No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

And you’re working with him, despite his age and tics… completely at ease with him. Accepted and respected by the community and if anyone said anything I'd bet you'd be fairly protective of him. There’s a lovely, accepting part of Irish society that’s often overlooked. There’s a fella in our neighbourhood who has fallen to alcoholism, a simple enough fella. He used to cut one of the neighbour’s grass and they paid him every month. I found out lately that they still pay him, even though they turned their garden into a driveway to accommodate their EV four years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭148multi

The maga crowd were trying to push vaccines causing autism, saying autism rates were rising same time as they hispanic community started using vaccines, but when it was looked into it was due to higher income that they started getting diagnosed and treated, before they were just on a short lead or in jail / dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Yeah this fellas far from that as his father says he didn't like the wildness off a stone

Better living everyone

Hes far from autistic but its just a bit of a thing he does out of "the norm" that would probably get a label put on in today's world.

Better living everyone

More to it than the vaccines though all the poison in the food we eat the chemicals in laundry detergents and soaps and shampoos (it's 3 years nearly since i used and shampoos or body washes unless it's natural stuff, was using it scarcely before that time too but the time I used it 3 years ago my face was red and inflamed after it), wifi in the homes, microplastics in our systems the list goes on.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭lmk123

I got called for the jury, if I sent in a letter saying I can’t go because of the farm / calves etc etc would I have any hope in getting out of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,981 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Oh got called this time last year, he got off. I sent in a letter. He didnt even know he'd be called for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I got called a few years ago, in the height of lambing. I went to the doc and asked for a letter excusing me. He read the riot act at me, saying it was my civic duty and so on. I said I can’t be expected to leave my elderly parents in charge of sheep lambing and he relaxed then and wrote a letter mentioning my parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Yes definitely. I was called over Christmas time, as it was quiet said I'd go along. Judge even said if you couldn't commit to 3+ days to ask to be excused. They call way over what they need to cover themselves anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Why would you go to a doctor though, that makes no sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,916 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Trial going on ATM for about five months. It has an extended jury to cover any jurors who drop out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I think you may have quoted me by accident! I didn't assume it was autism at all.

When I was working for other companies I would have loved to do jury duty as part of my civic responsibilties. As soon as I became self employed and genuinely couldn't do it I got called twice. Had to get a letter from my accountant who charged me €120 for copying and pasting my words on to his letterhead. I have a new accountant now.

On another note on civic duty, I found a dead body and had to go to the coroners court to give evidence. So if you come across a body in unusual circumstances, be careful what you put in your statement, it will be read out to the deceased family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,752 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭50HX

Hope Paul Murphy gets nailed in tje defamation case brought against him by Alan Shatter...he's a hateful fook.

What is didnt know was that he didnt write the tweet himself it was a retweet of another poster...elected representative should no better

Shows the measure of the man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,507 ✭✭✭naughto

Fed an watered an paid by your employer if your not self employed id hzve no bother doing it

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭Ten Pin

Re Jury Duty...

"If it’s not possible for you to do jury service you can ask to be excused. You should only do this in exceptional circumstances, for example:

• you have a serious illness or disability that prevents you from doing jury service
    • you’re a full time carer of someone with an illness or disability
    • you’re a new parent and cannot arrange alternative childcare
    • you are self-employed and jury service would seriously impact your business"

Source:

https://services.courts.ie/taking-action/jury-service/seeking-to-be-excused-from-jury-service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭tanko

Just ignore it, you won’t hear another word about it, there’ll be lots of idiots there on the day with nothing better to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Cushtie

I did that one time and never heard another thing back about it.

I know another lad that booked the cheapest flight abroad he could find on Ryanair for the day of it and sent that off saying he was going away. He got excused. Cheaper than paying an accountant 120 for a letter anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭lmk123

jobs children and cattle, it would be a pain in the hole to say the least

I went to it years ago , was looking forward to a childfree, breakaway from farm etc. I wasn't picked on the first day so was excused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

dunno, lots of people I know got signed off by the doc so I went that route. I had another reason to visit the doc so it wasn’t just that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Turn up wearing a pioneer pen or similar and you won't be considered, seen as being biased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Tileman

I did it years ago. Was an interesting case. Grand for a few days but allot of waiting around. Phones were taken off us and given back at end if day.
    few days ok but wouldn’t like the month long ones u see with some big criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I got called and turned up at the courthouse. The judge picks who they wish from the group and the solicitors then get one's they don't like removed and the judge picks others instead till all are in agreement with the jury picked.

The court I was at the judge read out the names of those who didn't turn up and had no written explanations sent in for the guards to visit and fine. The guards were handed that list of names then.

There was one of the jurors picked said he was a dairy farmer and he wouldn't be able to give the time. The judge excused him.

I just went for the experience. And then home in a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,374 ✭✭✭visatorro

I'd agree, id be more worried that he'll have no problem getting elected for as many elections as he runs. Maybe he does great work on the ground in his constituency but he spouts same dirt out of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Had one of those days where you question why the hell do we bother with livestock.

A pbnr LM cow (zag) calved unassisted earlier today, a fine big healthy bull calf but unfortunately she put her calf bed out about two hours later. She is a 2018 cow that we bought in as a incalf heifer. Vet called, calf bed back in, stitched up etc. Both cow and calf are fine at the moment.

A neighbour called by for a bale of straw and ran over/squashed one of the yard cats.

A 2019 BBx cow that we also bought in as a incalf heifer calved this evening on her own - good enough bull calf. I went to the pen to open the gate so I could put iodine on the calf's navel and give him a At Birth Tube and she charged at me. I called OH to come and help but she had a go at him as well. We left her be for a hour or so to see if the calf would suck by himself. He got up and sucked every part of her except a teat. We managed to get her out of the straw bedded pen and into the feed passage by enticing her with meal and I fed the calf 2l of beastings that I got from dairy farmer neighbour in the hopes that it would get the calf going to suck the cow. Several hours later the calf was bawling for a suck so desperate times call for desperate measures - we strapped a gate onto the front bucket of the 50B, drove down the feed passage, we enticed the cow out into the feed passage with meal and he gently pinned/pressed her against the back wall so that we could get the calf sucking and she couldn't attack us. We brought the calf out to suck her and when OH drew her teats she has mastitis in both front quarters. Long story short, we took the calf away to the other yard and I heated up the rest of the beastings that I got from our neighbour. I will get transition milk from him tomorrow morning and start the calf on CMR after. We injected the cow with a long acting antibiotic and put her into a pen with a cull cow for company.

I've been rearing, breeding and feeding cattle for over forty years and I've never had a animal with so much aggression - she's like one of those fighting breeds that you see in Spain or Portugal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

I like that idea, gate attached to the front bucket.

Friday The 13th... at least everyone came safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

When it comes to wicket cows, the one thats bad at calving is ok, because you are careful around them around calving. Its the bitch that would charge at you a few weeks after on that I really detest..