Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,924 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

You are confusing the definition of swan song to somehow not being able to do the job asked of you, when the actual definition of swan song is actually the last exceptional achievement.

Personally I have no issue with bundee covering the center for the last 15-20 minutes if needed. He's coming in completely fresh and rearing to go, which is a rare thing for a 35 yo inside center.

It was said Henshaw was too old and slow last November and he showed that to be untrue. Lowe was said to have been washed up before this competition and he's shown that to be untrue.

Bundee absolutely can do what's asked of him on Saturday, and if that's his last appearance in green then that in itself will also lift his team mates performances.

Luckily the sport we enjoy is played my human people and not robots.

Post edited by sydthebeat on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,675 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

"Bundee absolutely can do what's asked of him"

If only he was the same with referees 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭sliabh 1956

Well said Tombo I was just about to write a reply to that original post. The reason that we should be proud of our Rugby team is that we are performing away above where we should be as Tombo just explained . We are an amazing Nation in producing athletes of all discipline, just look at all the success we have achieved over the years just this week our Jockeys and Trainers are flying the flag in Cheltenham . I first saw Ireland play in 1967 against Australia which we won actually and for years after we struggled to find winning on regular basis difficult we were always able to win a one off game against one of the leading Nations . So to compare those years to what we have today is indeed hugely successful. Im forever telling my sons lads ye never had it so good when they moan and complain about Ireland not winning World Cups and Grand Slams on a consistent basis.

I think it says more about the age profile of posters thinking we are under performing on the world stage because they never experienced the bad old days.

I remember a time when a win against France was unachievable, when a win against Scotland was rarer than hens teeth. These days a Scottish win is expected and a French win not a surprise.

We should be celebrating being in that position

Post edited by sydthebeat on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

The Maddest thing that has come out of the last few weeks is people trying to soft launch the idea that it is some kind of wild miscarriage of justice that Bundee was 1st choice ahead of Mcloskey for the majority of his career

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭crossman47

You cite Wales and England getting to semis as a success. They didn't go on to win so its no better than going out at QF stage. That is a totally overblown so called failure. Ireland have been more successful than we could ever have hoped in recent decades.

A lot of Irish rugby fans (including myself) are post professional era so unless you are keen on sports history and stats the idea that Scotland were once considered a bigger better team than us is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭FtD v2

Completely agree on this.

What kills me about 2023 is we legitimately had a team good enough to actually win a RWC, and God knows if we'll ever be in that position again. Winning the QF against NZ and then crashing out in a semi would not have been a win or a success for me either.

That 2022/23 vintage Irish side is the best Irish side of all time IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭OldRio

As someone fast approaching my 70s I can remember a time when a win or two in the 5 nations was a success. I find when reading some of the posts on here remembering my father's words 'Stop complaining. You young bucks have never had it so good'

You need to experience the bad to appreciate the good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,789 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I read this morning that if Aki and Murray get on tomorrow, we'll have used 35 players in this 6N.

That's a big number, especially when you consider that we have pretty lucky with injuries throughout the tournament. Correct me if I'm wrong, but of the players who featured in rounds 1-4, only Ryan and Loughman are ruled out of tomorrow by injury? So we've got to 35 largely by design.

That 35 is in additon to Porter, McCarthy, Boyle, Baird, Ahern, Henshaw, Keenan and Hansen, all of whom would have seen varying levels of involvement but for injury.

TLDR; maybe people can unclench about Aki getting a few minutes off the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Delighted to see Italy progressing. Disappointing to see Wales regressing.

This post will come across as harsh - but Im not having a direct pop at you. I disagree on few things, this is more a general statement thing!

Ireland are going to be competing just as well over the next 26 years as they have since the six nations started in 2000.

The TdF analogy - I know what you are saying with Roche. I did watch it in the 80's (and consume via TdF) the cycling world (and TdF watchers!) recognised Kelly as a Great. 4 Green jerseys! Ireland have 4 Grand Slams in their history.

But this is the important point: 3 of those Grand Slams were won in the last 26 years.

The RWC QF defeats are real under achievements. No point in hiding away from it.

I've no doubt Ireland will win more Championships over the next 26 years. Italy? I doubt it. Im sure they wont be wining more than Ireland.

Not looking down my nose at Italy, its just the facts; until they start producing more quality players than Ireland at U20s.

