Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭Field east

What a complete contradiction . The US want to knock out Kraft Island yet is very happy to let Iranian oil ships pass through the Strait in order to keep the supply of oil to the world market up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Jesus christ America, cmon, it's time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,543 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

1000036227.jpg

1000036228.jpg

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭Field east

I would still have hope in my suggestion.

As they say “That was then and this is now” . I heard the president of a Finland deign interviewed on BBC 1 last night and he was very impressive. I could see him as a possible member. Also the foreign affairs minister of Poland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Glaceon

Venezuela as the 51st state? They’re too brown for that surely? And why not Puerto Rico? Oh, it was supposed to be Canada but they told the US where to go! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,490 ✭✭✭✭fits

it’s really baffling how there is no effective pushback. No real leader of the opposition. Very frustrating to look on as an outsider.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,530 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

RFKjr and his farcical ACIP board handed a defeat in court. Of course, there's appeals coming up.

'Federal judge blocks RFK Jr’s overhaul of vaccine recommendations
    Unprecedented changes to routine US immunization recommendations ‘arbitrary and capricious’, court says'

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2026/mar/16/judge-blocks-rfk-jr-vaccine-policy-changes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭bog master

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,170 ✭✭✭✭banie01

The design of the US system means that a combo of Executive orders and plain old ignoring dissent in Congress are a means of effectively bypassing any real opposition unless/until a court order or injunction is issued and we all see how much attention Trump and Co pay to those.

There is so much wrong with the US federal government system, that is just accepted for tradition.
    The election and inauguration delay, originally to allow time for the harvest in the districts & states before all heading to D.C.
    No longer a need for it, a 2 month delay is ridiculous.
    The lame duck period that can impact a "normal" presidency when the Executive actually cares about bi-partisanship.

No government is perfect and all Executives must have a degree of leeway to react to immediate issues.
    That said, in normal countries, the Executive must at some point face parliament or Congress and gain support.
    The lack of oversight in US, from even simple things such as "Leader's questions" or needing to have their PM command a majority of support or face a "no confidence" motion is staggering.
    As is the lack of political accountability for cabinet members.
    Directly appointed and untouchable unless fired by POTUS or impeached by Congress.

It is an eminently corruptible system that basically transposed monarchy and direct appointment as the executive, with a modicum of democracy added via the Congress.
    Congress is designed to be Co-equal but as both Trump terms have shown.
    That "equality" is entirely predicated on its being treated as such by the Executive.
    Yet, it is all too easily bypassed by an Executive that wishes to act imperiously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,246 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

This would result in immediate impeachment under normal circumstances, instead we're left hoping for elevated cholesterol to do it's thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭aero2k

Judge Brian E. Murphy made that ruling. He's the guy who granted injunctions against Trump's efforts to deport aliens to third countries. That was overturned 6-3 by the Supreme Court, and when he continued to block deportations they overruled him 7-2. It will be interesting to see what happens this time out.

I haven't dug into the intricacies of this particular decision, but given the heavy-handed way ACIP was disbanded and the cavalier manner this administration operates in, it would not be surprising if some laws were broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Ah Italy. That hotbed of elite level baseball.

Hey, if a player hits a home run he must down 3 shots of espresso when he returns to the dugout. They might be on to something there.

At least Vinay Prasad, who I think of as the J. D. Vance of vaccines, has left the administration (for the second time.) A once credible scientist feeding at the anti-vax teat. I expect he'll go back to academia and shouting on Youtube.

https://www.npr.org/2026/03/06/nx-s1-5740596/trump-administrations-embattled-fda-vaccine-chief-is-leaving-for-the-second-time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,881 ✭✭✭✭8-10

None of the Italian baseball team were born in Italy, it's effectively an Italian-American team made up of Americans of Italian heritage.

Only 3 of their team were born outside of the USA, 1 in Canada, and 2 in……Venezuela, playing against Venezuela in that semifinal.

Final is now USA v Venezuela 🔥

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,691 ✭✭✭yagan

I think Trump may already have put Iran behind him with this renewed talk about Cuba.

The leadership in Cuba must know from Venezuela that if they play to Trump's ego not only will they get to stay in power but actually improve terms like getting sanctions removed for something very cheap like giving him a plot to build a new Trump hotel on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭aero2k

As Oscar Wilde probably would have said: "to get fired once is unfortunate, to get fired twice (from the same job) is downright careless".

I was inclined to give him the benefit of whatever considerable doubt might exist on the basis that Laura Loomer was against him, but that might not be a 100% safe strategy in all circumstances😀.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭aidanodr

Regardless of your politics here in Ireland and your opinion on Michael martin.

I spare a huge thought today for Michael Martin having to navigate the Patricks Day visit to the white house. Especially now that the EU and Europe have soundly rejected his war against Iran and will not assist in the strait of Hormuz.

Michael most likely will become the focus of trumps anger against Europe now. It could be tantamount to that time in the white house when Zelensky visited a while back .. or worse.

Q is - if it does descend to this, what should michael martin do? Maybe im wrong, but i would walk out, saying good luck guys, Im not going to listen nor take this .. pointless doing so in my view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭swiwi_

the trouble for Trump is will Iran put the US behind them? He might want out but will Iran?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,150 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Apparantly McGregor is in Washington today. I wonder is MM in for an amush in the oval office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

After America abstaining only last week from calling Russias invasion of Ukraine illegal he has some neck now coming crying looking for help from Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,530 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Well, as I've said numerous times, lying has become so endemic on the right they don't even know that they're doing it. They lie like they breathe about everything because their bogus positions inevitably lead them into lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,189 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

26390.png

Harris is not wrong. McGregor is a piece of sh1t. Would be unbelievable were he to be wheeled out at some point today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,691 ✭✭✭yagan

McGregor, attacking auld lads in his bar. Tough man and convicted sex offender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

If he arrives in the White House today, it may be the first time ever that two convicted sex offenders are in the Oval Office simultaneously. What a time to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭amacca

The playbook is to remove as many dissenting voices as quickly as possible, get leverage on those you can't and repeat continuously...

The leverage on those within the fold is its profitable as long as you stay within the fold......the other leverage the longer this goes on is if you do anything to bring about its end you curtail your ability to make hay while the sun shines and/or if you lose power the consequences will be more than a loss of earnings when the shoe is on the other foot

So the more dictatorial the show becomes the greater the jeopardy for those on the inside in not supporting the status quo ....+there is no credible alternative until the "king" is being dragged out on to the street by the masses....

Perhaps though because Trump is such an epic gigantic moron (not even a cunning useful fool) there will be a swing before the whole thing goes down the toilet....

It was instructive to watch Vance being distinctly uncomfortable (body language wise) during last night's clown show.....I think he may be realising just what level of shitshow he has to try and disassociate himself from now and how **** tends to stick to you when you wade around in it.....its either all.in for him or be an embarassing footnote if America does decide to swing back towards some level of sanity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I go back to it again. Imagine what would've happened if Biden had done that, calling another person President when he was President. The GOP rats would've been writing impeachment articles immediately. What is wrong with America? Why is there one standard for Trump and one for everyone else?

Martin is a slippery enough little prick to navigate Trump's bullshit. He'll be grand.

Anyone from Cork would be able to talk rings around him anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭CajunSurprise

Is be pretty sure the former president he is talking about is 45 and they were talking to each other in a mirror.