David Byrne, 3Arena, March 2026

1234568»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Dexters Bow Tie

Reading these reviews has convinced me to get tickets for St. Anne's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,358 ✭✭✭sporina

still wakening up with songs from the concert in my head… now there's value for money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭LowOdour

It was an amazing gig, just pure joy from start to finish. Im also tempted to go again…definitely don't buy into the idea that it wont feel the same at an outdoor venue. The songs maketh the magic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭SteM

Agreed, we were in block K and usually there is just a sea of mobile phones in front of you but they were noticeable by their absence. The ending shot on the back screen of Life During Wartime with the helicopter searchlights was fantastic, looked incredible. Myself and my wife have been talking about this show all weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭beecee

I managed to get lucky with the people beside me getting in a fight over talking from behind 🙄 Pain in the ass!!

Still an amazing gig. So glad I was there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,438 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

was that in Block A - there was some sort of shouting going on behind us towards the end.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

PS lovvvved that he did "i met a buddha at a downtown party"…. LOVEEE that song and wasn't expecting it - wasn't on any set list I saw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

I noticed people taking photos/videos, but they were respectful and discrete. One guy beside me was videoing quite a bit, but him going to the bar multiple times was more distracting. But he was enjoying himself, and it didn't really affect me.

It was really great to see how much people loved the show.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,925 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

I can't attend the gig at St Anne's park, but got lucky in a different way: I'll be in Athens, Greece for a few days in June and he plays there.

The extra bonuses:

1.Two very interesting support bands, Nation of Language and Deadletter and

2.The ticket is only 45 euro!! (Apparently is co-organised through a local cultural institute that kind of subsidisies the ticket price)

Ticket duly bought!!

Upcoming gigs and events: Dry Cleaning, The Shawshank Redemption, Sprints, These Charming Men, Sasha Velour, Disorder Festival, David Byrne, The Cure, Garbage, Bob The Drag Queen, Sigur Ros, Olafur Arnalds, Cabaret Voltaire, Angine de Poitrine, Cardinals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭facehugger99

That's gone straight onto my Mount Rushmore of gigs.

I went in expecting it to be brilliant, which is always a recipe for disappointment but somehow DB exceeded my expectations.

I don't want to go to St Annes because that was just perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,963 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

He had been doing it, but then replaced it with Moisturizing Thing, before swapping it back in Dublin.

2026 Gigs and Events: An Evening with The Fast Show, Prima Facie, Stereolab (NCH), Foo Fighters, David Byrne (3Arena), Belle and Sebastian (x2), Sleeper, Paul Simon, David Byrne (St. Anne's Park), Metallica (x2), Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Embrace, Sigur Rós with the Ulster Orchestra, Crash Test Dummies, Ben Folds, Jeff Tweedy

ah ok it wasn't on the playlist I have been listening too on spotify - oh well - a nice surprise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,182 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭beecee

Yeah, that was it. Right at the start of the encore. Very annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,490 ✭✭✭✭fits

I’m going to get tickets for st Anne’s park even though I have something else on that weekend as well. Tried twice to get front standing on resale and transaction wouldn’t go through. I’m short in stature so would be a big help to have these.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

Loved everything about this gig. I was actually close to tears for Heaven and stayed in a beautiful mood for the rest of the gig. I did wonder how people who had seen American Utopia would feel about this one and I wonder if that was Mrs S's main issue, though I see a few others had seen it too and still enjoyed this one. I must watch AU on stream to see how it compares. Anyways, this gig was among my favourite ever gigs, up there with probably the best gig I've ever seen, St Vincent solo at the Olympia. Thinking of that gig, you can see why they are fans of each other - she has the same inventiveness and theatricality as DB. I actually only got into her after her DB collaborations but did randomly walk in on the 2013 EP gig in time to catch a joyous We're On The Road To Nowhere. Looking at the setlist now I could go back and kick myself I wasn't there for the whole gig!

20260313_211749.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭TenPicnics

@phibsboro,

I started with the tears about 10 seconds into Heaven :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭fillup

I was at AU and last Fridays show

Who is this Sky is an evolution of what he started with in AU - it's the same concept of wireless musicians (deffo no backing tracks), freed from the shackles of a tether to a back line to be marshalled around the blank space of the PA free stage.

This time round and 8 yrs later the visual element have evolved leaps and bounds with the high def videos synched up to the performance

So to answer ur Q , if ud seen AU, This Sky wouldn't have been as big a revelation of the art of what staging is possible with moder technology. But that didn't detract from the enjoyment or impact of the spectacle

AnAnd anyway, what's wrong with being a Marxist shill?

Better than being a MAGA twat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,563 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I see on facebook his band was in The Hacienda Bar after the show

Wonder does MCD/Aiken have unqie access to that place as it's difficut to see any of the 'big stars' standing outside talking into the intercom for admission

Heard it's a nice pub, wouldn't have the confidence to get inspected before I'm allowed in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Thrashssacre

Be organised well beforehand I reckon he usually knows who's coming, it's a lovely spot actually. Especially midweek it can be absolutely rammed Friday/Saturday.

Mostly at something in Dublin when they open with there unusual hours. Pity he won't open earlier in the day if a big weekend gig is on or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

The guy who owns it loves having famous people in there. He's a bit eccentric. Obviously there's a fixer involved, as it's used by a lot of high profile musicians and actors.

Getting inspected is usually grand. Just don't show up in a group. I've only been turned away once, when in a group of 6, and we just came back in pairs, about ten mins later and had no issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Yeah, it's a nice spot alright. Seems to be the spot for celebrities in Dublin these days and you can understand why. Would absolutely be organised well beforehand and I'd say yer man would be very selective of who he lets in (if anyone) when he has a celebrity coming.

Me been a loner might make him feel I'm 'too drunk' or such

One day I'll get there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,857 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

He told me he gets a heads up it might be happening, but usually only gets a phonecall when they're on the way.

Yeah, he's definitely more selective if he knows there's a chance of a big name, but a large part of the appeal is the possibility of a lock in with a celebrity, so a few normies always get in, usually past my bedtime by the time they arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,182 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I could only get general standing.

Thing about St Anne's is that if you are further back it usually gets more spread out and easier for us shorties .😊I get a pain in my neck straining to look up when I am stuck in a crowd .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭Fanirish

yeah all the promoters have his phone number. They will contact him with a heads up.
    the only time recently that it was booked out as private was when Taylor Swift visited after aviva shows. For obvious reasons only people on a pre approved list could get in. No random people allowed in that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,759 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The Hacienda might be 'cool', but it is a death trap. Door locked with patrons inside, bars on all windows and doors. Door can only be opened by owner.

As I said, a death trap, and a mini-Stardust waiting to happen.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭SteM

I'm totally out of the loop, our office moved up near there recently and every time I passed it by I though that bar was closed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭Fanirish

open every evening but you can never tell from the outside.