What Tractor? The age old question!

• 17-03-2026 02:46PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,667 ✭✭✭

I think I'm in the market for a new (additional tractor)

I have a handy 100hp Massey on a loader in the yard and I'm happy with it, but its getting old at this stage and it would be pushed to do some of the things I want to start doing around the place so its looking like its time for a new addition in the coming months/over the next year

I'm looking for something in the 150hp -200hp range, I'd like some of the bells and whistles because it seems to me you always tend to end up using them even if you never thought you would

Thing is I'm looking at older models that might satisfy the horsepower requirement and they fairly expensive even at high hours and they don't come with a lot of the nice to haves…seems like if you are willing to jump a bit more up the money you get a lot more for not a whole hell of a lot more spent (especially if you spread it out over 8 years)

Now I'm looking at the likes of 6480, 6490/95, and I'm seeing the price, then I'm looking at the likes of the 7600 series and the 7700 and although they are more tractor than I need I'm thinking they might be a better decision long term and give more flexibility..

Id be using it to run a 10 ton rear discharge dung spreader, my own hedge cutting almost immediately … but I'd like to have the capability to move bales/bale trailer, add a 10 foot mower on the back and a mower on the front in time (front mower a nice to have in the future - not critical right now)

New tractors are crazy money but so are old secondhand in my view…maybe the sweet spot would be 5/6 years old?

What would ye go for….6 cylinder 180-200hp, 4 cylinder 175 hp etc New Holland, Deutz, Massey as above, Valtra, Case etc

Assuming price is some kind of an obstacle but I'd see sense in not going the route of saving 10k to end up with a ball of old shite and instead get a good machine (younger lower hours with little future proofing) and I'd like something as reliable as possible and not crazy expensive for parts/service etc (I know they can all be expensive if you get a wrong one) but would be interested in hearing peoples opinions….will do around 500hrs a year

Anyone running different tractors in around the 150-200hp bracket? Are you happy with what you have? With the benefit of hindsight hat would you get? etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Right few new Hollands in this area nowadays. Maybe a T 6175, 2013 age span, what price are they now, dunno what bells and whistles your looking, apart from clutch less shuttle, extendable hitch. What massey have u atm? 3 series or 4000 or 6000?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,881 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Look About importing from the UK. Alot of NH on lease over there and could be got right after the lease is up. Be about 2 years old at that stage. Alot of T7 210s in thst bracket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,667 ✭✭✭amacca

5455....are the new Hollands considered reliable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

I wouldn't rule out a McCormick/Landini (lot of similar components to NH) or a Class if you get the right one.

As well as looking to GB - take a look up here in NI. Plenty of machines being shifted over the border weekly.

I saw a couple of mccormicks and in good condition in fairness ..x7s

But when all was said and done after vat you aren't looking at much of a saving on other brands to justify going for one similar hours /age to other alternatives + looks like more basic spec and thrn maybe harder to trade shift afterwards if I did ever want to (nice to have the option without having to take a bath)

I could be wrong but I think the value in mccormicks might easier found in older ones than I'd be looking at…

If the right one came up I'd have no problem looking in NI tbh

I'd not have much experience of buying in the UK however and I assume its vrt and vat then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,854 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

get onto Ned Murphy

They have English imports in stock or can source one for you to suit your requirements. They have loads of 2nd and new parts too for masseys along with the knowledge of talking you through a breakdown. Well worth a call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Cran

I was in similar situation last year and bought a 630 Arion Claas, can’t fault it tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Silverdream

I'm not that brave…seems to be branded same as the business....

Kinda like white label tractors? I presume some actual manufacturer in China?

They ain't being given away either!

Price wise they are coming in at a third of the price of a John Deere, for example the John Deere 6155M is about €140,000, I think a NH or Claas 150hp tractor are not any cheaper.

I'd be interested to know of any reports of these, as at them prices they must be tempting some

True....but I was comparing apples and oranges ...

The price would be somewhat ahead of what I'd be hunting for second hand....

I'd be conservative/nervous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

https://www.alexandertractors.com/lovol-tractors-northern-ireland/#lovol-tractors

1000015472.jpg

You can get a few in-calf heifers off him when you're up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Are you sure that M is costing €140k You’d get the NH 165s nearly 20k cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭9935452

From my experience they wont put up the hours as easy as new hollands.

Neighbour ran a few legends alongside TMs. Same work being done by both. Ssme servicing

At 13 or 14k hours landinis were a lot rougher than newhollands. .and needed more of a helping hand

Id have no problem buying a legend for cheap power but would prefer a tidy tm

That price is inc Vat, so roughly 115k plus vat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,573 ✭✭✭straight

You'd want to have alot of work for a tractor to be spending 100k on one. So many better places you could put that money....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I wouldn't like to be going back to him with a warranty issue 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭older by the day

That would be what im thinking, between buying a tractor and two mowers, frontand back. A lot easier to open the gate for the contractor and sit up on the ditch and have a fag, and put the whole lot against his tax

I'm kind of thinking the same myself tbh....now I can also put it against my tax/depreciate it so there is some benefit there

