What are you doing for St.Patrick's Day?

• 16-03-2026 05:12PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,116 ✭✭✭✭

I don't have kids, so no parade for me.

Not into the pub either.

Might have a nice dinner.

What about you?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Enjoy my day off work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Charlo30

I'll probably just spend most of the day on Boards complaining about St Patrick's day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭winklepicker2025

Will Tesco be open ?? If so what time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,924 ✭✭✭Damien360

Going to give the pub a miss this year. I have work Wednesday standing with customers for the day and a long drive for it.

I do reckon the gardai will be out in force that Wednesday morning anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

I never do anything on it. Last year I watched a film about St Patrick. I will probably just end up watching English soap operas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 304 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

Drinks this evening with friends. Out for lunch tomorrow with family. I'm lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Race and relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭gipi

Taking part in 2 parades (vintage cars), then a night away in a hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,461 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I am going to make myself an egg salad sandwich.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,573 CMod ✭✭✭✭Fathom

Sip a Guinness at a pub with friends.

Cmod Science, Health, and Environment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 326 ✭✭Mo Ghile Mear

If the day is any way decent I’m going to clean out the flower pots after the winter and get the raised bed ready for a few lettuce plants. A wellies and gardening gloves and woolly hat kind of day 😊.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Banishing my snake.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth 8-bit

Cleaning up the weather-beaten exterior of my residence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

If it's dry I'm going to tackle the weeds on the brick paving front and back. I have one of those long handled wire brush things that means I can stay standing, otherwise I'd never get back up ha ha. I wouldn't mind but it was power washed late last year too. Fecking weeds, if only the flowers would grow as fast.

I'd prefer not to, but am seriously considering some industrial strength weedkiller this year. I'm fed up trying boiling water, vinegar (garden smells like a chipper), salt. Nothing works on the fekkers. I'm getting old enough to hate weeding the cracks in the bricks now. Using the hoe elsewhere is no biggie, but that patio job kills me.

It'll pass an hour or so I suppose. Boring old day when no kids involved. But nice to have a pause in things during the week too I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭furiousox

Brisk 5k walk, clear out the garden shed, power wash the patio.

30 years ago I'd be in the pub at 2pm, dropping lsd at 3pm and out drinking/clubbing until 3am. 😬

No more I say, no more. 🫷

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,553 ✭✭✭StevenToast

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

Race and relax (with a few cans).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭NiceFella

Have a nice Irish breakfast. Go for a good walk and then head to the pub to listen to a bit of trad music over one or two pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Spend the day watching Netflix.

The idea of going to a parade being surrounded by people sounds like hell on earth to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Just another day. Might do some gardening if it stays dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

IMG_2039.jpeg

……..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,420 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

studying, not long back from the walk though, lovely day out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,409 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Speak in an oirish accent for the day 🤗

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Stay in bed for a bit, then work in afternoon.

Not bothered by any of the parades, same stuff every year. I'd be bored solid even if I could see over the heads of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,330 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Relaxing in the welcome sunshine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Archeron

At the Hil of Tara to say hello to the big man himself 😁. It's fecking windy here.

1000056503.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

working, we deal with non irish clients in my job so don't get St Patricks day off.We do get a day in lieu for having to work on St Patricks days which means things works out much better overall as instead of having a day off in the middle of the week and in rubbish weather when you can do nothing I can take a day off for a Monday or Friday instead and pick a date in the year that suits me better when the weather is nicer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Round tower

Watching our local parade from outside the pub, drink, i have tomorrow booked off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭adaminho

Apart from Covid this is my first Patricks day off in 34 years! Heading to the parade but if the weather turns I'll head the pub and watch the livestream like I did on Sunday. I'll be home by 3 as it's bad enough dealing with drunk crowds when you're getting paid nevermind for free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Lofidelity

Ill be in Dublin city centre later. There will be pop up musical performances here and there, everyone wearing green, suns out and a great atmosphere. Ill do a mini pub crawl but its a good day for walking around with a discreet beer and soaking up the atmosphere too.

Whats not to like? Id encourage everyone to do the same.