NCT REPORT: FAIL DANGEROUS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Time for changes
    The truth doesn't lie.

I would imagine your insurance company might be more to worry about if you had an accident.

If you keep looking back you'll never see what's in front of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭User1998

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭mankteln

This is exactly what I was going to say, I'd be less worried about the guards and more that I'd be uninsured in any accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Orban6

I can't find the sheet that came with my dangerous fail a year ago but I think it only said they may inform the Gardai, no that they will.

Either way, they made no attempt to stop me driving off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,330 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Here is what the RSA say is the procedure -

What Happens When a Vehicle receives a ‘Fail Dangerous’ test result?

Vehicles that receive a "Fail Dangerous" result are subject to the following actions:

A "Failed Dangerous" sticker is affixed to the vehicle, with legal information provided on the reverse.

Vehicle owners are advised verbally and in writing not to drive the vehicle until the defects are repaired.

The vehicle’s details are shared with the National Vehicle and Driver File (NDVF) and the Gardaí, who have direct access to this information for enforcement purposes.

Proactive vehicle maintenance is a year-round responsibility. NCT Is Not a Diagnostic Tool. https://share.google/EsihwnAUC8CRk58HC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭gk5000

That's what they say in a press release, but does not match what they say in section 6 of the NCT manual - which is that they only contact the guards if the owner states the intrntion to drive.

And as stated above they failed dangerous 133,000 in 2024, so their categorisation of dangerous is bogus, and the guards are not chasing these 133,000 cars.

Edit to add - its the NCT manual which they must follow, not their press releases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭9935452

Insurance comoanies are only waiting for a reason not to pay out a claim.

Car fails dangerous. Its not roadworthy. Therefore no cover and they wont pay out.

Valid cert or no, car is not roadworthy.

Worst case scenario you meet the guards and get done for bald tyres , driving without insurance and possibly dangerous driving..

I know lads who failed for tyres who just put on the spare wheel, then passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,126 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

even before the NCT, it was unlawful to drive a car at least one of whose tyres was below the minimum tread depth. This remains the case; 2 points and €80 for an FPN or up to €5k and 5 points if it went to court. The validity or not if the NCT cert is an irrelevance. That’s not what any FPN or prosecution would be for. Traditionally you would have had a spare tyre to change. Alternatively there are mobile tyre fitters. Don’t think it is even possible to argue you can travel around for 30 days. You certainly would get short shrift it it was picked up as it’s not that you were unaware of the position.

The truth doesn't lie.

Why is there even a debate about this, if you get a fail dangerous it means you shouldn't be driving the car. If you drive away and have a crash and kill someone you have to live with that and as I said earlier see what the insurance company has to say to you.

Again, if you read back you would realise that fail dangerous by the Nct is now devalued and bogus, (since 2018) with roughly 4,000 in 2014 which are probably genuinely dangerous and now 133,000 in 2024 which are largely spurious, but masking a small percentage genuinly dangerous - though all still needing repair.

And the RSA/NCT operating a don't ask/don't tell policy, devaluing their own relevance, integrity, and usefulness.

The truth doesn't lie.

Tell the insurance company that when they tell you where to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Surely the NCT manual has been revised and things that are now a fail dangerous issue weren't even considered in 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,740 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Proof of your claim they are spurious??

Or are you just making **** up because you don't like it?

Post edited by Cookie_Monster on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭Killinator

Will just weigh in here a bit as someone with a bit of experience in some matters discussed here.

Attached is a cropped image for a vehicle with a failed NCT. Our mobility app changed the NCT status to expired when a vehicle fails regardless of wether or not it had time left on the current disc. If you get tested and fail then the previous disc is no longer valid and you can be done for not having a valid/current disc.

Also getting a new one within the 10 days production time is of no use because the demand is made that you produce documentation to show you had valid NCT/Insurance/tax at the time you were stopped and not after it.

If your NCT is out you will get leeway if its not out of date a ridiculous amount of time and generally if you can show a booking for a retest. You'll get very little leeway if you have a fail and haven't fixed the issues and booked a new test, ESPECIALLY with tires as they are very easy to examine on the spot.

The mobility app has changed the game for us as far as roads policing is concerned with the amount of detail available to us.

7604.jpg
    Post edited by Killinator on

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,392 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Thank God maybe this thread will come to it's conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

I think people need to realise that NCT have no say in what is classed as fail or fail dangerous. They merely implement changes decided by the RSA. They don’t just decide one day that a tyre is now a fail dangerous or that an insecure steering rack gaiter is now a paid retest instead of a visual.

Based on what is shown, this garda app is interesting, but I would say is an indicator only - with no or very limited evidential value and no statutory legal basis or significance.

I can find no legal basis for revoking an existing NCT cert or disc which is in-date.(https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2017/si/415/made/en/print - para 12 & 13 as per below)

Test disc

12. The test disc is the proof of test for the purposes of Article 10 of the Directive. (i.e. EU Directive.)

Validity of test certificate

13. (1) Subject to paragraph (2) and Regulation 18, a test certificate ceases to be in force on that test due date which occurs after the certificate to which it relates was issued.

