Awards Season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭mykrodot

cue another week of painful coverage on all Irish media outlets on Jessie Buckley. I am delighted she won, she's a very natural kind of person too……… but my God they've already overdone it, what are they going to do now she won the Oscar? They seem to be camped out here in Killarney for months. What more can be said? Well done Jessie, brilliant, hope you win more! But most of us are already sick of the overhype and non stop coverage for months on Jessie. (Newstalk had Andrea Gilligan and the Lunctime Live crew here last week!)

p.s. Hoping Jessie will re-think her speeches, I cringe when I listen to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Greengrass53

They are shocking. All luvvie stuff.Nauseating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,415 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Most of the winners, can't really argue with. No big surprises anywhere, and a lot of them could have gone either way and you wouldn't complain about it.

Kind of surprised Marty Supreme didn't pick up anything. Thought it might get one or two but at the same time, I wouldn't be able to point to any category and say Marty Supreme should have won that one instead. Just thought we'd end up with more of a three-way split between it, Sinners and OBAA. Instead it ended up a two-horse race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Typical Irish thing whenever anyone is successful they just overdo it and we all get fed up of them, I guess it comes from being a small country and we don't have too many stars in any field internationally so the ones we have get over exposed in our media. If it's not her it's Mescal or Sally Rooney or Rory McIlroy etc etc

I don't even want to see this film as I'm sure I'll only be let down by it considering how much hype around it there is because of the 2 Irish leads (also reading some descriptions of it I'm beginning to think it's a load of pretentious boring nonsense that I wouldn't like in the first place).

Post edited by Jack Daw on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Fair play to Jessie Buckley. Great achievement. Saw some comments about her speech. Just watched it there. Expected it to be cringe, based on other comments. But I thought it was lovely. Came across as very genuine. The UK comment about mother's Day grated on me a little when I read about it. But the reality is that the mothers day comment was in context of the movie, and the character (I think) - which is UK based. So I think it may be taken out of context. In any case, it is none of my business !!! Just delighted for her on the best actress award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭Butson

A very poor year for cinema if that's the best of the lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,611 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Couldn't disagree more.

Amazing to see horror movies and roles be recognised. When was the last time horror won two of the acting awards? Silence of the Lambs maybe? Sinners was absolutely brilliant in every way.

And as for One Battle, I gotta say it was one of the best movies i've seen in a long time. I'm not even a huge PT Anderson fan but I was gripped from the start. Sean Penn very deserving of his Oscar win too.

I haven't seen all of the Best Picture nominees, but I really enjoyed every one I saw. Maybe F1 was the only surprising one. I realise everyone loved it but I was indifferent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,545 ✭✭✭Unearthly

First time I ever watched it live. Have to say it’s very uncomfortable when they cut off the winners from their speeches by playing the music. At one moment they took the microphone and turned off the lights. Disgraceful really. If they need to cut back on time, then reduce some of the skits. Most of them didn’t land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,653 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

The other ceremonies give way more time. Eg the lifetime achievement award that Harrison Ford won a few weeks back, he spoke for about 8 minutes and it was incredibly entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭zv2

Well fair play to her but I was hoping she would not do a Dustin Hoffman - bursting into a deluge of snots and tears and shakin all over and blabbering nonsense. She did just that. Embarrassing.

It looks like history is starting up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 TyeTO

I'm delighted for Jessie, well deserved, why no Cillian to present to her?

She also looked elegant in her dress, the colours complimented her

The Sinners cast and crew really are so close, the warmth and happiness for each other was lovely to see

I loved the special in memorian tributes but felt Duvall deserved a longer mention , I had forgot Hackman died last year before those Oscars

Truer words have rarely been spoken

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭p to the e

I really think Chalamet should have won best actor. He carried the entire film on his back and was fantastic as the weasel who always had a way out, no matter who he had to screw over.

Jordan is a talented actor and has star power but his role in Sinners was not major award worthy. He did a fine job and obviously had more difficulty playing two roles, although some would say it's the same role twice. But he wasn't even the best performance in that movie. Big up Delroy!

