. My cousin hasn't played much in a year and a half, he said he actually had to dust off the golf bag but you wouldn't of known it he was piping it about 250 down the middle all day his approaches were a little hit a miss.

I had a real steady day started off with 3 pars in a row but quickly followed by a scratch and mostly bogies until a birdie on the par 3 9th, similar back 9 with a chip in birdie to finish with 34 points, I was shocked that it got 2nd. I was even more shocked with @boccy23 getting 40 points that's incredible golf well played bud, big congratulations.

On to the next at Concra another new course im really excited to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭tigerwood1

A glorious day for golf, not often you get to enjoy food outdoors in March! ☀️🏌️‍♂️
    Congratulations to all our prize winners:
    1st Place: @boccy23 - 40 pts
    2nd Place: @weapon of grass destruction – 34 pts
    3rd Place: @Alanm 34pts

Back Nine Winner: @spacecoyote
    Nearest the Pin: @bakerbhoy
    Twos: @Seve OB – 11th
    @boccy23 – 11th
    @Weapon of Grass Destruction – 9th
    Longest Drive: @scotty_golf9

Great turnout and a cracking day all round 👏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,142 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

And again, congratulations to Boycie on his win 😂

tmHuOk.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Snackbox20

🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

New Forest

A course I only partially remember – so was nice to get back. What a cracking day as the mist rose over the midlands. We got off on time – but it was a day that was all about time. Sadly there were too many people on the course ahead – and it resulted in a long long day on the course.

But we made the best of it – Roadrunner, BohToffee and a new member , Batesy. Batesy – don’t judge some in that group as normal boards lads – they are actually more normal. Well, than me.

It was a much needed spring day – after a long wet and saturated winter. It was nice to hear the calls for hats and sunglasses and sun cream.

Group had some great golf and not so great golf, myself and Roadrunner played a matchplay match in a side game – this was a great match , but perhaps a tad bit of a distraction from the task at hand. A boards outing.

Was hard to get into any flow – your talking at times 10 mins waits on tee boxes. 5hours 30 mins for a round. 1 hour drive there and back. A long old day.

But – we were out in good company on a very good course – with very interesting layout and hole types. Slightly a Celtic Tiger layout – with gaps in holes and tee boxes, but still a great course to add to the list.

There are obviously courses we are much grateful for at this point – that enable societies , rates stay good. But , I would ask that they review their numbers. It just doesn’t work and results in a poor overall experience. But I guess you can’t have it all.

Roadrunner hit some absolutely amazing shots – and there are no holes on the course he can not reach in regulation or under. If he wanted to go near level again he could had. But he doesn’t play much golf, so the spectacular is always too tempting – we only have one go in this life and this earth – but he will live on another planet and space and time.

Batesy – poor lad , some mad group to join in on for first outing. Lads hiting 300 yard drives and a few head cases (“cough cough”) – he is only getting back into golf – but you can see he will have a good game and improve massively – has a lovely ball flight . Would like to see him get a few easier clubs to hit.

BohToffee has a very powerful game and great touch around the greens – he is a very calming influence on a group and was the calm in the storm.

Myself – soft ground a long week and long round , is not going to be my thing . Very steep for New Forest – so work needed to be up to that. A schoolboy error (a thing I don’t do) of going to a boards outing with limited time caught up with me.

Enjoyed the course – the day and the laughs. Was nice to see Tiger on top of things, all action.

Tiger was like one of them Captains in a Ryder cup with the Buggy – I’ll judge in a few months if this Is Seve, Harrington , Watson , Donald or Faldo level – the jury is still in deliberation. Things looking great at present. But things can change quickly.

Fair play all the good scores and winners. Might have seen that Boccy lad near the top before ? Weapons one to watch this year – and great round from Alanm – on a tough new course.

Away in April – hopefully around in May.

Post edited by FixdePitchmark on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 341 ✭✭Alanm

What a pleasure to get out playing in the sunshine, it's been a long winter and great to see some proper spring weather. Hopefully we'll have the return of qualifying golf soon. I thought the course was in great shape considering the weather, the greens will be super once they firm up again, in saying that even thought they were soft - they did roll pretty well!

Had a great day out with @Kiith, @blue note and @Roger Mellie Man on the Telly. Kiith and Blue Note both hit some absolutely superb shots, but unfortuneatly sprayed a few that cost them both good scores. Roger Mellie has a great score in him, a few chipping and putting lessons/practice and your handicap will drop quickly - very good off the tee and some great longer shots during the round. The highlight of the day had to be @blue note on the 15th (the par 5 up the hill), great drive up the left followed by a majestic 4 iron to about 4 feet, pity the putt didn't drop...

