Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Skeheenlad

That hiding has been coming with months, only papering over the cracks it has been with a while, they lost to Carlow before the league started and the state of Carlow! No structure and no game plan has been evident with a long time! The last thing won underage was the Tony Forristal in 2024, I think one trophy was won underage last year and that was some leinster under 14 competition. Serious lack of proper facilities in the county, having to travel to Carlow for training and games and now cant even drink the water in Dunmore anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭JohnCougar

In all the years I am going to matches, last Saturday was the worst level of performance I have ever seen. We have lost plenty of games over the years but we never gave up in any game before, and we always fought to the end but there was no fight on Saturday night apart from 3/4 players. I just hope that this was a blip and the first round robin game on the 18 April will be a huge improvement.

The worrying issue for me over the years is the athletic development of all players at minor, U20 and senior level. There are very few players on the senior panel or coming through the younger squads that have pace, power and mobility. We seem to have plenty of players who can all run at the one pace and can't get any faster when trying to break tackles or move up off the shoulder in a running game. All the other counties we play seen to have mobile quick players who are able to move up the gears when they want. In the long term we can get players to improve their speed and power if the right person can be got to coach our players but this would cost money and that won't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Village87

I suppose the warning signs have been in place . Losing against Carlow, really struggled past Offaly and Kildare. Let's hope the meeting in Nowlan Park yesterday was productive. Need to draw a line over that and move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Glenomra

The hurling landscape has changed. Munster counties pouring money into tesms and facilities. Limerick GAA about to commence work on a 20 million euro centre of excellence. They have no intention of getting off the stage as happened between 1973 and 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Girlcat

Just wondering why you think the last sentance is stupid ?

Are you satisfied with Derek as manager ? And if so Why ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭me89

I go to every Kilkenny game and that is the first time I have ever left a game early, it was a shambolic performance.

From the start the energy was low, I actually feel sorry for the defenders because the work rate from the forwards was non existent,work rate is non negotiable when in a kilkenny jersey thats where it starts.The amount of free runners off the ball for Galway from there half back line left constant two on one opportunities and an easy score.

Mossy and Cody dont seem to have the speed to get away from there man and without TJ we have no one to catch a high ball and nothing sticks. I have never seen Donnelly drop as many balls.

Our two midfielders put in a shift and Cian was excellent. Mickey Carey went off with a hamstring injury so not sure where that leaves us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Just watched it back on TV for the first time and it didn’t get any better at the second time of watching it but the Kilkenny performance was only marginally worse than Colm Lyon’s performance…. he’s a very very poor referee.

If Waterford beat Tipperary Sunday in Walsh Park, then ourselves and Tipperary is more or less a relegation final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Yeh a Waterford win leaves only us and Tipp on 4 points so whoever loses that Tipp/Kilkenny game would be relegated. Tipp have better scoring average so only a win for us would be enough to stay up.

I sometimes wonder are players getting disillusioned with the lack of Kilkenny support at games. I'm not stupid enough to think it's overly important, but Cork having at least 2/3rds of the 14k crowd in Nowlan Park last week, must be a huge psychological boost to their players. We looked outnumbered against Waterford as well. The less said about the attendance at the Minor and U20 All Irelands, the better.

Our issues are certainly on the field currently, and in the Co Board for years, but the rot seems to be setting in all over. I watched highlights of the 2013 league final v Tipp in Nowlan Park and the Kilkenny crowd there was massive. The apathy from the supporters over the last few years was finally matched by the players on the field Saturday. Was it only a matter of time before that happened?

Our support is an absolute embarrassment considering what we have achieved as a small county.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭usualstripes

Fair point re attendances. The home Match v offaly hadn't 4000 there. Similarly v Waterford and cork we were outnumbered. Why is that? Cost is a factor but genuinely believe we're just not interested enough. We've a smallish population in the county. soccer and rugby take their fair share out of it. Its been this way for years. There are articles out there that say we are losing gaa players nationally too early to other sports but many clubs in kilkenny have 3 and 4 adult teams, which we never had. Many factors dictate why attendances are low but by God we should get to Thurles in big numbers and support Lyng and the lads. They need it more than ever now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Derek can only do so much… players are as responsible for teams performance as management… 2012 all-ire final 1st half Galway were giving KK plenty of it.. winning well coming upto halftime.. Shefflin brought himself out from his corner forward position to win some ball which he did.. won a couple frees etc.. brought KK back into game.. present bunch havent those attributes… coach can instil so much into players.. but ultimately players win games…

I agree, if ever the team needed support it’s for this game. Also on a side note I was wondering if you saw my post re the Huw and Billy misunderstanding?…. I wouldn’t like anyone to think I was accusing them of letting anyone down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭usualstripes

Of course I understand what you meant and I know it wasn't in any way an attack on these players. I see what you mean. Unfortunately we were over reliant on lawlor as he is an outstanding full back. Billy had a good year last year aswell. Maybe there's something of a disconnect between management, county board and players. Not sure but I know eoin Cody is not a fan of lyng. These things happen the whole time but the players on the field must take up that responsibility themselves, regardless of who we have. As another poster said, when you put on the black and amber, at the very minimum you give 110%. Everyone wants to see the lads at the top of their game. Unfortunately at the minute, that's not happening but we must persist. What choices do we have?