(2) A test certificate which is issued not more than 90 days before a test due date continues in force until the next test due date after that test due date.

and from para 2

“test due date” means the date by which a vehicle should be presented for a test;

The app is materially incorrect, in that the NCT is definitely not EXPIRED as it states, irrespective of its otherwise validity, and para 12 says that it is valid until the due date.

Garda (prosecutors) could/would not use it to contest an in-date, displayed disc, which was legally printed by the NCT/RSA and is valid as per the law.

In 2014 there were roughly 4000 fail dangerous which I think is close to the genuine figure.In 2024 there were roughly 850,000 fails with 133,000 of these classed as fail dangerous.

The app does not appear to differentiate between fail and fail dangerous, or expired.

I believe fail dangerous is inflated and bogus and the 4000 genuine ones which maybe should be the focus of garda attention are lost in the 133,000/850,000.

The app does not appear to tell the Guard if it is a faulty number plate light/tow bar socket, or if the steering / brakes are held together with sticky tape.

In anycase it is exclusively the guards who can prosecute for a dangerous defective vehicle, and the opinion of the NCT/RSA is largely irrelevant and not does not appear to be processed further.

The Guard may have a quick look at the car overall as regards dangerous defective if they come across it, but definitely aren’t seeking out this 133,000/850,000 per year.

I don’t think guards carry tyre depth gauges and like myself cannot assess if a tyre is 1.5 or 1.6mm but would probably say, that it’s close - go get it looked at/changed;

I don’t think any(many) guards would expect you to trailer a car from the NCT centre to the tyre place or mechanic and hire a car in these cases - unless it was really obviously bald or with wire/cord sticking out...

Yes the 10 day thing is dodgy, but there is wriggle room in that the NCT disc does not explicitly state when it’s valid from, and the “test date” is a little ambiguous.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Maybe read this bit...

Fail dangerous

10. Where the issuing authority or the supervisory body considers that the vehicle tested is the subject of a dangerous deficiency, it shall affix to the vehicle a notice to that effect and containing the words “fail dangerous” and advising that it is an offence to drive a dangerously defective vehicle in a public place.

So while the interpretation might be that your previous cert is valid under the 2017 SI (ive not looked to see if rhat has been superseded), you are still driving a car that you were informed was dangerous and the gardai have also been made aware of its dangerous fail result.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭cml387

In arguing too, gk5000 own'd his skill,

For e'en though vanquish'd he could argue still;

That is dealt with in the post above.

The opinion of the NCT has no legal validity on whether the car is dangerously defective. Only the guards can make that call, and it appears (from what has been shown of the app) that the guards only know if the NCT may be expired or not.

And again, the guards cannot seek out this 133,000/850,000 per year.

And to misquote: A few fail dangerous are manageable, but 133,000 is a statistic.

Edit to add -It's good you agree implicitly/explicitly with the rest of my post(s)- and haven't dug up any law or anything else to superseed it etc.

Therefore, now will you answer if the 133,000 cars should be trailered away from the NCT centre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭9935452

For your information as well guards do carry tyre depth gauges . You will see them out at rsa checkpoints.

The easiest way to check a tyre is, there are built in thread wear indicators on the tyre. I was stopped at a checkpoint a few years back and tyres were checked that way.

they do take the likes of bald tyres seriously hence 2 penalty points for it.

I know 2 people who got points for bald tyres

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Edit to add -It's good you agree implicitly/explicitly with the rest of my post(s)- and haven't dug up any law or anything else to superseed it etc.

Please don't put words in my mouth. I did not agree with your post, either implicitly or explicitly! I'm quite capable of posting my own views - your assistance really is not required!

As for this...

The opinion of the NCT has no legal validity on whether the car is dangerously defective. Only the guards can make that call, and it appears (from what has been shown of the app) that the guards only know if the NCT may be expired or not.

Thr gardai do make use of the expert opinion from the NCT testers to "make that call".

As for your persistent and stupid question: "Therefore, now will you answer if the 133,000 cars should be trailered away from the NCT centre?", these were considered dangerous failures by a qualified mechanic with documented evidence to back them up. Who am I to say that the owners would be right to drive away, despite them being informed of the illegality of doing do? My own view is that anyone who allows their tyres to get below the legal minimum tread depth and then brings the car to the test deserves to have the car taken from them - it is a simple check that literally takes seconds and if they are not prepared to do a basic and minimum safety check prior to the test, then what else do they neglect?

Anyhow, you seem determined to try and prove that you're entitled to drive a car deemed dangerous so off you go but please let us know if & when you're summonsed to court so we can all watch you put forward your arguments to the judge! Other than that, I'm now done with your pointless nonsense!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

"Thr gardai do make use of the expert opinion from the NCT testers to "make that call"."