My own golf was solid, hit plenty of good drives and approaches, just didn't convert enough of the birdie chances to go super low. In saying that, I did make a few inside 8 ft that kept my score going. Two significant mistakes cost me a brilliant round, a bad drive on 10 resulted in a lost ball - didn't really know where I was trying to hit it and went too far right which kicked down into the heavy rough and a shank on 14 with a wedge (was trying to hit it hard, when the right play was probably an easy 9). 34 points and 3rd overall will do nicely! New Forest has been very kind to me, maybe we should consider making it a regular venue for the society :D

What did people think of the 12th? How did you play it? I hit driver over the water down the left, got up to my ball and realised it's about 10 yards between oob and water there, really wasn't the right play, but it worked out! Talking to a member later and he said nearly everyone plays it as essentially a 3 shot hole, put the ball somewhere down near that big tree on the right and try and lay up somewhere near the green.. tough hole.

Thanks captain @tigerwood1 and the rest of the committee for the day. See you all in Concra next month!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 2,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

That was an excellent day in the sunshine in Westmeath (not a sentence you hear often! 😁)

I teed off the in the second group with @Break80 , @Seve OB and @Sorbet - excellent company for the 5 and a half hours on the course, then a couple more in the evening sunshine on the terrace.

My game was decidedly variable - opening with three straight 4s gave me 10 points, and definitely a false sense of optimism. The golfing gods re-asserted themselves from then on, and while I turned on 16 points, my back nine was a mixture of horrible and hopeful - six scratches to go with 3 bogeys.

Still, I hit enough good shots to give me hope for a half-decent summer, and I really enjoyed the course, the walk and the company.

Even when in middle of my horrible back nine, I thought of the wise words of @bobster453, above: "And if the sh1t hits the fan on the course, remember us poor sods who would love to be in the sh1t."

Thanks as always to @tigerwood1, and all who worked to make it such a fun day out. I won't make Concra Wood, but I plan to make as many of the other outings as possible.

Well, It was great to make my debut on Saturday and thanks to all the members I got to meet for making me feel welcome. I was quite nervous as the newbie on the day. You clearly have a very special Society here with a great mix of characters.

Thanks to Captain tigerwood1 and the wider committee for the organisation and also congratulations to the winner on the day boccy23 with a cracking score!

All I can say is thanks to my playing partners FixdePitchmark, RoadRunner and BohToffee for dragging me along on Saturday as I basically hacked my way around for the most part. Rusty would be an understatement. 3 gents who made me feel welcome and thankfully my golf didn't seem to rub off on them too much.

At times it seemed that my playing partners were playing a completely different game than I was, but it was a joy to watch some of ball striking on display.

RoadRunner has an impressive skill of making straight 300 yard drives look very easy. FixdePitchmark would then step up to his saying "That was a joke, too good, how are we supposed to compete with that..." etc only to then basically smash one up alongside it! What a ding-dong battle of a match-play that was to witness. When BohToffee hits a ball it stays hit too may I add!

It was nerve racking as a debutant and having not swung a club in a while I didn't really know what to expect, but I somehow managed to step up on the 1st and put my drive down the middle. "This is going to be fine.." I said to myself. Apart from the odd decent drive / rare recovery shot, there wasn't anything fine about the rest of the golf I produced.

At one point, FixdePitchmark and RoadRunner caught a glimpse of the irons I was attempting to hit (an ancient set of Titleist 690MB blades that once belonged to a club pro I believe) They correctly pointed out that these sticks are not helping my cause. I'll take that advice onboard and I'm planning on acquiring a more user friendly set for my skill level.

BohToffee knows his golf and had some wise words after my closing shot on 18. A 10ft left to right putt held. "That's the one that'll bring you back for more..."

He's dead right lads.
    See you all in Concra Wood.

Batesy

good write ups lads

Well weren’t blessed as usual with the weather. A summers day in the middle of a Spring that has felt like the worst winter ever.

I’d played the course a few times, but it was a while ago now and the memories were a bit vague, but as we moved our way around it was like, “ah yea I remember this place now”. You know sometimes you might remember golf holes quite well, but might just not remember which course it was on! 😂 well a few of them clicked the other day, the stretch from 14-17. A mix of old age I guess and just the fact that I’ve been lucky enough to have played so many different courses.

