No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,979 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,881 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

This is getting as bad as the grape.....fork fiasco 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

It went to almost 120 at one stage this morning .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

perfect Trump economics 👍

Doesn’t high oil prices means that the shale oil the Americans are sitting on becomes financially viable to pump.

That’s if trump is capable of thinking that far, I think it’s more likely he’s thinking “bomb the Iranian children so people stop talking about Epstine”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,798 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Its not only the men that give shite, I was behind a little girl at a checkout and when it came to the girls turn she took ages to get the money for her choclolate and then it became obvious she hadn't enough, I threw my paper on the counter and told the girl to put the chocolate on my card. The mother then cornered me at the door and read the riot act in front of everyone,

I tell you if she was a man, I'd have finished it out in the car park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,979 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We would have been in this chipper a good bit when oh was ill as it's on the way back from the hospital . It's not long open and if that's the way he wants to publicly represent his business he has a lot to learn. Anyway it's over now. Daughter just didnt need it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,800 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Anywhere else online that's gives a detailed weather forecast similar to what Mt did? You'd really miss it, was the first thing i checked most days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Likewise, an offal miss.

https://www.met.ie/forecasts/monthly-forecast

Met eireann has a long range forecast every Tuesday and Friday, it's better than there phone app weather as it's shows dry spells for my area and it raining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,915 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Ah to be honest it was coming at some stage. All the arab countries were getting sick of Iran and someone was gonna hit them. It's the third time in 50 years Iran caused this fuel upheaval but only difference this time no one is backing them up

And long term trends we hit a global recession roughly every 18 years so they say it’s due this year anyway.
    It’s felt for the last wee while like something is coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

It’s looking like the US are going to claim a victory already. Outsmarted again more like.

He reminds me about the joke about playing chess with a pigeon. No matter what happens he will knock all the pieces over, **** on the board and claim he has won. 🤷🏻

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭kk.man

Somebody brought him to his senses before he got in too deep and that would have been a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭148multi

IIt has the potential to turn some sh#$show, the Iranians needed manners put on them. Not sure this is the way.

NNew leader will probably be more driven, it was the British and yanks that messed around with Iran, then the hardliners got power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,698 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

part 2 of the Goodman documentary is on. Have to say it’s a very well presented story.

Anybody read Fintan O’Tooles book ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Very good watch. My father worked in Sallins meat factory for a good number of years. Savage hard work but well paid at the time where the only other option was the boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,507 ✭✭✭naughto

The farming life taking out loans in the millions I must get in to this farming craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Its says something that all the evidence of corruption in the beef tribunal and the only person to face a criminal offence was the journalist who broke the story....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭kk.man

We are like pheasants in the landlord system of old. It was the small plants who led beef to rise to 8.70 this time last year the big 3 weren't in the game and didn't match them. The big 3 didnt pay the big guy outside their normal supply chain because of greed. This year anyone who could supply a decent number are best buddies with the cartel. The small factories didn't go to the wall last year despite out pricing the cartel, that in itself is an insight to their eye watering profits they make. This year treats were made not to break rank.

Bord Bia meant absolutely nothing, on grade, on age, on movements. As for carbon footprint and sustainably, the more miles you clocked up from the local plant the better you were rewarded.

That poor guy who operated the boning hall in Waterford I feel sorry for.

Post edited by kk.man on

Would pinemartins attack and damage bales of silage? I ve been using the same spot as my father to store bales of silage.. so over 20 years they have been stacked in the same old stone yard. This year something has attack some of the flittering the plastic. Around 5 bales badly damaged. There it a clay trench dug as well. The only thing I can think of is that we now have pinemartins around and we used never have.

we had rats active on both farms there after one of the floods, probably forced out of whatever hole they were living in.
    Could only catch them with live trap 🪤

Ye maybe the wet weather has moved rats into this area just that we ve been using it 20 odd years without a bale ever been touched before had me think it wasn't them.. Bucket of storm will have to be put in there over the next few weeks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭148multi

RRat will bore bales surely, but it not their usual lie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭older by the day

I stacked them on a slope near a ditch one time, the juice gathered and every rat from skibbereen to the mizen must have come for a drink.

I even saw them jumping out when I used to spike a bale. Never parked them their again. I had a pile of waste

@older by the day I ve more waste than normal alright but thats from the air getting at them. Thankfully its the last few and the ones in the beginning were ok. It must be the wet winter moving the feckers. Its along a main road with piped drainage so I am guessing that drainage is full of water and thats why they have moved to dryer ground...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Packrat

Pine Martens are carnivorous animals. 0 interest in bales.

Not pointing at you, but some lads seem to blame every loss, damage, and death on an animal that has recently rebounded after being hunted to near extinction for nearly a hundred years.

Every day on sheep forums I'm looking at posts about lambs being bled or killed by pine martens from fellas that never lamped a fox in their lives nor shot a mink.

As a neighbour of mine said one time when discussing another long suffering neighbour: "Hunger is the worst fox calling there"

Rats are your issue btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,094 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Slava Ukrainii