Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Failing to beat a poor Kilkenny team proved to be costly in the end, but i really thought ye were unlucky to be relegated in the end there.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Another important point is do we really want Bennett running around the field to be taking frees? The man's running himself into the ground. Also ideally you'd want him on the receiving end in case of any dropping in or hitting the uprights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

I wasn’t blaming him for anything, my criticism was constructive i acknowledge he has potential and if you read between the lines is actually directed at management .

I would agree I think it’s s**t or bust time for Queally now. having delivered relegation if we don’t make the break in Munster this year he’s toast. The spine of our team is very experienced we should have the know-how to close out these tight games. As has been said yesterday the league is history now and it’s all about Ennis in 5 weeks time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 handy_out

Agreed. He’s been carrying the team for years and we need others to step up in all aspects of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭razorronan

Just wondering would you start O'Neill come Championship? He has undoubted potential and had a great season with Ballygunner and it was great for him to get game time in the league. I just worry that there are too many mistakes in him yet and he is still learning his craft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭JD. 60

When you keep losing tight times, it can't just be down to bad luck every time.

I have no confidence of us getting out of Munster this year ; I'll be first to admit I'm wrong if that's not the case !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭seananigans

theres no munster matches where we can expect to be up by 12 points with 3 minutes to go, every match if we are in it will come to a tight finish , if we cannot close out these games in the league we have no chance come championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 The Bernablaa

100% I'd start him, the only thing I'd say is I would like to see him further up the field. Same can be said for Mark Fitz and why are we not deploying Paddy in midfield, think it would do us the world of good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Marsher555

Billy- doing fine.

Fullbacks- Prunty badly missed. Fitzy doing good but required elsewhere. Kenny doing enough and will not let us down and will do whatever job is asked of him. O’Neill and Keane. Both young lads fighting to establish themselves. Both possess and have demonstrated potential; both have shown vulnerabilities. Both have 5 weeks to make their case.

Half backs- Bennet continues to make the jersey his, growing in confidence, needs to focus on touch tight defending for 5 weeks. Leavy deputising well in this line, again he is required elsewhere. Impressed with Mackey but uncertain of best position. I firmly believe that Calum belongs at wing back and should have had a full league here to get himself back. Tadgh owes us nothing, but I feel that his boat has sailed at this stage. Management needs to manage. Daly will surely have a role to play here.

Midfielders - Jamie continues to win and run so much ball but have other teams copped on to him and are guiding him down blind alleys. This is the sort of thing that Duck should be all over. My choice for second mid fielder would be Leavey. Though Daragh Lyons did fine yesterday and has proven to be sound back up.

Half forwards- I thought when he was on the field that Peter was fizzing, on and off the ball, and we looked to have a right edge. Unfortunately he is struggling with that injury. Reuben- Along with Shane B, the success story of the league. Strong, saucy, and smart. Much more to him than taking frees. Jack P- I cannot see how they continue to pick and leave him on for 70 mins.

Full forwards- Dessie- carried his club form with into the first half yesterday, would have to look at the second half again to see where the supply went. Sean W. What a goal. I was more impressed with what he did after the catch. Fast and certain, and avoided getting hooked. Needed to be as snappy with other possessions he had but I would not be moving him out of there.

Kiely. I was happy to see him come on. Also needs to add a second string, by laying fast ball off to create chances for others and more importantly give his markers something to think about.

Stephen coming back will be welcome.

Aussie getting involved would also be great, but I am a bit allergic at this stage to any big fanfare that might bring. Just pick him and expect him to do his job like everyone else.

I would like to see more of Jack Fagen and if he still can do it at this level.

Do not know where they are with injuries, but Kevin Mahoney and Paddy Fitz are streets ahead of anyone else we have available on the panel, and I hope to see them in Ennis.

I thought the referee yesterday was a disgrace.