There was once a time I could not only remember a round vividly from a couple of months back, but I would also remember what clubs I hit on every shot. I’m now struggling to remember what I had for breakfast this morning let alone where I played every shot from yesterday and which club I used 🤣😂

Could be worse though, I could have been playing on the nags head tour with Boycie and the Golfnet crew. I’m actually surprised @tigerwood1 managed to pull off 2 successful outings so far with all of his Freudian slips 😂. Ah you done well fella, fair play on picking a great course. I’d forgotten how good it is. Would be a pleasure to play it more often.

My golf was only ok at times but I’ve had a very busy few months lately and haven’t really been out at all so I wasn’t expecting much. Highlights of the day was holing out on 11 after hitting my tee shot long and right, with a tricky approach from about 30 yards, and little to no green to work with, I summoned my inner Phil Mickleson and managed to get the ball high in the air and drop on the edge of the green. From there I could see there was only one place it was going and a nice share of the 2’s pot. It was nice after missing an 8 footer on the garden hole just before.

Great craic with the lads @TrueDub @Break80 & @Sorbet. It was brutal slow with the society in front of us holding us up, but we didn’t let it dampen the spirits but I was bloody shattered coming down the stretch

Well done to all the winners & I Look forward already to the next one, I played Concra when it first opened and am looking forward the the return visit after many many years….. must be 15 or more. I think they may have made some changes although I remember very little as per above 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭boccy23

Well, thanks to everyone, the weather included, for another excellent BGS day out on Saturday. When I was going well toward the end of the back 9, all I could think of was @FixdePitchmark slagging me off in Arklow for being a bandit! 😁 I must be really as all my wins in BGS have come on non-counting days. Sooo maybe there is something in that.

I had played in New Forest before as brother-in-law was a member but fecked if I could remember it really. Was fortunate to have @Richiemaloney in our group who gave us excellent advice on lines and misses around the course. Myself and Richie also took the money from @a post punk & @bakerbhoy so a nice day overall!

I had played a good but over the winter, so knew that my game wasn't totally rusty, but a big swipe right on the first and a frantic search with PP for ball wasn't the ideal start. Followed up with a near shank and I was wondering what the day had ahead. A good pitch and chance at a par. Dreaded 3 stab later and very deflated coming off the 1st. On the second came up a little short but a good pitch and a nice putt gave me 3 points and evened up the ledger. Parred both the 3rd and 4th, solid 2 points on 5 before a hackers way up 6 gave me 1 point. But playing nicely all told at that stage. Our game with the lads was back and forth at that stage as PostPunk birdied the Index 2 for 5 points and Bakerbhoy can get up and down form anywhere.

Kept the round going nicely over the next while and came to the 11th. Hit a hybrid just over the bunker on the right to the green. Had a long putt up and over the step to the downhill hole. Would have been delighted to 2 putt it but as it crested the hill and tumbled over it, it started to track in. And low and behold drop she did for a 2. Must have 45 feet, so a real brucie bonus.

It was real hit or miss after that. Scratched the 12th after a lost tee ball. 1 point on 13 but then parred 14. Par 5 15th and hit a good drive, a good second and a nice pitch to 12 feet left of the pin uphill. Rolled the putt and thought it was going to run out of steam, but she toppled in for a birdie.

On the brutal par 3, I skyed a 3W. Left with 118yds to middle and striped a PW which pitched no less than 6 inches from the hole which resulted in a 2-point 4. That green is dodgy AF. Richie was on the green but couldn't feasibly putt at the pin without taking it into the rough. I advised he should have chipped off the green. But not really a fair result from a great tee shot.

On the 17th, I melted a drive which was about 50 short of where @RoadRunner was! And then he was even passed by @scotty_golf9. These boys are playing a different game. Hit a lovely hybrid about 50 short. Was close to where Bakerbhoy was, so really concentrated on the pitch to try and get inside him. Nice 52deg wedge which pitched and ran up. It was one of those that looked close from the fairway, that I assumed would be a good distance away by the time I got to the green. But as I was getting to the green, it was actually looking closer. It finished about 6 inches from an eagle. Tap in birdie, 3rd of the 9 - definitely a record.

Funny then, Richie says on the 18th tee that I must have a decent score. PostPunk gave out to him, not Richie's fault in any way, but I topped my drive and then shanked the second ball out of bounds to scratch the last. Nice way to finish! But when Bakerbhoy told me I had 40, 2 twenties, I was delighted.

The round was so much fun with the lads. @a post punk started really well and had 18 points turning. Buthsi driving deserted him on the back 9 and he limped home. Harder ground will suit and he will be back in the winners circle. @Richiemaloney, my partner for the day can drive the ball a mile and a few of his irons went forever. But the struggle was around the soft greens. Again, when the ground dries up, he will have his day. My old sparring partner @bakerbhoy didn't have his best game. His super short game kept him in it for the early part of the round, but he fell out with the greens on the back 9 which cost him a chance to compete. Did win the fiver though.