Please inform how this is done, and how how this has been dealt with for the 133,000.

I had checked my tyres with the indicator on the tyre and thought it was ok but close, and was planning to change it and its pair, but was waiting till after the NCT to see if they came up with anything else,especially on the other tyres. Previous to 2018 that would have been fine and just a fail, but now it's a fail dangerous and associated scare tactics that is galling.

I drove it to the tyre place,new tyres and back for visual retest within the hour.

Theoritically,if I listened to the NCT I should have had it trailered it away which is in my opinion ridiculous, though appears to be supported on this forum. They are fully aware that most of the 133,000 do not trailer their cars away, but it's some sort of pretense - one of these terrible "Oirish" solutions, again which seems to be supported on this forum.

I had checked my tyres with the indicator on the tyre and thought it was ok but close, and was planning to change it and its pair, but was waiting till after the NCT to see if they came up with anything else,especially on the other tyres. Previous to 2018 that would have been fine and just a fail, but now it's a fail dangerous and associated scare tactics that is galling.

I drove it to the tyre place,new tyres and back for visual retest within the hour.

Theoritically,if I listened to the NCT I should have had it trailered it away which is in my opinion ridiculous, though appears to be supported on this forum. They are fully aware that most of the 133,000 do not trailer their cars away, but it's some sort of pretense - one of these terrible "Oirish" solutions, again which seems to be supported on this forum.

I do actually carry a tyre dept gauge!

You're right, we don't specifically use the app to prosecute....but it gives us grounds to investigate further.

If the app says it's expired then you either have expired NCT due to time or you have a fail on what WAS a current NCT. Either one can be grounds for prosecution.

And we do make use of the opinion of the NCT staff as a fail sheet is evidence of a dangerous/defective vehicle and can be used in court if required.

Just like anything else in life the failures SHOULD be trailered away if every thing was done by the book but life isn't like that. If it was I wouldn't be in a job! And I say that as someone who had a fail dangerous for tyres in a past life and then drove it away (to the nearest tyre garage!!!)

And if you think what I've shown there is the only information available to us you'd be incorrect (that's why I said it was a cropped image), but obviously I'm not going to go through a run down of all that we can check/find out for both security reasons and because I like having a job!!!

But look, what your doing is no different to a drink driver arguing he wasn't drunk because the intoxiliser result printed off a misspelled address 🤷 You are looking for a technicality to push the blame elsewhere for the fact that you want to drive with a failed NCT. It's not just you, it's a general think with road traffic offences....it's always someone else's fault or not THE issue we should be dealing with.

You stop a speeder:

"oh why don't you stop drug drivers?"

You stop a drug driver:

"It wasn't having any effect on me, why don't you get those boy racers?"

You stop a boy racer:

"Your just picking on us, why don't you get the slow motorway drivers who are just as dangerous?"

You stop a slow driver on a motorway:

"I'm not doing anything wrong, it's a limit not a target, you'd be better off getting those lads on the phones"

You stop a lad on his phone:

"I wasn't on it and anyway even if I was, have you nothing better to be doing, maybe stop some defective cars "

You stop a failed NCT/defective car:

"Sure it only failed on the tyres and there grand...I think, sure anyway, that NCT is just a racket, why don't you pull over some Ukranians instead?"

And so on....and so on....

The truth doesn't lie.

How will you feel in the pissing of rain after needing road legal tyres but because you thought the fail dangerous is "Oirish" and you just killed some people because you aquaplaned due to dangerous tyres. You still haven't addressed the insurance companies view on driving with illegal tyres if an accident did happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Tantalum73

Tyre tread depth legal minimum limit has been 1.6mm regardless of NCT and in the eyes of the law thats a defective vehicle .

Like previously stated the NCT rules is always updated inline with EU roadworthiness directives , and to be honest having a fail dangerous for a tyre anywhere below 1.6mm is entirely reasonable and just , too many people in this country have total disregard for the maintenance of their vehicle particularly tyres , for one being so easy to check.

There is no scare tactics , the tester is going beyond what he needs to say and trying to steer you in making the right choice for everyones sake maybe call your insurance company and ask how they would deal with you being in a RTC with a fail dangerous / defective tyre.. . Also you don't need to trailer your car away , some light thinking would have you exchange your tyre for the spare if you have one , call a mobile tyre fitter , get a loan of a spare , take a taxi and bring the tyre to a garage etc etc like many do.. there really is no good reason to flout a reasonable system and drive away , maybe thats a touch Oirish..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,968 ✭✭✭Trampas

Just so I’ve got this right. As soon as I drive into an nct I may as well rip up my nct current nct cert as it’s no longer valid even if I’ve 2 months left on it. Not suggesting a Garda would prosecute you but legally I could be.

Essentially yes.

You either pass the new test and get a new cert which will override the old one anyway or you'll fail and at that point your car could be considered defective (doesn't have to be a fail dangerous)