Post edited by Charlie69 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭neverbet

You quote the stat KK won minor in '93 and not again until '02 leaving it at that , and you wonder how we managed a four in a row senior '06 to '09? We actually won minor in 90,91,93,'02,'03,08 10 and even more crucially under 21 in '90,94,99,'03,'04,06,'08.Practically every single squad member of the 4 in a row had minor and/or u21 AI medals. Every one of the above teams contained players we had heard about from u14, DJ, Henry,Cha, TJ, Tommy, Jj,Richie's Power,Hogan etc,etc. That dried up from '15 on with the odd exception. The current squad have done remarkably well to get so close in recent years. Huw in particular and Billy's absence this year cannot be underestimated and leaves us vulnerable to every team including those in Leinster. I was there on Saturday evening and left no less demoralised than anyone else. The display was wholly unacceptable from all involved. The least we expect is everything to be left out on the field. For the first time I can recall that wasn't there Sat night. I honestly hope it was fatigue from three tough games in a row and we won't see a repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 NJoyKkGAA

Reading many of the posts since last weekend, it is clear that there is a strong sense of disappointment regarding both the result and the overall performance. That reaction is understandable and reflects how much people care about the Kilkenny Senior Hurling Team. There are a wide range of views being expressed — about the players, management, Lyng, the county board, the resources invested in developing younger players, and the role of schools in bringing new players through.
    These conversations are part of any passionate sporting community. However, in the short term they are unlikely to help the team as they prepare for the weeks and months ahead.

One thing that can be said with certainty is that the outcome was not what any player or member of the management team wanted or worked towards. While many of us may speculate about what happened, those directly involved will reflect on the performance and look to learn from it.

At this point in the season, perhaps the most constructive thing supporters can do is continue to stand behind the team. When results are positive it is always easy to offer support, but during more challenging periods that support can matter even more.

Hopefully, as supporters, we can continue to encourage the team in the weeks ahead by attending matches and getting behind them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Was that written by chatgpt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 NJoyKkGAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Marrooned

the crowds won’t go unless the results are good.I only got to the Offaly match this year but I was at the challenge matches earlier against Tipp and Laois, I even went to Mullingar, but serious illness has curtailed me recently but my comrades tell me a lot of the diehard regulars are falling away. Clubber is going to do awful damage, when the public are watching from their own homes they soon forget about how exciting it is to be at a live game and stop going. TV rights has or nearly killed several sports throughout the world, then when the viewing public is saturated with the sport they get fed up then the TV companies get the games for very little then everything collapses and if the public stop going you won’t get them back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,990 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

In fairness , the game is becoming less of a spectacle....

The continuous throwing of the ball, oversize hurleys , playing matches in bad weather , Split season , lads scoring points from their own 65.....

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭neverbet

Firstly sorry to read of your health issues and hope you are soon restored to full health. I see clubber ,tg4 stream etc as wonderful developments. Nothing beats being there and I would always choose that. However you can't be in more than the one place, so for a reasonable subscription we can watch back so many other games including Kierans win at the weekend. The people that p**s me off are those who dodgy box these services, don't support club or county but feel free to let rip when their team " doesn"t show up". As supporters we all lose far more than we win. You get nothing for nothing,, so if you really want your team to get back winning do your bit if you can and support them and earn the right to have your say. For too long now I feel as a hurling county we have let ourselves down in how little we support ALL our teams.

I do agree with a lot of what yourself and Marooned have spoke about, on the other side the Munster championship was never as popular as now, 80% of the tickets for the championship are sold out already. That is incredible and I have never seen that in my lifetime and it is 6 weeks until it starts. We are potentially looking at all Munster championship matches sold out. You can't beat the magic of being there, especially in hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Siaranbealach82

Completely agree with all of that.

Re the throwing the sliotar, even if the hand passes were being executed properly, there's still just too much of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Firstly wishing you all the best, hope your back to good fettle soon, Clubber has given people living abroad a connection to home and elderly unable to attend games a chance to see them, TV coverage doesn't do damage, every Munster championship game is live on either RTE or GAA PLUS, League of Ireland soccer is the perfect example, every game is available to watch now from home but it's still getting it's best crowds in years. The reason Leinster championship is getting poor attendances is Galway, Dublin and Wexford generally the last 3 years or so have been off the mark.

Totally agree on this, the dodgy boxes stem from the crazy subscription fees from the likes of Sky but Clubber which offer a value for money service are getting hit hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

I think myself people find ut hard to get too excited about the league matches in bad weather. Plus it goes on too long. With the condensed season there's more hurling played in heavy conditions than with the sun shining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,776 ✭✭✭MfMan

"Gale force wind in Salthill"? Was a steady, rather cross-field breeze, didn't hinder many of the players scoring into it. If there really was a gale, Andy would know it.

"Players need to put the all stars aside and start hurling"

how many all stars in the panel actually?

August is probably now the busiest GAA month in the country in terms of participation.