Irish people should not be embarrassed to say:

1.Ireland have a very good chance at winning the Six nations in 2027. (Albeit -say it to yourselves).

2. Ireland have a very good chance of reaching the semi-final of the RWC in 2027.

Just like the Triple Crown game tomorrow. It's not 'entitled'(ffs) to say Ireland should win. They've beaten Scotland 11 times in-a-row! Again, its just facts.

Ireland have a very good rugby team. There is a cohort of entitled w*nkers in Ireland, just like every other country. They'll latch on to success wherever they see it and run a mile to get away when things go bad.

I've been going to Lansdowne road for over 40 years. Im not afraid to say Ireland are good. Or that I hate what the matchday 'experience' has become. Or that I support the 4 provinces. Or to criticise or discuss pros/cons, (best to ignore the cowardly few who try to twist any criticism as some sort of Anti-Farrell, Anti-Irish rugby thing). And Im not afraid to say Ireland are going to do it tomorrow!

Rant over.

Enjoy the game and hopefully a 15th Triple Crown (9th in last 26 years!).

Post edited by ionadnapóca on

you know what they say about those that do not learn from history……..

you are in a privileged position to have only known irish rugby going through good times, so enjoy that.

likewise im of a vintage that enjoyed our soccer team going through very good times ('88, '90, '94) and it pains me these days to see them so abject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,165 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

I think thats fair and thanks. I just personally dont see the QF defeats as being the massive deal everyone else sees it as.

Obviously, if Ireland had won a WC that would be massive. If we had reached a final, and it had been like the NZ QF, that would also be a major achievement.

If we had reached a semi-final, and lost it, like Wales and Argentina have done a few times — I just dont see it as a big deal if we did or didnt.

On the other, long term - I am not that close to the game to know. But I would guess the u20s is a predictor of where the game will go for the next five years. To that end, Italy's u20 team is definitely on an upward trajectory.

Also, I think its unlikely we will benefit so much from imports as we have in the past - take Stander, Aki, Hansen, Lowe, JGP out of the Irish team; what does our performance look like? If you coach any team - and say, ok I am going to lose three of my best six players - its not the same team.

I think - WC QF or not, we have been close to the best we can be. Thats clearly not been the case for England, or until recently, for France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jem

While I am a little younger than you heading quickly towards 60 I also remember those bad days. I remember Nick Poppewell who was the outstanding prop of his day who went ages without winning with Ireland ( looking up his record now played 48 lost 32 . And that's only in the 90's. Ireland never finished out of the bottom two in the whole of the 90's . In fact they lost a test series to the world power of Namiba in 1991.( I looked that up) at the start of the professional era we lost 3 times to Italy.

I remember when we won our first triple crow in 1982 after 33 years without one. The joy. The 1985 team that won the triple crown and championship ( not a grand slam). That was the last bit of silverware until 2004.

In summary the past 15 years or so has been amazing. But we shouldn't forget how quickly that can change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

The IQ players is a point well made. Those you have mentioned have all unquestionably had a huge impact on Irish rugby.

No better illustration than JGP.

10 years on from Luke McGrath and Leinster havent produced another Test player at 9.

I agree; its unlikely Ireland will benefit as much as they have in the past. But that doesn't mean Ireland cant get better at producing players.

e.g. there is a far better structure in Irish rugby in comparison to Italy.

Italy of course also had to rely heavily on ITQ players (Parisse, Catrogiovanni and recently Brex & Capuozzo)

Personally I think Irish rugby in 2026 is in a very strong postilion to improve, and improve at greater speed than Italy, Scotland and Wales. English rugby is not in a good place and the French will always have internal strife because the clubs hold all the power. Eng & Fra will have quality players, but that doesn't always translate to their Test teams.

Irish rugbys power is the 4 Provinces. It's far from perfect, but its not the hindrance some try to make it out to be in comparison to the amount of players and clubs in England and France.

RWC - We'll just have to disagree! Roll on 2027!!

And Thanks for taking my post in the spirit it was meant!

Exactly.

Also look at the Irish Soccer team the heights of euro88 Italy 1990, usa 1994 and look at how they are gone now.

