No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

smaller marts are great for calves or else have your numbers first but that can backfire.

You can’t just send frozen produce on an ordinary container. A 40 foot reefer container would cost somewhere in the region of €8k from Australia to mainland UK including miscellaneous and administrative costs. You could probably add in another couple of thousand for transport and storage to and from port at each end.

sorry forgot to quote. Above was a reply to bog man post above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Younger days, first time at listowel races with a friend, not a clue. Picking odds from a race card, placing & winning small. Bumped into a another fellow from the Badmintin club, who was into horseracing who explained the card, what we thought were odds was the jockey's weight. He took us down to the parade ring, all about horses and the tote. We didn't win a blessed thing after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

In macroom this morning at 7 30 there was 29 pens of bullocks gone in before me.some mart of cattle and they were a flying trade big and small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭148multi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,981 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

They came back today to do the work they should have done yesterday and get overtime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

dead lifted 180kg yesterday evening,

Went for a 3hour 26km run today after farming,

walking like John Wayne now.

I’ve only 6 cows calving this year.

My best one got listeria and it went deep in her eye and lost her calf 3 weeks from calving.

4 others got it too but vet seems to have caught it on time. So hoping they will be ok.

Finishing up planting hawthorns tomorrow.

Doing some around where I’m setting up for a beehive for OH- bees due in 3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭Base price

That's tough - there must be soil contamination in the silage. Best of luck with the others and most importunately take care of yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

Who do you contact when a farmer keeps an animal in a shed for months a time. I asked on this forum last year when it was a donkey. Most of the replies were “maybe it’s injured. This year hes kept a poor cow in this tiny shed for weeks and weeks and weeks. Up to her knees in ****. They’ve literally had to hire a mini digger to empty the shed out.

Who do I ring? I have photos

Post edited by Tilikum17 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Thanks.

ah tis life. I was considering not making silage anymore as the land is so heavy and looking at the sky all the time.

I’ll bale the good fields and not stress.

the OH and the lads are off to Oz for a month. Kinda wish I went too.

all good from a head space point of view. Training for the 50km is on track.

Would you prefer if she was out in the wind and the rain all winter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,799 ✭✭✭emaherx

Have you tried Google? It would be much quicker than a years worth of asking in a farming forum.

https://www.google.com/search?q=reporting+animal+welfare+issues&oq=reporting+animal+welfare+issues+&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUyBggAEEUYOdIBCjEyODIwajBqMjmoAgCwAgE&client=ms-android-xiaomi-terr2-rso2&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8

Sounds awful, animals housed for the winter with so much bedding they needed a machine to clean it out!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

It’s also worth remembering that we shouldn’t judge animals by human standards of clean, dirty, comfortable, etc.

I'd say the farmer is delighted you know more about keeping animals than they do

Was talking to a man here well into his 70s. He said he used to stay at home when his oh brought the kids on holidays as he was afraid people would need him while he was away, he services things. He said what a fool he was, people will get by and all the chances he missed for quality time with his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,881 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Yeah Kinda learned that the older I got. Interesting a different sense that you vould do everything for some people for years but in the end they would throw you aside like nothing when it suits them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭older by the day

Sounds like that farmer used a lot of straw under his animal this winter. If its built up to that height. Again no understanding of what was happening. Helping that trouble maker, whom comes on here now and then with her grudge with that old fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,573 ✭✭✭straight

Quality Time isn't a thing anymore. It's just time. The quality part was just an industry thing to extract money from you. I was never on a holiday with my parents and we had plenty time together working on the farm. That man shouldn't be hard on himself or feel as though he didnt measure up. It sounds like he built a business and reared his family, educated them, and sent them on holidays. He is lucky to have his health after all his time and needs to stop overthinking and spend some time on himself now after all his hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭endainoz

While the term "quality time" is definitely an American import, it's still important to be able to switch off from the work mindset sometimes. Going off on a family holiday probably wasn't the done thing in your parents time, or it may have been unattainable for whatever reason. I never went anywhere on holiday with my parents either but I know it's important to do things together as a family now that's not work related. It doesn't have to be a lavish expensive activity either.

I agree with that. Climb a mountain, cycling, plenty things to do. Anything to get them, and us away from the screens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

"The Valley of the Squinting Windows" with a camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

There was a relatively young man yesterday round these parts was cleaning out a dung shed for a customer of the contractor he was working for all his life. He was chatting away to the farmer with not a care in the world. He went home after work and seemingly died of a heart attack. He was a tasty man on machinery and kept the contractor going between himself and his brother.

Growing up you think of all these people and neighbours as like immoveable rocks and then the grim reaper takes them as the years go by and they do go by very quick. The time of our youth is a very different world of today. I'm not sure what the answer is. Farmers in general are taken advantage of for work and services the same. Time goes by and we don't get it back.

Further to @straight my parents never went on holidays themselves let alone with the family. Time was spent though making our own amusement on farm with ponies, donkeys, rabbits, hens, ducks, horses, sheep, cows and days out at the mountain, beach, ag shows. You would be jealous though of the families that went on holidays abroad and the stories they had coming back. One family that sticks in my mind were dairy farmers with a real tasty farm and house that holidayed in Spain. That whole family now though sold that farm and moved to Australia. Now maybe they are jealous of us that stayed and kept slogging through. Who knows? Jealously is not an admirable trait either.

We are only all here for a short time either. That's a learned life lesson.

You have to balance things too. The work will still be here when we are dead and gone.

Ah depends on the person too. I for one ain't one for travelling. Did enough of that in the army. Do a few jobs during the day and watch abit of TV or play the computer. That keeps me happy. Low maintenance and abit of a tight hoor maybe. Herself does head off to England to the relatives a couple of times a year with the kids.

A Break from them for a week at a time can be as good as a holiday 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,044 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Hate to admit it, but that's the biggest life lesson I had to learn. "Eaten bread is soon forgotten" and all that. "Look after yourself, because no one else will" is my motto now

Yeah kinda gone like that now. I expect the worst out of people now so that at least I'm not caught off guard

Men are very bad to look after their health, myself included. Plenty lads around here died too young.

That's The thing, having loads of money is no good to you if you're dead. Enjoy it while you can

I tell my father that the crowd after him won't be long spending it. 🤣