Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

isn't it the same guy? i enjoyed it, better than dion and miguel. i found it interesting explaining why pep isn't as dominant, which i've always wondered. it can't be as simple as just worse players. teams manmarking instead of zonal marking at least is a theory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Actually groaned when I heard he was going to be on. Groaned, then fast forwarded. Dullest man on the planet. Wish they'd stop wasting a football show on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

I find some of what Hamilton has to say interesting, but he takes it all far too seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,136 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

quite enjoyed him. Always like a football pod that’s a bit different and a bit more abstracted from the usual ‘what happened this week’ ones.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

I think there's a kernel of interesting ideas there, but there's a lot of hot-air and needless obscurity too. So many times listening to him I felt, yes, okay, I get it, now get on with it.

His ideas aren't really that complicated and don't need such endless digression and elaboration - which in my eyes makes him a spoofer.

Ken is the ideal credulous listener for this type of stuff unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭siblers

It works much better on a visual format. Will Still was on MNF when he was at Lens and he covered similar enough topics to what Janie Hamilton covered and it was quite interesting but on an audio format, he just couldn't hold my attention yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

That manages to be simultaneously offensive to both Hamilton and Hunter somehow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭MercuryBoy

Whatever happened to Graham Hunter, haven't heard him on Second Captains or elsewhere for a while, is he still wearing those black sunglasses indoors somewhere? The end of the Messi/Ronaldo era in la Liga wasn't great for him

They shouldn't have messed with the signals the universe was sending about whether or not to travel to the playoff.

Branno went solo to Hungary: end result was an unprecedented result for Ireland.

The last time they all went travelling for Ireland football was, AFAIK, to Poland for Euro 2012... And we all know what happened there.

I wouldn't take any chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

Tom English embarrassed himself so thoroughly in his coverage of the Old Firm match I would have thought even Second Captains would have stayed away from him on this topic, chums or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

You know they are stuck for content when they focus on the plastic paddies against the Brits.

Analytics junkie journos still holding onto the belief that Cardio Man wasn’t an even bigger waste of money than Isak is reaching levels of fanatical religious belief in the face of reality only equalled by Pete Hegseth’s analysis of how WW3 is going for the US.

Had to google to realise you were talking about Wirtz. Wirtz has been grand, very happy to have him at the club. An absolute baller, and the best player on the pitch most games - one of the few bright sparks in the team from November until his recent little injury. Off it against Galatasaray, but was thrown straight into the starting lineup after a month out, so hardly too surprising. Generally speaking, just not at all worried about him. has more than proved his ability and quality since those tentative worries in the early weeks.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Murph's Scotland theory remains undefeated.

I like Smith but him trying to take a pop at Roy for pointing out the obvious, that Liverpool may be one of the most woeful defending champions in living memory, was comically misguided and at least Ken was willing to call him out on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭dog_pig

https://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2026/0318/1563928-edogbo-racist-abuse-mainly-came-from-irish-based-accounts/

This seems to be completely at odds with what the lads said a couple of weeks ago

Gary Breen was absolutely class. His passion for Ireland just radiates in a way I never really appreciated properly when he was playing. He even talked to some of the old lads to prep for the interview, above and beyond stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Battery Kinzie

Thought Kenny Cunningham was a bit shite today.

Kenny thinks he is a lot more entertaining than what he actually is but when he started speaking seriously he wasn't too bad

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Gary Breen was so enjoyable on the show, the story about being up before school opened was gas. His enthusiasm was moving.

I enjoyed Kenny too today and totally forgot Ken did live Prem commentary…as did Kenny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

I'm not normally someone who likes to be mean on the internet, but Kenny Cunningham is a total dose. I had to switch off after 15 mins. He kept talking over Eoin and interrupting. Unbearable. He did get marginally better when he stopped trying to be funny. Completely disagreed with his assessment of Johnny Kenny too, as I sense the lads in studio did too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭joinme

Are we getting a feckin' podcast today or wha!

Still no sign of it

Didn't they say they'd be travelling today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Kenny thought he was on OTB, where that exact type of "banter" suits the gormless lads that host it

He can offer something at times in a more normal conversation, but he loves to get riled up and build up a head of steam ranting about something, which tends to be when he's at his worse and talking the most nonsense.

He especially loves to create a straw man, and get all angry about it, when it's not an argument anyone was actually making. Like going off on one that the main reason to keep HH is how likeable he is — nobody is even remotely suggesting that's the main reason he's gotten an extension. The main reason is obviously that he achieved the unlikely primary objective of getting out of a group we were 3rd seeds in. That's, like, 95% of why he's staying on… the fact he's a likeable fella, a good person to collaborate with, and a good communicator is all bonus stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,002 ✭✭✭bren2001

I thought Cunningham was poor. There's very little discussion about topics he doesn't raise. They talked about "his" team and him advocating for a change in approach in general - that's great but we've a WC playoff this week and we're not going to radically change the approach that got us here. The discussion around the HH extension was pointless, there was zero acknowledgement of any logic behind the approach. There's nothing wrong with disagreeing with the extension but its pretty obvious why the FAI did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,215 ✭✭✭Acosta

Forgot how funny it was when Ken was doing live commentary.