Not being negative at all but whether we like it or not Irish rugby is in my opinion way too reliant on leinster schools. there is not, and it pains me to say it, the same numbers and quality coming through the Munster schools in particular. In Limerick hurling has gone from strength to strength and this has damaged Munster Rugby and by extension Irish Rugby. Not sure how to fix this. The IRFU pumping money into Munster senior men may help. Success leads to players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭Downlinz

"35-year-old Connacht centre Aki and 33-year-old wing Lowe’s contracts are due to expire this summer, but Ireland boss Farrell is confident that both will remain in Irish rugby beyond that point as the 2027 World Cup looms."

“Yes, I do,” said Farrell yesterday when asked if he expects Aki and Lowe to still be part of his plans into next season.

https://www.the42.ie/farrell-aki-lowe-6983637-Mar2026/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

That Ireland v Australia on Saturday 26th October 1968 when we won 10-3 was also my first time watching Ireland live.

Reading this, I can feel my dad's hands on my shoulders from behind (we were on the Havelock Sq end terrace).

Gotta go, I've got something in my eye ..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,049 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Not sure what else he is supposed to say, but i hope it is not true.

Won't get in to the bigger debate, both sides have good points, but I think your last 2 lines is a bit of a hard truth. That team was once in a generation. Honestly I think you could say out of the 6 Nations, Wales haven't had a team that good since the 70s, England since 03. Scotland probably never? It's why the negativity on here about the team declining is so annoying, as if it's because of some horrendous mismanagement

I do actually agree wioth you that the QF thing shouldn't be the massive all consuming negative that some make it out to be, but I do think unfortunately the weight of that history might have cost that team the 5-10% that lost them that game.

Wasn't there something about Namibia being very good at the time because SA players were going there to circumvent the ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Aye, tyranny of size.

We're a small country inevitably reliant on "golden generations". For all sports that means the sheer unlikely coincidence of having a core of quality players at the one time. Soccer has gone through a long dreadful period after some years of success. Talent just wasn't there. Rugby will go through the same lull. We don't have the population (also huge competition for the talent there is between sports which sets us apart from New Zealand, for example) to sustain decades of success in anything.

On the upside it's the leaner times that leads to the excitement when things are on the up again.

We are heading into a leaner time for the national side but it will turn again.

yeah - its very striking how many of the Ireland squad have gone to private schools in Dublin.

Its an incredible nursery - but its also a playing pool that ignores 90% of the population.

I had a quick look - there are circa 27'000 kids in private schools in Ireland. Lets assume 15'000 of those are boys, and assume 10'000 of those attend schools in Dublin/ Kildare.

Thats where (at a guess) 60%/70% of our national team comes from; but its only about 5% of the population of secondary school boys in Ireland. So a huge part of the population is not feeding into the national team in a big way.

It's not that simple and "golden generation" plays down the amount of intelligent work and decisions that went into teams like Irish rugby and Limerick hurling. Equally it's massively forgiving of the sht shows that are Irish soccer and Welsh rugby.

Behind almost every golden generation or massive collapse is a story of genius administrators or incompetent and or corrupt ones.

Thats mad.

Somehow this needs to be corrected and the pool extended.

I do think that money plays a big part. at a young age the facilities and training and at an older age we are missing out on kids that mature later so dont get picked up at a young age. There isn't the space in the Munster academy for example. Take young Carney staring on the u20's he is playing with cashel as there wasn't space for him in the Munster academy. Hurling is so much better at big squads and keeping kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,409 ✭✭✭✭bilston

By my reckoning come tomorrow only Doris, McCloskey and Osborne will have started all 5 games. That has to be unheard of for Ireland in the pro era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭jacothelad

I saw Ireland for the first time in 1957 v. France when I was 8. Ireland won but I can't recall the score. Then against England we lost and I know we lost and didn't score. My main memory is of a small boy being swept along by hordes of huge adults. I remember that game v Australia in '67 as if it was yesterday. First of all it was utterly freezing cold. The game was great though and only 3 points for a try then. Mike Gibson destroyed them in attack and defence. Oh for a new version. No one, not even the great BOD comes near. All teams evolve, decline, fall, rise again. The last 20 years or more have been truly great for Ireland rugby as a team and that is largely on the backs of firstly a fine Munster side followed by the Leinster talent factory. It will have fallow periods and fertile periods, Munster will rise again. Ulster seems to be on the up and Connacht have a great coach and a new range of talent. We are not capable of maintaining 2022 levels of player performances endlessly but we can still be competitive.