Historically the Oscars has been a political battlefield so I wonder how much Timbo shot himself in the foot with his pot shots at the ballet.

Delighted for Jessie. Now that is a performance that blew me away. I knew she was going to be a serious contender when I saw her dramatic role in "Men", even though the film was mental.

I remember Benicio del Toro on Graham Norton a few weeks back and the missus asking me if he has a chance. I said as long as Sean Penn is nominated then he doesn't. Again, that's an award winning performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 326 ✭✭Mo Ghile Mear

Always amazes me how brilliant actors (and in fairness she is one) can't seem to put on a decent show on occasions like this. If their acting is good enough to get an Oscar then they're well able to stand tall and say a few words that they would be proud to look back on and that aren't an attention-seeking cringefest.

Post edited by Mo Ghile Mear on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I read somewhere Timothys comments on ballet were made after voting had closed.

Would agree Delroy was best actor in Sinners but didn't see much between Jordans acting and Timothy in Marty Supreme. I was less wowed by Timothys performance, I just the saw the actor doing a funny accent , but I didn't enjoy the movie so that may have the reason for not thinking much of performance.

Good to see a horror actor getting an award.

As great as I thought Timothee was in Marty Supreme, I also thought he was mostly at the one level/speed for the vast majority of the film. And that's not his fault, that's what the script kept him at as it was events which happened to Marty throughout the film which drove most of the plot rather than changes in Marty's character. Jordan had a lot more range in Sinners, not just because of the dual roles because let's face it, both characters were incredibly similar, but to be able to play those subtle differences between the twins, the arc of the twins over the movie, and then also having incredible rapport with two love interests, is pretty damn good.

Plus he was in The Wire and is therefore a better actor than anyone who wasn't.

Jack O Connell was award nomination worthy too in Sinners for me

I would have loved Ethan or Leo to win , Leo deserves another win , he has a few best picture winners now as in star of

PTA finally an Oscar winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭lukin

It's funny, I always thought Saoirse Ronan would be the first Irish woman to win a best actress Oscar. But Jessie was in the right place (role) at the right time I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭zv2

I once saw Juliette Binoche receive an award. She got up and gave a very dignified speech. The contrast made the others look so childish.

It looks like history is starting up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭watchclocker

Few harsh words here about Jessie Buckley I think, why the need to call her cringe or point out the negatives instead of just thinking well feckin done

I always argue irish begrudgery isn't really a thing, but then again......

I didn't see anything wrong with Jessie's speech

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,137 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Same, thought it was quite a lovely speech tbh.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Do people really care about the speeches that much? I thinks it's more the honour of receiving the award, the speech being good or bad just is not something I care about.

Same, and to be honest that last thing I want is someone to go up and 'put on a performance'… this should be a thing where they can just be themselves, and enjoy the moment and the emotion of the feckin' pinacle of their careers. It's not for us, it's for them.

Thought she was quite genuine and charming.

Precisely. Thought Jessie Buckley was embarrassing. The chaotic heart of a mother or some such tripe, gimme a break. All this rehearsed spontaneity is just so fake.

people get so angry about the weirdest things..

I'm not at all angry,more sad that these people, with a few honourable exceptions, are completely divorced from reality, they are actors for God's sake not world saviours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭donaghs

They just aren’t making as many films as they used to. So the likes of “Sinners”, a good film, gets onto the Oscar pantheon of great films.
    The days of film review tv shows reviewing 4 or 5 interesting new releases (and aimed at adults) every week - are long gone.
    similarly, the days when you could go to the cinema every week and have something new worth watching.

And a lot of teenagers now (not all of them of course) have absolutely no interest in going into a cinema to watch a film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭donaghs

That’s just the state of cinema, post the streaming takeover, and the pandemic etc. It’s not the popular attraction it was. Less money coming in, less films being made, etc.

Any half decent film now has a chance at an Oscar.