Thanks again to @tigerwood1 for the excellent day out. It was very nice to sit outside and eat and dissect the round in the sun. Thanks to @Seve OB for the usual excellent paperwork. Unfortunately I won't make Concra Woods. A date night with Peter Kay awaits, so see you all in Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Congrats boccy on a really great score and the win!

Great round for myself and good craic on the way around with playing partners Fix, BohToffee and Batesy. We would have a long time in each others company as it was a slow round. 5:15+ I think I heard afterwards. Despite this, I enjoyed being out in the sun for that long, I played most of the round in just a t-shirt which was the best way to get over a long winter. Setting up outside in the sun after the round was a nice idea, and everyone seemed to be getting over a dark dull winter together. I sadly had to run before the prizes were announced. But enjoyed the chicken curry and banter afterwards as much as the golf itself.

I played well, but took on a little too much at times. Stitched some of the provo's! I lost 4 balls out there, maybe 5, and missed to short putts, which means I could have been on a really great score.

Fix and myself played a match and I was watching him carefully throughout. We ended up halfing the match somehow despite my score being better than his by a number of shots, which means I'm not getting the best scoring out of my game. I actually had to make a comeback in the last few holes to get that half. We're going to replay again as the match requires a winner. He was complaining thought the round "how can I compete against this" (after each good shot I hit), then stiched his next shot constantly inside mine. It was very entertaining I imagine. But perhaps quite intimidating to new guy Batesy. Batesy stood up on #1 and hammered a perfectly struck ball down the first. Playing of 19 (I think), I thought this could someone who got off their horse and has come to plunder the board society prize giving ceremony, but then he duffed the next few off the softer ground which he clearly wasn't used to. It took a while to get the pace of the greens for him. There was rust, but you can see there's a powerful swing and clinical with the driver. But Batesy passed the test. I think and hope we're going to see more of him. BohToffee is massive. When he hits the ball the power of two to three people combine together and sound and ball flight is incredible. Though he is a moving mountain he's also the nicest lad you will meet in the society and a pleasure to be on the course with!

My two games now have been tidy enough, and I'm hoping this gets me somewhere up the pointy end of the year long run to make the jug team. Next up is a course I've heard about but never played and one of the great lake courses of the country by all account. Already looking forward to it.

(Fix utterly stitched the shot over the water from this position, just missing a birdy, but securing a solid par. Though a very good golfer - he's a bit of a tulip! 😄)

image.png

I can't remember the last time I played as poorly as I did on Saturday. I have been in poor enough form for the past 2 or 3 weeks and it really did continue in to the weekend.

Started off with a double on the first, a painful 3 putt that set the tone for the day. I couldn't get a grip on the greens at all, I think they were in poor enough condition. Felt like they'd cut the grass too short and then rolled them, which made them feel a bit muddy and soft. I was looking for breaks that never came. Short game was appalling too, kept hitting it fat.

I can't really remember much about my round because most of it was just **** golf shot followed by another **** golf shot. I think I managed to put 2 pars on the card on 11 and 17.

The course itself is nice, it's much more challenging than it looks. The 12th hole is a bit whacky, I think it'd probably benefit from the drain being covered over at least partially.

Went round with @spacecoyote , @charlieIRL and @Concerned2 .

@Concerned2 should have put in a big score on Sat. Was bombing it off the tee and some of the short game shots he hit around the green had to be seen to be believed. Just got caught out on a few holes that cost him a great score. Lost his ball in the ivy on the wall on the 9th somehow!

@spacecoyote I've played with a good few times, was his usual solid self going round. Another man who could have had a high score on the day but a few missed short putts really proved costly.

First time playing with @charlieIRL who also had some great holes. Stitched an absolute cracker of an iron shot onto the green on the 10th and left himself with a reasonable birdie putt. A bit like myself though, a few wayward shots and lost balls were costly.

Sitting out in the sun after was a nice change from the bleak weather we've had the past few months.

Well done to winner @boccy23 , 40 points with a scratch on the last, some shooting! And to all other prize winners too.

Great choice of course by captain @tigerwood1 .

Unfortunately I won't make Concra Wood as I am away, but I'll see ye all in Gowran Park at the end of May!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭bobster453

Maybe @FixdePitchmark is a bit of a narcissis rather than a tulip @RoadRunner 🤣

But nice try lad 😃😃