My confidence in our management team at present is not high, but we are where we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Marsher555

I'd be the first to admit that Aaron has thrown a few grenades for passes in two games now and I hope that this is something he'll refrain from as his confidence grows. His tendency to run with with ball however is something I would be slow to discourage as the sight of this kid running full flight with a ball is actually a sight to behold. For this reason I believe he will eventually play a role further out the field. But for now he has a right battle on his hands with the above mentioned Keane to win that championship jersey,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

I’d agree with pretty much every point made you’ve made here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Can games be won with one forward inside the 40 for the majority of a match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

People will point to the second half, but the damage was done earlier. Only 8 points up at the break with that wind was never a big enough lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Greengrass53

Good summary. Agree about Jack p ,thought he was very poor. Walsh did very well.Unlucky with a few chances.Kiely can be huge for us if he can get more hurling over the next month. Couldn't understand the refs performance, I think he gave one 50/50 to Waterford all day. Lad beside me was wondering had he a few bob on Tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭seananigans

luck occurs where preparation meets opportunity , we weren't prepared,the chances were there,we didnt take them

One call was when the ball was rolling on the ground, and I think Reuben Hallorans hand came into contact with it while he was falling to the ground. Was clearly unintentional and no grabbing action was made or attempt to guide the ball.

I know its a foul by the letter of the law but found it harsh to give a free in a scorable position when the game was there to be won.

Also SURELY the goal keeper sweeping Walsh off his feet while the ball is there to be won in front of an open goal is a penalty and a black card? At least a free in for feck sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭portlaoisepal

Billy cost us the game...and the Kilkenny game also.Ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭Gardner

Think the way things are going with Aussie playing 55 min vs Wexford last night and playing well, if he stays fit over the next 5 weeks I think he’ll start come championship. If Prunty is 80% fit and available I’d be starting him. We will definitely start with a sweeper with a somewhat of a free reign given to Mark Fitz to drive forward and that's also not restricting Lyons or Bennett either. That middle third of Clare is something we targeted big time in Ennis 2 years ago and we got serious joy there last year. A half forward line as per the below for the direct play we have shown in the League is being lined up. Prediction 2/3 win in Ennis.

Team as I see it.

Nolan

Kenny Prunty Daly

TDB ( Sweeper role)

C.Lyons Mark Fitz Sh.Bennett

Leavy Barron

S.Bennett Aussie M.Kiely

Dessie S.Walsh

The Team last year vs Clare was B. Nolan; I. Kenny, C. Prunty, I. Daly; M. Fitzgerald, T. de Búrca, P. Leavey; D. Lyons, K. Bennett; J. Prendergast, D. Hutchinson (c), J. Barron; K. Mahony, S. Bennett, P. Curran.

From the above I can see 5 changes from last year. Much better team on paper than last year. We’ll surprise a few in Munster this year.

hope you are right but there are a few too many ‘ifs’ there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Any other details on that Wexford game? Where was it on, score, who else played etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭decies

Clare is definetly a must win considering the rest of them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Yeah, lose that and it's curtains for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Lads from a neutrals perspective be wary of banking on beating clare I'm expecting a big year for them this Yr, I'm not saying they're guaranteed to exit munster cos they or nobody else are either nor am I saying ye can't beat them up there.

I watched the match on Sunday and my initial thoughts were ye could struggle come championship but after thinking about it plus reading the comments on who ye were missing I'm back to my thinking pre the tipp match any of the 5 can get outta munster this Yr. Harness that big lad at 14 tidy him up and ye could have a diamond amongst others already there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭upthedeise16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 handy_out

That’s post of the season so far. Nice to see some positivity. Great team if we’re lucky with injuries. Please let us be lucky with injuries this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

I don’t think there’s any chance of Prunty being fit for Clare. I’d be surprised if he was fit for the final 2 games even if he had the operation. Mark Fitz or Iarlath will probably have to move to full back, Fitz looking the more likely at present. We need Iarlath back asap to ensure he is at the top of his game come April 19th. What injury has Kieran Bennett? He hasn’t featured in any match day panel this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭JD. 60