Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

I met Ollie before he took over I had just left school and my father knew Ollie quite well and hadnt seen him in a few years and we were chatting about hurling and how bad it was as we went out to Offaly in 1990 if my memory is right. He said those exact words. The hurlers are there and they always have been he said. You just need to look for them.

Those players looked drained last night. So we need to wait and see how things work out over the summer. But looking at Lyng last night I felt for him. He was hurting badly. So we need to find out why they were so flat. Time will tell us and I will wait for until our season is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭kk.man

Bought a hurl off him around that time, what a gentleman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Siaranbealach82

Many counties could say that too though I'm sure. There are lads everywhere that, in the right circumstances, could have been top class. It's the nature of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭mercury16

The bottom line is, even removing talent from the equation.
    Kilkenny are just miles behind in graft and work rate. That has nothing to do with what’s coming through, it is down to Lyng, and Lyng inherited a KK side that had that culture all ready embedded in it, so he had an advantage, which he has now let slip and go from this side.
    Also, all the other counties are able to bring on players that can compete at senior level when still young except KK.
    I don’t buy the b.s. that there is nothing coming through in KK.
    KK competed in numerous all Ireland finals at minor level between 16-23. They lost the AI minor to 13 manTipp side ( again due to side management, fight, not ability) in 24 and lost to Waterford by a puck of a ball in the semi final of the all Ireland in 2025 and Waterford won it out.
    KK won a minor in 93 and did not win another one until 2002, so how come those losing sides gave us players that ended up being a 4 in a row team.
    KK problem, is very poor coaches and mangers.
    And currently a KK side, that is very poor compared to other inter county sides, in the areas, or fitness, speed, work rate, and fight. Nothing to do with talent. And a given under Cody sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭mercury16

Lyng ( and Eddie Brennan) is not the solution and never was.

Very likeable guy who gives his all for KK. And it’s terrible to say it, but there are no points for effort in the inter county game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

yeah tis strange one… KK won all ire minor in 2014 beating Limerick… 5 of the 6 Limerick forwards that day and 1 defender Sean Finn have gone on to win multiple all-irelands with LK at senior level… while KK have struggled… KK are looking at a Cork style famine happening…

id be slow to blame Derek Lyng… if he is giving management the same efffort as he gave as a player with KK ive no doubt he is leaving no stone unturned to put out the best team

some poster mentioned Ollie Walsh and how he turned things around when he became manager… that poster failed to mention the absolute stroke of luck Ollie enjoyed that literally every other intercounty manager at that time would have given their right arm to have.. anyone guess what that bit of luck was??

Post edited by awaywithyou on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Siaranbealach82

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Marrooned

spot on Mercury. I think we need two charismatic people, chairman and manager. Lyng was never up to the job.

Yep.. no other player past or present would have got that goal again wexford in 91 leinster semi final.. ollie walsh tenure would have been shortlived only for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Village87

Kilkenny travelled to Galway Friday evening. Home late last night and summoned for a meeting today. That will be tasty. That trip to Salthill is always a hard one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Moosey15

Still can’t believe what I witnessed last night ,poorest performance in generations, indeed our biggest beating since 1954 in league or championship .I would never get carried away with the league and especially the version of the league we are now left with these days ,but the simple basics were not there last night .A lot of posts on here seem to be guys promoting and bigging up players( I would think from their own clubs ) and the attitude towards some of the more genuine and experienced players is disgusting .I think we got caught trying to do much last night in blooding new players , and am worried about how little time we have to get things right . From this forum you would think our keeper for example was the bees knees on puck outs …. Clearly he isn’t,albeit the ball winning from half forward lines was pathetic ,I am so disappointed with Cody and and mossy the past couple of games , Cody blows so hot and cold , we had hoped he had finally developed into a leader , but when he gets boxed in and marked closely he is such a frustrating watch,given the ability we all know he has … mossy after a couple of stellar seasons seems to have regressed backed to early career inconsistency.im sure we all hope here that it’s March , it’s the league and all will come good later but I’ve never had as many doubts as I have right now , as someone alluded to here earlier , why are two of our best players, one the best full full back in the country taking time out in their absolute prime ? ( Also something we need to get over and move on )

I think every great manager had a great player. Cody had Shefflin.

I said last year I dont think Derek is the right man and I hope he proves me wrong. I am not going to have a pop at him here now and I dont think anyone should. The hurt in his face was enough for me. Time to get behind the team now more than ever. We can criticise but try and be a little sensitive.

There are a lot of issues in KK ATM. Facilities Finances and decision makers at CB level are probably out of their depth.

