General Premier League Thread 2025/2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,577 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

A minutes silence to be brought for all matches. Teams gather around the center circle to pay their respects to the football that hasn't yet passed away.

Seems like the only sensible outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

There is a world of difference between doing a huddle on the field at some point pre-game, and doing a huddle specifically on the centre circle regardless of whether people are already there or not.

One is a natural coming together of the team to share a message, the other is completely performative.

I've had coaches like that in the past, they think they are amateur psychologists and come in with fad nonsense that they think will get inspire players, the sad reality is that players know these are just gimmicks and all it does is diminish the managers standing within the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,883 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Usually halfway between centre circle and the box. When teams (like yesterday) win the toss and switch around so that we are attacking the Kop in the first half you will see them do the huddle closer to the centre circle after switching

I don't usually notice though as it's not always televised because of ads at that time. I'm going over this week though so will see where they do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,798 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Thats where 90% of huddles happen. Chelsea have just commited to being a meme hence surrounding Tierney instead. I dont mind laughing at daft eejit refs but he didn't do anything that odd tbf just got surrounded.

Yeah I didn't know that's where they always did it. They should just decide to move further back in their half and everybody can move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭jacool

Rosenior was vocal abour Arsenal being in Chelsea's half recently.

"I’ve never asked my team or my coaches to encroach on the opposition’s territory. In that moment, I didn’t think it was right where they were operating. They were affecting my lads’ warm-up and my staff’s warm-up. So I asked them, maybe not politely, to make sure they stay in their half. I’m not here to have mind games. It’s just what I think is right and respectful. Hopefully, we respect that and other teams do too."

Looks like half his players were in Newcastle's half there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,989 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

chelsea fined and given a token transfer ban. really when the illicit payments relate to 1st team players, why would you ban them from academy transfers?

Chelsea have been fined £10.75m and handed a one-year transfer ban suspended for two years over illicit payments to agents and other individuals.

They have also been given a nine-month Academy transfer ban.

The transfers investigated are believed to include the moves of Eden Hazard, Samuel Eto'o and Andreas Christiansen.

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11668/13520518/chelsea-fined-lb10-75m-and-handed-suspended-transfer-ban-over-secret-payments-breaching-premier-league-rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

There were 2 separate investigations

£10m fine and a suspended 1st team transfer ban for the illicit payments between 2011 and 2018

£750,000 fine and ban from registering youth players from English clubs for the breaches of Youth Development Rules relating to registration of Academy players between 2019 and 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,989 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

ah grand thanks. the sky article should really be explaining that.

would still like them to be hit with a transfer ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,152 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I'd say because they self reported the punishment was lighter. It was under Abramovich too maybe that was factored in.

City will be delighted to see that punishment. They'd happily write a cheque for a fine like that while publicly displaying their anger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

It was the Arsenal goalkeeping coach who was collecting the ball when Raya was practicing long goal kicks. Which apparently happens in every warm up with a lot of teams. Rosenior was making a big deal of it at the time, as he knew the camera was on him. He was making something out of nothing.

Ironic now that he has his team doing that stupid huddle at the halfway line. Screams of a man who thinks he is more clever and edgier than anyone else.

That happens at every game I've gone to. Main team trains in their half but goalkeeping coach or backup goalies are routinely in the other half collecting kick outs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Whenever I read things like this which constantly reference the Liverpool spend last summer, it always leaves out a massive important factor.

The spend was not on new players in addition to last season's team. The spend was largely used to replace last season's team, which was disbanded/sold and unfortunately died. And then some new additional players like Kerkez & Wirtz on top, which was proper future squad planning such as replacing Robertson before he left.

The players that left were the 7th, 10th, 13th, 14th, 15th, 16th & 18th most used players last season. In the modern game, there is no such thing as a first 11 anymore. I'd argue it's more of a first 13/14/15. So the players that left were pretty important players.

For reference, Arsenal didn't lose any of their first 14 most used players from the season previous, bar the player who ended up charged with multiple sexual assaults. The next highest was 16th most used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,189 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

When are Man City going to be adjudicated against - charges against them are years old at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Bar the tragic death of Jota and TAA going on a transfer to Real Madrid. Who's choice was it to disband a winning side? All on the club that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,600 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

No sorry now that's not true

You lost Diaz and Trent from the 1st team. That's it.

