Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭JohnCougar

Clare were missing 3 lads on the senior panel and 2 coming back from injury that will start. Clare scored 4 goals and could have scored another 4, while we never looked like getting one. Hopefully our players on the senior panel will be allowed back after the Tipperary match along with the Kierans lads after tomorrow.

Best of luck to Kierans tomorrow, hopefully they can get off to a good start like they did against the CBS. They can't afford to be 6 points down coming to the end of the match as may finally get caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Village87

Hopefully we can see Timmy Clifford, Marty Murphy and Stephen Donnelly, we badly need some pace in the backs? Deegan, Corcoran and Reid all slow, can only really get away with one of them in the back line imo. Who will go full back that Carey is out for 5/6 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭nippy corner foward

Think stephen donnelly has sepsis which of course is very very serious and if he does we wish him a speedy recovery. Mikey gone for a few weeks. Corcoran went in during the galway but the talk is mr versatile himself deego will be full back. Podge moylan also out injured. Its suprising butler wasn't tried at full back. Lot of doom and gloom around since the galway match. I agree id also start michael brennan.Kk going away on a warm training camp in a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Marrooned

thanks for the info John, I thought our full forward line was weak. Est of luck to St. Kieran’s tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭JohnCougar

The forwards were weak in general. I think Henry will have learned a lot from the match and hopefully with the players to come back we will improve. We should have a very strong 1-8 but three or four places on 10-15 are wide open at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭The_Tank

The only time Kilkenny looked coherent with the running game was when they picked runners like Clifford and Doyle. If we could knit Ed McDermott into that we might be able to make some progress. That said it seams whenever you don't play a match for Kilkenny your stock goes up. (btw any chance of developing McDermott into a full back or CB in the future? He looks some unit)

I would like to see Marty Murphy at some point also (allowing for injury) but I feel Tipp will be ready and comfortable if we decide to introduce more long ball. At least without a coherent approach to getting bodies there on the breaks.

Deegan at FB was tried before and didn't work. Blanchfield at least would have the aerial ability although he would be slow to turn also. However if the full back line defend better as a unit and the players out the field put in a better shift then whoever we chose might have an OK day. Bolger will be nailed on to take on Darragh McCarthy.

I'd be just as concerned if we have to go back to TJ to fix the attack. We need to be using the league to break that dependency. If I have to watch Cody or Mossey ploughing a lone furrow up there, with shite ball adding insult to injury, I don't think I'll be able to cope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 covcat

As Rory Garrett played full back for U20s last year what would be wrong trying him against Tipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Montys return

Hope thats not true but wishing him a speedy recovery if it is

ye and you would have a fullback line of Butler, Garret and Ivan Bolger, nothing wrong with that in my book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Are any of them over 6 foot tall? They'd get murdered in the air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ashtalk94

Please Please please tell me you are joking about deegan in full back...tipp will destroy him there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Our backs will be very strong at U20, very good goalie in Billy O'Sullivan and competitive midfield as well. Forwards might be where we are short alright, the better lads are very young. Big difference between a 20 year old and a 17/18 year old at this stage as well. Ed McDermott should give it a big lift when he's there and maybe lads will improve for his presence as well. I like Colm Treacy as a hurler he should be effective and Greg Kelly also in his final year. You'd think with Ed Lauhoff they'll be 4 of the starting 6.

U20's is a funny grade, I don't they've had a full panel yet with Colleges and senior panelist's and yet it'll all be over and done with on the June Bank holiday weekend.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

That's what I'd do I'd play Garrett there at this stage. See how he goes it might be the makings of him.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Best wishes to him if it's true and hopefully a speedy recovery.

James Owens reffing on Saturday night, just as well it doesn’t count.

I see on the KK gaa that the U19 panel is named and will play Wexford in Mooncoin Friday night at 7.30. I’m glad they are still running this competition, some people of course will scoff at it but I think it’s a great opportunity to keep these lads interested in the setup and keeps them involved.

Agree with U19 competition being important Marooned. Some players that haven't made a 20's panel as a U18 and even U19 will end up being better hurlers than some of the lads who have. You only have to look at David Barcoe who didn't make the 20's panel last year, was on the U19s and now has hurled senior before U20. Very important to keep lads in the S&C system as well.

Best of luck to Kieran's today in Croke Park. Not sure Athenry are anywhere near as good as last year although I don't think this is a vintage Kieran's team either. Should be a good contest.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 kilkenny123456

The very best to Kieran’s today. Hopefully they’ll bring home some silverware

O’Mahony is some detail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Butterbeans

Great win for Kierans. They had some amount of wides before they finally clicked.

St. Kieran’s very strong in the last 20 minutes.

Jaysus Barcoe is some unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Firstsub

Fully deserved win. Half back line were totally on top in the last 15 minutes after an even game up to that. Barcoe was very strong. Has played midfield and half forward for Clara.

Probably should have taken points at stages in the second but overcarried and got dispossessed. That and a few wides kept Athenry in the match but Kierans really bolted for home late on. Congratulations to team and management

On a small point, there were some blatant throws by Kierans in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭mullinr2

I see a few posters saying this is not a vintage Kierans team. What does that actually mean or when was the last time Kierans had a vintage team? Bear in mind we havent won a minor All Ireland in over 10 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Meh. Kierans winning another all Ireland is as predictable as celtic winning the Scottish league.

Some great individual displays though. Mahony has been brilliant for club and college last 6 months. Barcoe is a man playing schools hurling. Surely be centre back for the u20s. O' shea a classy hurler too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Wouldn't be getting too hung up on minor all Irelands, Limerick have won just one in 40 years, think Dublin have a similar record in football

Post edited by Topcat32 on

They've won 3 of the last 4 and despite some stars like Barcoe, Ragget, O'Shea, in my opinion this was by far the weakest team man for man. Not sure what minor All Ireland wins have got to do with anything?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Seaniejames

Christ barcoe some unit. Could see him starting Kilkenny senior in a year or two if he keeps it up