We are the most successful county and will be for quite a few years more. IMO re style of play we need a manager who can come in and play a style of hurling that suits our players. No point playing a short game if there not comfortable playing it. Like wise no point lobbing high balls into our forward if there not capable of winning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Sir Chaz

I hope we can look back in a few months and see last nights performance as a one off. It was actually too bad to be labelled 'one of those nights'. On a night like that, everything seems to go wrong, the other side seems to get all the breaks, and you end up taking a beating. Last night was nothing like we have ever seen in recent memory from a Kilkenny senior team. Our fitness looked terrible, our attitude was wrong, and our fight and desire seemed non existent. We appeared to have no energy and we couldn't get to breaks and we couldn't get to their runners, we constantly appeared outnumbered and we seemed to lose every physical battle. It was bizarre. I know there's been an illness in the squad. Lyng alluded to it before the match which is unusual, so I'd say he was worried it was going to impact us. I would be amazed if that didn't seriously contribute to the performance, or lack of one. Of course we can all agree we are a bit off the top teams at the moment, particularly Cork, but there is no way that, all things being equal, we are anywhere near as bad as we looked last night. 

Naturally supporters and the press in particular will be reactive and put huge focus on one performance, but we need to stand back a bit I think. Colm Parkinson has already said we have nothing outside our best 15 and he sees us going the way of Wexford, but that's pure hyperbole. As someone said, we had the players to win back to back Minor All Irelands the last 2 years, won a U20 as recently as 4 years ago, and have been very competitive underage without winning an All Ireland. 

The Kieran's theory is a red herring in my opinion. Having some of our best youngsters under the best possible management and coaching (Brian Dowling) can only be a positive for those players. I'd completely agree that average players get lost in there, but that's more of an issue for clubs and club players than it is for inter county. Worth remembering also that Kilkenny CBS over the past couple of years have had as many minor and U20 representatives as Kieran's have. Certainly our biggest problem has been a County Board who completely took their eye off the ball and which hasn't been fit for purpose for a number of years. It's an old boys club in there that lacks the vision to implement a new professional leadership that would bring us into the modern era. In terms of finance and funding that is absolutely killing us. Our facilities are a joke and all of our representative teams, including our seniors, are operating off restricted budgets when compared to our peers. The gym in Nowlan Park is ridiculously small, and I'd imagine if there was Covid or something similar in the camp over the last 3 weeks, the lack of space in there during sessions would have been a fertile breeding ground.

I wouldn't be panicking. We have our problems yes, 6 and 3 are still an issue I think, but if we have everybody we still won't be too far off it. We will need our marquee players like Cody, Keoghan, Donnelly to come back to form, and get Adrian Mullen back also. None of those are over the top age wise so no reason we won't see it. The Tipp game in 2 weeks will be informative. As will the game in Pearse stadium in Championship.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭usualstripes

Just a note on this question as to why 2 of our best players taking time out in theor prime? What a piss poor argument. These players put their lives in the hands of the kilkenny hurling county scene for 8 months of the year, are amateur in an otherwise professional setup and have lives to live. They may not get this chance to travel in years to come with family and other commitments so gtf off with your shite talk. We know the two lads are a massive loss. That's life. We are kilkenny and we should have plenty of fine hurlers to take their place. We will be delighted to get them back when they're ready.

listen lads,Derek Lyng was rewarded for failure last year by the CB, not only was he given one year, no they gave him two years there was no competition put forward or asked for. The Eddie Brennan situation, who brought him in was it management or CB this was never made clear to anybody.the majority of posters here would not want Derek as manager and most thought he should have resigned last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭hogans heroes

Call Me old fashioned or whatever but this short tippy happy game doesn't work.have seen so many scores conceded from turnovers in our own half because of this style.Lee chin today coming into his own 45 to receive z ball from his corner back with his back to goal fumbles and its over the bar.same with us. We're conceding more than we're scoring with this short game.Also how do we score goals with 1or 2 up.just shite to watch

Post edited by hogans heroes on

I completely agree, We need to hurl to our streghts.Forget what others are doing. Hurling is simple. Get the ball to your forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Charlie69

@usualstripes Jesus lad I think there was a bit of a misunderstanding regarding my earlier point on Huw and Billy. I completely agree with you… neither player owes the county a thing . We all know the sacrifices these players make as amateurs in the modern game. They have given massive service to Kilkenny and are 100% entitled to live their lives how they want and when they want. I certainly wasn't suggesting that they were letting anyone down or anything like that.

My point was less about their personal choices and more about the internal environment . In any high performance setup, when key players decide to step away, its natural to wonder "If the squeeze is worth the juice" for them right now.

