The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

Sounds like a very fortunate win for seniors, 2 fluke goals. We'll take it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,721 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Listened to it on the radio. Two freak goals and Offaly rattled the bar at one stage too.

Ryan Donohoe man of the match and rescued the result with a late two pointer.

Apparently a miniscule crowd at it. Described as a “handful” of Cavan supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

Sounded like we got lucky ,very lucky but our shooting seemed to be atrocious and our making so poor yet again

It's no gimme that Louth will beat Kildare we'll still be sweating and I personally hope we end up playing Tailteann cup as we have no place in the All Ireland series

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ipitydafool

Commentary slated our zonal defending again especially in 2nd half when we had a really strong wind and let them keep the ball for long spells and they always worked the score, carved us open numerous times too when always finding that extra person, rinse and repeat of Louth and Tyrone games, Ryan Donohoe with 1-5 from play and 2 massive 2 pointers at the end saved the day. Given how Louth are going and beating Derry yesterday so still theoretically in promotion hunt then at least we know they will go to Kildare hoping to end league campaign strongly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

Just back from it. Offaly were better team and had the freedom of park with back standing way off men. Our two pointer to win looked wide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Cavanlad23

For the first time in many years I missed a game for no other reason than I could not be arsed.

It will be very interesting when the club leagues start. I'd say plenty of lads want to put down a marker.

Im curious, on radio hannon mafe the comment that Cavan had 2 men back against 3 forwards and that Offaly were missing the chance to kick it in. That sounds crazy, what was going on there. What will a Div1 team do to us if we make the All Ireland series, it could be carnage

It was zonal rather than man to man. Full back line were about 5 metres of game whole time. Offaly cut us open cause always had an outlet with players free. If they took their chances and had a tall keeper we'd have being hammered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭macdonagh2007

Michael Hannon has repeatly called out the obvious problems with our defense after every league match on WAC yet the our Team management are not listening . Down through the years previous Cavan teams were noted for haven tough hard defenders/man on man.

625 at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Custard_Cream

The more McCabe gets hold of this team the worse and worse we seem to be getting. Starting to look a real mess now .

I can see us staying in the division this year, but next years Division 2 will be a Division 2 on steroids. You will have Monaghan and likely Dublin coming down with Down and probably Westmeath coming up the other side . We will have no Offaly or Kildare to save us.

On reflection, I think losing Mickey Graham hasn't done Cavan football any good.. I feel we have been going downhill since he left. I would take him back in a heartbeat over this.

Post edited by Custard_Cream on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭tanko

When Gerry Smith, Ciaran Brady, Gearoid McKiernan, Jason McLoughlin, Dara McVeety etc call it a day we’ll be lucky to stay in Division 3, there are bleak years ahead by the looks of things

Mickey brought us a great first two years in 2019 and 2020, although I still think more effort should have been put into remaining in Division 1 in 2019 - the chance was very much there against Monaghan in Clones but he held back for championship I felt.

Unfortunately, 2021 to 2023 were lost years due to the successive relegations. We lost three years of development and 3 years where the likes of McVeety, Faulkner and Brady would have been at the peak of their powers. Mickey has said himself you learn nothing playing London and Leitrim but it won’t be long until we are back there.

When all is said and done theres still a massive opportunity to beat Monaghan. The look dreadful although against far superior opposite than what we have faced so far.. I am hoping our dear leader is taking the Graham approach of keeping the powder drybin hope of a good championship run, although it's very very doubtful.

Given the first two league performances it does seem he has coached any decent football out of them as the league has gone on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Custard_Cream

The double relegation was a bit of a disaster but I would probably give him a pass on it . If COVID doesn't happen I don't think that happens .We were in the promotion mix from Division 2 before the COVID break in 2020.

There is going to be a massive rebuild and it's very important that the right man oversees that process . Similarly to what Down have done with Conor Lafferty, I would be giving it to a Mickey Graham or a Finbarr Reilly for a 5 year project with the necessary annual reviews etc.

When you get Barry Donnelly and Evan Crowe back in the current team alongside the likes of Niall Carolan, Tiernan Madden,Oisin Brady Paddy Lynch, Ryan Donoghue, Emanuel Shehu. Thats the spine of a good young team .. That's your starting point .. Then start to look at lads in the pipeline, your Nathan Quiqleys, Josh Shehu etc and really try to develop them for a senior team.That's where we need to go with this in the next few years .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭etuzyuk

Faulkner will be a huge loss against Monaghan. A born leader who always stepped up in championship. I'd worry if Monaghan get their tails up early, this team looks vulnerable. We cannot give them a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭mogue77

need to get James smith, Cian madden and sean mcavoy back in also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 shanemcgerts

Is Thomas Galligan back? Heard he was back in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭macdonagh2007

Regarding Barry Donnelly & Evan Crowe injuries are they still out long term or are they back partaking in some of training with the Senior Panel? What a boost if we could have Smith,Galligan & McEvoy back for the Championship .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭celt262

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Naughty_Skelator

he is yeah, not sure he’s staying though, heard rumours he is US bound,so can’t see him rejoining the panel. As brilliant a player as he was, with his injury history , he would probably struggle to readjust to the intensity levels of inter county after 3/4 years away from it.

The killer result in 2020 happened before the Covid break - the loss to Clare in Breffni. There’s no excuse for losing to Wicklow in 2021 either. If memory serves me correctly, they didn’t win one other game that year.

There is only going go be one man in charge for the next few years. The CB will blame anything but him for any issues. He’s been in charge of development for 12 or 13 years and isn’t even held accountable for it.

Post edited by Cavan_King on

Maybe when they see the attendance in Clones in Championship and the reduction in jersey sales they might start to think. We went to Tullamore to play a game we had to win, 625 people attended, we fluked a win with a 5/10 performance at best. Its dire. I am expecting a hammering of Derry, how many goals will we concede - 4 maybe?

Don’t worry, i’m sure the Crosserlough delegates and the delegates from all the other clubs will speak up and raise their concerns at the next county board meeting and not sit there in silence like a bunch of spineless sheep.

Easy to attack delegates when you aren’t attending yourself. Have you contacted the CB with your own concerns? Is your club going to be the one to speak up?

We have a County Board that don’t allow conversation and clubs who are threatened if they ask questions unfortunately.

Their cheap management team is probably saving them more money than jersey sales or attendances at Clones will generate. That’s all that matters to them - revenue and capital projects.

Club leagues back soon. I'd say theres a few players who will be gunning early on to show the reason they have been dropped from the county panel is nothing to do with ability. Looking forward to the club scene much much more than the shambles of our county team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 BreffniBoy123

word on the street is Ryan Connolly from Drumlane has been drafted in and is currently being trained to be a goalkeeper. McCabe the tactical genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭celt262

Attack??? Since when is asking a question an attack?? I’ll take that as a no then, they’ll do nothing, that’s grand