Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Cork and Limerick support also includes a bandwagon. All teams do when there's momentum behind them.

Post edited by Billy Ocean on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,132 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Sure do

tipp were outnumbered 4 to 1 in home match in 2024

brought SFA to PUC last year

be different this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Cork football team to play Kildare at 5pm tomorrow. 5 changes. Captain Ian Maguire, Seán Brady, Brian O’Driscoll, Tommy Walsh and Mark Cronin all come back into the team. Hopdully they can get that win!!

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,594 ✭✭✭zetecescort

looks very close to full strength, hopefully we can keep the promotion push going

out for the remaining league and Munster championship

Louth beating Derry as I type. Up by 7 points!

Makes us wnning later even more vital is that were possible!

Edit yes they won. Now Derry,Meath, Louth and us are on 8 points before the game

Post edited by The White Feather on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Rega

Huge result for Cork if they can get the win now. Fair play to Louth. Div 2 is an absolute minefield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,012 ✭✭✭robbiezero

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,920 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Great to see Cork putting up such a big first half score. 1-22 v 1-06

Cork 1-22 Kildare 1-6 HT. Chris Og Jones with our goal. 8 2 pointers for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Some lead even with the wind. Hopefully we can hold out

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,920 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Did the damage in the first half - a fine win - 1-31 v 2-19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,012 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Ye will still likely need to get something from the Tyrone game ya?

Assuming Derry beat Cavan and Meath beat Offaly.

Win or draw and we're promoted regardless of other results

This article head line really annoyed me. The article is behind a paywall tho

TOM RYAN: Here's a free tip for Cork who are €30m in debt - sunning your backsides in Portugal won't help you figure out how to beat Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,764 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

No idea how old Tom Ryan is but he can't be far off 80.

Ya think he learn to mellow a little.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭King Power Fox

Tom Ryan mis managed a fine Limerick team from 95 onwards. I would give him a pass on 94 v Offaly. His relationship with the county board was toxic, alot of stubborn men who couldn't get along for the benefit of the Limerick hurling team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

He's such a bitter man is Tom Ryan. Just the bitter ramblings of a failed Limerick manager who sat down on his arse as Limerick lost two all Irelands they could easily have won. We've proven since that game down the Pairc in 2024 that we have no fears of Limerick.

Anyway I was delighted with the footballers win. We allowed Kildare back into it to an extent in the second half, but beat or draw with Tyrone and we are back in division one next year.

I'd have bitten your hand off for such a scenario at the start of the league campaign. Back to hurling and i thought Waterford were very unlucky to get relegated. I really wanted that Tipp and Kilkenny relegation play off match!

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

i met the man in the past a good friend of my father but in front of the media he never really covered himself in glory , i am nearly sure the line " i …. i have put a big personal effort in myself this year " came from him, he was capable of saying anything in front of a camera

he has no time i take it for newtownshandrum he was ousted just before they won the all ireland in the mid 2000s , its a funny headline in fairness

Both matches next weekend in Hurling and Football are live on TG4 YouTube

Oh Tom is a great and very funny character in general. Like a lot of Limerick people though, i think's he's lost the head a bit when it comes to Cork after we stopped their attempt to do the five in a row.😁Anyway do you think playing division one B hurling will impact on your crowd much come the championship?

Himself and Babs Keating are very much cut from the same cloth. I don't get how Babs is so bitter at times considering the success he's enjoyed both as a player and manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,764 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ah Babs. Jesus he was the pinnacle of hate.

In fairness he was consistent with everyone as he never had good word to say about anybody.

EVENFLOW

His second stint managing Tipperary was a great laugh especially when he dropped Brendan Cummins.🤣 Although that evening we lost to his Tipp team in Thurles, was the first clear and obvious sign that our golden era was over. Prior to that evening i grew up seeing Cork teams beat Tipp in the championship pretty much all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

i would be very wary of the waterford game in particular , they made several errors last week again playing out from the back , but in open play have been very good in most of their games , if we lose that then we are in serious trouble ,

image.png

very close to full strength, Joyce at full back an interesting pick

image.png

….

Camogie team down 0-11 to 0-5 at halftime v Galway. Depending on other results a loss could see us relegated.

On YouTube now

Half time

Cork: 3-10 (19) Offaly: 0-7 (7)

This is more like a training game rather than an actual match. Cork look to be taking it easy but keeping them at arms length which is the perfect way. Walsh really has a good eye for goal. We dont want any injuries now so hope Ben looks at the bench. A few I would like to see expecially Cunningham as he has had no game time. Offaly have a few good players but the rest are not up to the standard. I was hopng they would be better. Id love to see them really be up there competing. In fairness they have made huge leaps so don't want to sound too critical.

HT 3-10 v 0-07 and the couple of goals just before ht puts a better read on the scoreline. Anything other than a very convincing win would ask questions in fairness, Offaly are simply not at this level by any means. Cork could easily be 20 up.