Couple Ordered to Demolish House - any update?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭Hoboo

So you can get the lube out? Very eager there to see someone else’s misery. I presume you meant Kudos too. Or maybe quesos if you’re handing out cheese prizes.

I think the house should be torn down but why seek pleasure in others suffering. Very weird comment. Long look in the mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,707 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

a bit like that crowd in Dalkey years ago who’s ’bog standard’ house was repossessed, there’s no sympathy for them.
    offering the house to charity too, the last refuge of a rouge.
    Doing a legger and hiding wherever they are and leaving their kids behind to clean up their mess and watch the only home they’ve known be taken away from them is abuse in my book.
    the kids are blameless in this. How the parents have used them throughout this whole thing will do them irreparable harm.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Yes I suppose it could be repurposed as a pig sty by the happy pig company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭techman1

All the talk about council's enforcing planning laws, most people get away with it. I think this is the first time in this country that an illegal house has been demolished by the council. Achill henge still stands even though it was also built illegally and was ordered to be demolished years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭SaxySaxSolo

Can someone explain why the architecture can be considered as part of the planning permission system? I'm going to be honest and say that I don't care how others design their house on their land that they paid for to look like as long as it doesn't pollute the local air or water, you can and should build what ever style of house you want beside me.

My question is how did the planning permission system end up allowing the grounds for refusal based on visual aspects that have no impact on the environment? Was it all just cartel behaviour when the laws were being created so that the architects of Ireland have jobs for life? Some of the council guidelines are way too specific. I find it crazy how the system can disapprove a build over the smallest of architectural details like rendering or too many windows.

Councils in this country are worse then American HOAs on these aspects. At least the HOA has the decency to sell the house on.

And don't get me started on the racist "Local needs only" clause some of these councils have, which is totally contrary to EU freedom of movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭XT1200

One last try

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/judge-refuses-to-pause-orders-allowing-for-demolition-of-meath-house-1876976.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

recently planners have decided eaves are no longer desireable despite the fact they help protect the render and provide air circulation. Windows are getting smaller and smaller too so people end up having to use more artificial light. The list goes on and on.

Bungalows were built for 60 years plus here. They’re part of our vernacular architecture but they seem intent on erasing them or that they ever existed.

Whereas they don’t seem to care that people pave or Astroturf every possible square inch outside for a ‘low maintenance’ site. People wanting to drive ‘all the way around’ their house is permitted. God forbid they’d use reverse gear.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

Yes I was just reading over the rural design guidelines for Meath, which was mentioned in the initial refusal latest refusal of the smaller house in this case, and it seems like they absolutely hate anything that resembles the bungalows from the bungalow bliss era, which is odd as in one of the refusals it states:

"notwithstanding the proposed alterations, whereby it would not reflect the traditional vernacular style of the area as detailed in the Meath Rural House Design Guide." Despite the fact that the houses surrounding it look like bungalows that the design guide hates. So what do the planners want?

Post edited by SaxySaxSolo on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭FREDNISMO

Yes Your right but there is so much begrudgery towards the people involved, it's uncalled for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,477 ✭✭✭✭L1011

There is zero begrudgery. They're criminals who have evaded punishment for two decades.

I would be of the opinion that anyone who uses the term "begrudgery" about something like this should be forced to actually read a dictionary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,791 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

That’s not what begrudgery is. They have done notching positive or successful for us to begrudge.

I would call it animosity, and they deserve every bit of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭Get Real

Yes. A waste of resources on people who willingly broke the law. Whether I/you/they agree with the law is irrelevant. It should be respected.

The process should have been followed/they could have made amendments so that something similar would have gotten permission.

It's a boo hoo now that it's caught up with them. And yes, the State has to cover the costs and resources of tearing it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,415 ✭✭✭✭Penn

"The process should have been followed/they could have made amendments so that something similar would have gotten permission."