I want the ability to do certain tasks myself on my timetable

I have a lot of hedges across separate plots that need maintaining in order to fence easily and in some cases stop temporary and more permanent electric fencing earthing etc etc....genuinely getting a lad to do it when I want is a pain in the hole....+ most are pricey...a lad charged me 400 for showing the hedgecutter to a very short run of the hedge a year ago (very poor job) the other lad will do a good job on the plot next to him but it's on his timetable in the depths of winter when the ground is soft and despite saying he would travel to the other plots ...he won't (ive asked over the years and it never materialises) ..... + I have a lot to do and doing it piecemeal over years with one tractor isn't a runner with another job(s) - the storms didn't help boundaries either

I have an old hedgecutter anyway ....then there is the hassle of constantly taking on and off certain implements on one tractor is very time consuming ...having a spreader on while you do all yhe spreading sndcs hedgecutter for yhat window while leaving other tractor free to bring in bales do other jobs in other plots etc I'd very appealing

Then I have a lot of bedded sheds and I recently got an oldish but working rear discharge - The contractor cost is around 1000 a year currently to spread what I have with me loading (im sure that will go up)...and again with most of the problems above...its on their timetable...Its nailing me to a full day off work ...their timetable = when the ground is soft as shite, when I am working, when they have nothing else to do (I understand that btw I'd be no different in their shoes but it doesn't work for me)

Taking out multiple loads with the one tractor doing the loading and then taking the spreader on and off for each load makes a hard job of it + I'd go easy on existing tractor and put about 6/7 tonne in ....meaning more loads

With the mowing, I could give that to the contractor but in my experience that means things don't happen on my timetable either....

Collecting bales etc...

I looked up hiring a more powerful tractor for some of the tasks above but the costs there add up pretty quick, and you are nailed into a certain time period too

Look, there's probably an element of man maths with this....its a fair chunk of change, it does feel like it could be put to better use elsewhere....don't think I'm not thinking it....I just know I generally do things better myself and on my timetable is crucial for me not to end up a frustrated ball of rage at some point during the year...I need things done when I need them done ...there are times I just can't be there, I have to give priority to other things, I need to get them done when I need them done and in a way they are easy to maintain and doesn't leave even more niggles afterward for me to sort out

Initially I was thinking around the 50k mark would get me out but the hours are so high on what I'm looking at there it seems to me you could be importing in lots of niggles and problems and spending a bit more might make more sense

What would you spend it on on the situation if not another tractor?

Lump it into an investment trust and take the pain of getting shite jobs done at the wrong time (and the attendant extra jobs that develop because of said shite jobs) and spend maybe 20k on lads doing a shite job (never mind your own time on loading etc) over the 8 years?

It's a genuine question btw, I take your point, I sort of think it myself....the reality is, it won't have a lot of work ....maybe 400/500 hours a year and serve as a backup if the older yard tractor goes down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,573 ✭✭✭straight

I was in a similar position around 2022. I bought a MF 5480 with loader and 6500 hrs for 42500 euro. Hasn't cost me a penny on repairs in the meantime. It does my own slurry, hedging, drawing bales. Smaller tractor can be left on the fertiliser spreader. I'd prefer to spend the change on better sheds/facilities to make life easier or more land.

That does make a lot of sense...perhaps if I went up to 6400 series, I could do something similar....maybe around 7-8k hrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,854 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

bought a 2009 6480 last Jan with 10500 hours. Given a few small issues but nothing that has delayed me a whole pile but it is a 3rd tractor for us - did 500 hours in the 12 months we had it. After buying a front mower to go on it, hopefully she’ll stick it 😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

500 hours is fair work for a 3rd tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭Patsy167

You'd have to be stone mad to buy one of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

at some stage a Chinese company is going to make good tractors and they will be unbeatable. Are those LovOls the crossover point?
    who knows

I am tempted to take a chance with the 1-1.5 tonne chinese mini diggers.....

Wtf happens when they start manufacturing everthing at similar quality and lower price point

Can only hope they like/want something we produce....or they become decadent ,lazy and their wages rise to the point european industry is on something of a par ... that's if its not wiped out by then...

I suppose they'd have no customers then....

Anyway sounds like a problem for future me or the next generation of mes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭older by the day

I wonder is a lot of it snobbery. I know any lad running up big hours should go mainstream, but the lad doing 200 hours or less, should get away with a Chinese tractor surely.

I'm after spending another 3000 euro fixing a hilux in January and they are supposed to be the best !!!!! (Rotting yoke)

There's too many unknown unknowns (to use a Donald Rumsfeld line)

And there are some possible knowns too

They won't hold value as well until they have enough people that want them....we are definitely not at the tipping point yet...if I did want to trade I'd be hesitant to think what a dealer of an established brand would give me....(even more disappointing than usual) that leaves taking your chances on a private sale and encountering lads with the same doubt and hesitancy I have = taking more of a bath on sale price than you should....so the cheap tractor could become more expensive in a way

There is less of a dealer network supporting them (maybe just one) and less lads experienced in servicing....that might be got around if they use mostly common/generic parts and they are rugged/simple I suppose but I'd worry about parts availability etc