I just wonder if the camp was a place they felt they absolutely couldn't miss out on right now, then maybe the decision to travel might have been deferred. That's in no way an attack on the players loyalty , it's a question about whether the enjoyment levels in the current culture are high enough to balance out the huge sacrifices they make. We can totally respect their decision to travel while still discussing what it says about the state of the panel and how it affects the team.If it came across badly I do apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Village87

I agree, we play with 12/13 behind the ball, we don't have the pace or stick men around the pitch to play that gam, perfect for lads like Cian Kenny but a lot of the others struggle

Post edited by Village87 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭davidx40

We are in serious bother as a hurling county , last year across all grades of the development squads it was the worst year ever , that's what we were told at the Bord na Nog convention . They know we are in free fall , playing numbers are also diminishing again we were told that by Bord na Nog . Unfortunately it looks like long term planning while we were enjoying the Cody years just didn't happen . Ned Quinn who was the best chairman we ever had was going around the country telling other counties how we did it . When your on top that's when you work the hardest unfortunately we just didn't do that from a long term planning point of view .

A good plan was put in place Michael Fennelly he had a plan that was progressing and the CB got rid of him and don’t tell me he went himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Once we get relegated to 1b at some stage over the next few years and the Co board coffers are hit that might be the wake up call that’s needed to generate or stir some actual change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭davidx40

Were in March now and there's still no official groups for Underage let alone fixtures ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭The_Tank

I wanted to watch the match back before I posted. It was really hard. To be honest I just watched the first half - because there was enough in that alone to put clarity in my mind as to where the problems are.

It's not just that some of our players are not the greats of the past. It was our execution and setup. It was terrible. I would really make you wonder what the hell we're doing with all these coaches and people on the sideline. It was pure U14 stuff in action.

1. Cathal Mannion is critical to Galway. He is their Tony Kelly. We man marked Tony Kelly. Why the F*** do we not man mark Cathal Mannion? Especially if we want to play only 2 inside - so we have a person to sacrifice. He was to the fore when Galway were settling into the match. Curbing that would have curbed them.
    2. Similar to the Cork game. We have no out ball. Cody is not a target man (why can't he pick a ball on the run at the moment?) , Mossey is outnumbered. Neither are tall or good in the air. John Donnelly is not the answer either . If we want to play 2 in there can one of them be a titanic mullocker. Can we not just find the fecking equivalent of Redser o Grady and put him in there (that's a joke btw!). It's just insane when we have the wind for 35 minutes most games. Play the bloody percentages and get better at it and yes of course get better at the short game but perfect the long game as well and put people in there who have a chance of winning the ball or breaking the ball intelligently, as part of a plan - or play 3 in there on rotation - there's just zero strategic thinking I feel - Furthermore when Galway ran the ball out they made lots of mistakes. They were a lot better at it than years past but it wasn't prime Limerick triangles we were dealing with. They gave us chances when they broke down. Also - We might even score a goal if we get the ball near the goals!
    3. Related to the second point - the delivery in was once again atrocious. Yes that's the players - but I'm also putting this down at the management/coaching. If the team is not doing it right then either make them do it right - or simplify it. My previous point is about simplifying it and giving us another option and giving the opposition something else to think about. If we do that then the options to move the ball through the middle becomes easier because the opposition have to drop players back. Then it comes down to the players and what's between their ears (more on that later)
    4. We got pulled and dragged all over the place as a team, left loads of space in front of the full back line. The answer to that is not to pull even more people back and double down on the other issues - waiting to be picked off and beat.
    5. Puckouts - own and defending. What are we doing in training? It's terrible. Can we simplify this also?

Now we play Tipp. They will have no issues defending long ball from us - we know that. They will also go after our full back line for goals that Galway didn't. Could we just create a sensible, and relatively coherent plan(s) for how to play the game and pick personnel to execute that. Forget all the bloody 'Kilkenny will be wounded' shite, yes we are and yes we're pissed off but can we channel that also with something coherent to give us a chance to win.

Last thought - we want players to be blooded and learn - and this is part of that. And management is doing the right thing. But the new players do deserve to be in a more coherent structure and setup built around their individual abilities - of which they have plenty. That is lacking which is really disappointing. This is not the last 10 minutes against Tipp last year - where it was down to the players to do the right thing but they didn't and it cost them. Yesterday and the Cork games (even allowing for Cork being better than us) were down to having either no strategy or a bad one. We're fighting with one hand strapped behind our back - by ourselves. That's on the management team to get their finger out and fix. Because confidence is draining now and it's not just because we blooded players - it's because we're trying to change the players AND the strategy at the same time.

If it's not working then either get better or make it simpler and work from there.

your last sentence is one of the stupidest comments i have read on boards in a long time.. why would anyone take notice of posters on an anonymous forum.. christ lad get a grip… Derek is the manager get behind him or play golf or something..

this is why we’re tripping from one fiasco to the next. Lads like you keep accepting failure, where there is no thought put in to selecting a management process.

well if you thought giving Derek Lyng an extra two years , then stupidous lies with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭KK36

Our starting forwards scored a total of 5 points. Shocking