Boards Golf Society -Rd 2 New Forest, 21st of March, 1st Tee -11:00am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭tigerwood1

Looks nice, I must put it on my to do list.

How's your recovery going ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭bobster453

Going well thanks, 5 weeks down, anothet 5 to go.

Practising light chipping and putting daily helps.

Light swing of clubs at range each day next 2 weeks before hitting big dawg is the plan.

Beginning of May pencilled in for 18 using buggy every 2nd hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 549 ✭✭✭a post punk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Some round Alan - some whs too (lol)

On the course - if it was ten years , I'll give myself a tad of a break.

Is the rough still that - let it grow wild style ?

Looks hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Here is a video - golf quality a bit more realtiable to what you see with some you tubers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,516 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I must update that

I’ve definitely played it since then but not sure with who, how or why 🤷‍♂️😂

Great, we'll look forward to seeing you on the podium in Gowran 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

enjoy lads, I’ll miss most outings until August. My eldest is dancing (Ballet) that Saturday and I wouldn’t miss that for a round at Augusta 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Snackbox20

Fantastic news Bobster, best of luck with the rest of the recovery 👍👍👍

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,784 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I'll know later today if i can make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭Batesy

Jesus, the 2 boys have made me even more nervous as a first timer playing the course on my Society debut! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭bobster453

You be grand, play your own game, never mind what others do, and win...simple😁

Wouldn't judge much of it by your man - he is in trouble off nearly every tee. It looks like keep her simple and in play place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,142 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Had a glance back at old threads. Obviously Alanms round was an epic in 2016 and won with 40+ points.

But in 2017, it was wondering with 33 points by Break80.

Not sure if different tees were used or conditions were tougher but it may be a tough round for plenty.

Reading a bit of the feedback there was a lot of consternation and giving out about the 12th hole in particular.

@FixdePitchmark you actually, at that point in your golfing career, called it the toughest parkland hole in Ireland that you had played.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,873 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I was member here for a few years, it's tough from the back tees, especially some of the par 3s. Greens can be very fast, 1st and 3rd can scare you. Other than that it's all in front of you. 12th hole a bit silly. LD off the 18th society tee could be considered unfair but this is a non-counting society round so nothing to stop you playing from the back tee area for just the 18th. If not then 17th is next best if you want it towards the end of the round, just note it's a split fairway, there used to be a pond splitting the fairway but it disappeared so now first grade of rough length grass.

Enjoy! I hope the 16th par 3 is on the left of the green and you are putting from the right, a wonderful pace is required to lag up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭blue note

I'd love to know how the architect envisioned people playing that hole. It at least how he thought they should. To be far enough back to go over that tree you'd need to be about 300 yards from the green. Maybe a power fade around it from 250 yards away? I assume the idea wasn't to run through the fairway and play the approach from the rough. The leftmost part of the drain would probably be possible to cover for the bigger hitters, but with the angle it runs away from you at, I'd say for every 10 yards right you go you'd probably need another 15 yards to get over it. It doesn't even really work as a oar 5.

But all that said, it's still a great course in spite of the one bad hole. And I don't remember it being particularly hard. In fact, I'd have thought it's a decent one for breaking 30 points. Not easy to come in with a big score, but I would expect most people to come in happy that they had a decent one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

Maybe it's not a driver hole.. Golf IQ test instead.

I can't see it. To lay up far enough back to go over / around it the green is basically out of range. I'll be very interested to hear people's opinions on the hole after the day. I actually parred it the last time I played it. I was right up by the tree from the tee and was able to punch a 5 iron which ran along the fairway to the middle of the green. Definitely not a way you could play it consistently.

@tigerwood1 if you're rejigging the timesheet for the actual numbers, if it's possible to keep me on the last line I'd appreciate if you would. It would let me get something done in the morning before heading down. And stay in the good books at home.

We now have 29 spots booked, so if any guests would like to play, please get in touch.

The green fee for visitors is €55. They are not eligible for the main prizes; however, if more than three take part, we will arrange a separate prize.

Depending on final numbers, we may have to rejig the timesheet slightly. @bluenote , we’ll hold a spot at back of field for you 😉.
    On a side note, the food menu appears to be very reasonably priced, with most dishes around the €15 mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Concerned2

I played here last Easter as part of a week long trip with my son played a few courses in the area , Bearna , Ballinarobe, Glasson , Athlone and here. Next to Bearna I found it the hardest of the courses and didn't even break 100 here :-( I reckon any 30+ points around here is very good going. I have only vague recollection of most of the holes but I do remember hold 12 as being rotten hard ! Still looking forward to this , forecast is excellent given the muck we have been getting the past few months. Should be sunny , mild and pretty calm so no excuses !

What tees are we playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Antokelly5

Apologies lads, going to have to remove myself from the weekend, Cup match in rugby got moved from The Sunday to Saturday so not available. Ragin was looking forward to it. See yee all on the next one hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,516 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

good luck with match…. Make sure you win 😎

Happy Paddy,s day🇮🇪.

We are off the yellow tees.

Nearest the pin will be the 11th and longest drive the 17th.

The weather is glorious lads. If we get this on Saturday we should make it a 36 hole comp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 weapon of grass destruction

You must be doing some serious work Saturday morning to build up the good book credits for 36 holes😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 549 ✭✭✭a post punk

We’d probably have to setup tables to have refreshments while passing like a marathon 😂