While that is generally the right course of action, in this particular case nothing was going to be granted permission at all. No amount of changing the design would have changed anything. Many of the applications they subsequently put in were to demolish parts of the house to make it smaller and keep the rest. But the Council couldn't grant any of them, because nothing was permitted to be built on the land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Cole train

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Wait until we see our neighbours building big yokes up to 45sqm in their back gardens. And massive dormer windows overlooking you sunbathing in your back garden.

Free for all on its way in some regards, demolition in others.

I have little sympathy for the Murrays though. Chancers with arrogance.

Do you not see the contradiction in the sentence? The rural design guidelines heavily tell you to avoid the style of bungalow that the planners say is the traditional vernacular style of the area.

So I've spent all my time and money designing a house to the guidelines only to be told in essence: no you must design completely against said guidelines because the houses in the locality look different but you also need to comply with the guild lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,106 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Rose was also on RTE radio news podcast and contradicting herself on LMFM podcast

“They offered us bed and breakfast accommodation, to move in with all the refugees they’re bringing into the country. So at the moment, we’re homeless. Irish citizens, paying taxes all our life in our own country, we’re homeless. We’re the wrong nationality. If we were foreigners, we’d have more rights at the moment. It’s a disgrace what’s going on.”

https://www.thejournal.ie/meath-planning-dispute-6989611-Mar2026/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭batman75

How or why do councils get to decide what style of house you get to put up on your land? As long as your house doesn't diminish light for a neighbour and you can give access to a public road safely.

I get why the Murrays have to pull down the house. They, for reasons only they know, went ahead and built a house without planning permission. So the authorities, as a matter of principle, have to insist it comes down or you'd set a dangerous precedent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Any chance you'd throw up the plans or even just the front elevation of the 'smaller house' or the planner's decision document? I can't seem to find it online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭mountain

the Murray’s solicitor must have been sleeping the past 20 years,

“Mr McNelis claimed there was a need for "calmness" and "a time of reflection" to allow his clients to engage with the county council.”

They have ignored the courts for 20 years, and are still trying to

Whoops meant to say the latest application not initial, the design guidelines mentioned in that one are from 2021 - 2027 as the application was put in for 2025.

https://www.pleanala.ie/anbordpleanala/media/abp/cases/reports/322/r322196.pdf?r=732570

This is the 2006 application that was refused, unfortunately the documents on the reason for the refusal aren't there.

https://www.eplanning.ie/MeathCC/AppFileRefDetails/KA60180/0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭alias no.9

This is a difficult case for all involved, except for the solicitors and barristers who kept the circus going in court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,781 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

For me the European courts last minute dash action just sums up this case- they used the mechanisms of law to the Nth degree to try and stifle legitimate legal responses- at every stage.
    Not once did they question their original decision, which they now admit was….”a mistake”.

I’d call it more than just “a mistake”- but that would be kicking them when they’re down.

But still, arguing over needing to await a European court decision on a fcking planning issue, which will just never take place and will ultimately be rejected, just shows how myopic their approach has been from the outset.

But again, we don’t know if this couple are just taking the pizz at this stage- they built the house themselves 20 years ago for a lot less money than it would cost to buy it today - they gambled on trying to keep it - they lost.

No pity- they probably paid more out on legal expenses and liabilities and what not than the house cost- bad decision - they could be entering retirement now comfortably if they so wished without this hanging over them - plenty of exit ramps they chose not to take.

Maybe their site can become a nice picnic area earner for them once restored and we’ll be paying €20 pp to visit it 🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,707 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Did you make submissions when your own local development plan was /is being revised? Did you discuss any concerns with your local councillor. It is them after all who amend and/ or adopt the plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,415 ✭✭✭✭Penn

It's not a contradiction because everything has to be viewed as a whole. They don't want bungalows like the old bungalow bliss style simply because there are so many of them, they were just dropped onto a site with minimal consideration, and they lead to poor internal layouts. The traditional vernacular style they are looking for is about simple forms, using local materials where possible (particularly stonework native to the area) which are designed to suit the site and properly utilise the site orientation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,781 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“but to hell with the begrudgers”

Fine we’ll be around your gaff tomorrow to build a house in your back garden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭standardg60

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭jelutong

They hardly got a bank loan to build it when there was no planning permission in place.