Nunez was considered a flop and went to Saudi. Jota was tragic but he was a squad player with injury issues.
    2 further back squad players in Quansah and Elliott who would be handy but not players that add 20/30 points on over a season.
    And a backup keeper in Kelleher.

Whereas, you brought in for 1st team : Isak, Wirtz, Ekitiké, Frimpong and Kerkez.
    With squad players being Leoni and Mamardashvili.

You got unlucky / planned poor in defence with Leoni but the attack got a major boost.
    You replaced your 2 fullbacks with excellent options and kept Robertson as a backup.

Center back is the only real position on paper that maybe got weaker AND you did try to move for Marc Guehi so there was obviously still funds available for that, but someone choose to not pursue another center back for whatever reason.

It's not unusual for a winning team to turnover 2 1st team players and a handful of squad players.
    It doesn't usually result in a 20/30 point drop off.

It was a phenomenal summer all things considered.
    Slot is massively underperforming with the talent available to him.

Even if you were "just replacing" what you lost…. It doesn't excuse a potentially 20/30 point difference between you as the reigning champions and the next champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,195 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Everton would have got docked 20 points for that.

'Bar the 3 first team players, and 1st sub to come on in every game when not starting, who did you lose'.

Nunez played 45 games for Liverpool last season, from a possible 56. After the decision was made in late January to avoid paying another bonus payment to Benfica, his starts finished and the sale was put in motion. He would be a better option this season than any of Isak, Gakpo or Chiesa have been. Jota was fit for 40 games and played in 37 of those games. He also would be a better option than any of Gakpo, Isak and Chiesa have been.

They were absolutely first team players whether you want to admit it or not. You'd swear they were players who never played and sat on the bench or treatment table every single game. That's not the case tho.

As a result of those players leaving, Gakpo has been promoted to a permanent starting position, instead of being an impact sub or rotational player and Chiesa is now the 1st or 2nd choice attacking sub coming on. He was 6th choice last season permanently rooted to the bench.

But the point still stands, the summer spend was not solely additional players on top of what was already at the club. It was not just just squad players or aging players leaving. First team players in their prime left. Ekitike came in while Diaz went out. Isak came in while Nunez went out. Jota went out and nobody came in. The attack has been massively blunted, and its been magnified because of Slot's terrible style of football.

So if Arsenal sell Gabriel, Sailiba, Rice and Zubimendi this summer, having to spend to replace them is irrelevant? That's their first choice defence and a main portion of their attack BTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Round tower

Yes a yellow card for unsporting behavior, the same as yellow card for putting up a imaginary card looking for a player to be booked

If they spend 100m+ on the replacements for Zubimendi and Saliba you'd expect them not to fall apart and be fighting for CL qualification.

I think it's disingenuous to say Jota's gone but sure he was a backup anyway

Should go without saying that the impact is far greater than simply missing his minutes

I'm still torn up about it and I never met him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭ronjo

And before anyone says it, it's not an excuse for performances. I simply don't like seeing it dismissed like that in isolation.

The other squad changes are absolutely fair debates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Whatever way you look at it, apart from Jota, all the other incomings and outgoings were planned for, it was well known TAA wasn't going to stay, so Liverpool had plenty of time to chose their replacement, same with Diaz, the club knew he was leaving well before it became public and probably could have kept him if they really wanted to, but, they decided to cash in. The nett spend was around 200 Million, so at the very least a respectable title defence was expected, instead we were out of the title race by late October. Liverpool got a lot wrong last summer, spent the money in the wrong areas and ended up with an unbalanced, much weaker squad. Having said that, all the players they signed are actually good players, just not necessarily a good fit for Liverpool or the EPL currently, but, that might change in time. There's a huge amount of work for Liverpool to do to get back to where they were last season, Slot is highly unlikely to be at Liverpool next season as he has been a big part of the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,562 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Whenever I read things like this which constantly reference how Liverpool sold so many players or always leaves out a massive important factor.

Liverpool chose to sell these players by their owners.